Invalid Hash key

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

Hello,

I purchased P3D v5 yesterday and was very excited to get it up and running. However..

I've downloaded the full installer, tried installing it, and it gave me; invalid hash key.
Following the steps elsewhere on the forum (checking hash key with the Checksum program), no joy.
Downloading all files seperately didn't do it either, cause most if not all downloads came up with a wrong hash code.

Download was performed with Google Chrome and a stable internet connection. (downloads weren't interupted).

I hate to suggest this, but is the version uploaded by LM wrong?
Or did I, even after following the steps suggested on the forum, screw up?

Kind regards,
Stephan
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 12252
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by Martyson »

@ stef1993 ,

what does this mean:
"Following the steps elsewhere on the forum (checking hash key with the Checksum program), no joy." ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

@martyson

What I mean by that is, I've followed the steps outlined in this forum post : https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3&t=126465
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

Stephan,

Did you:

1. Unzip your download (it takes quite a while), and

2. Run the install as Administrator?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

@jorgenSA

Yes sir, I have both unzipped it and ran it as admin.

Even tried winRAR and 7zip, but that doesn't make a difference.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

Could it be that your antivirus software has interfered with the download?

Maybe try turning off your antivirus for the download and unzipping could help.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

@JorgenSA

Don't think Windows Defender interferes with downloads? I'll try turning it off during the re download and install.

Weird thing is, running the hash checker software, all files come up with wrong hash codes..?
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

You know, I have been using Chrome for years and downloaded all sorts of stuff, and I have never ever run any hash checker.

And everything has always unzipped fine, using first paid Winzip, then free WinRAR and now the paid WinRAR.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

I've also never run into problems before with Chrome, winRAR or 7zip until now.

I'm left clueless on how to fix it though..
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

What antivirus do you have?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

Only running Windows Defender currently.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

You might want to try turning it off, do the download and then turn it back on, and see if that helps.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

Doing that as we speak.

Download speed is rather slow at 2mb/s. Other downloads are usually around 20mb/s, so I think the server might have a bad connection.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by JorgenSA »

You can check for "bad hops" in your connection to the servers by using this command at a command prompt:

tracert prepar3d.com

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
stef1993
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:23 pm

Re: Invalid Hash key

Post by stef1993 »

Out of 14 hops, I got 1 without a reply. Request timed out.

But would that mean that the download would be corrupt if 1 out of 14 sources times out?
Post Reply