P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
jmhelms
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:08 pm

P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Postby jmhelms » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:26 am

Just updated to 4.4...

Tried to edit the "default" flight and
now 4.4 won't load and gives me the
error message:

"Program won't start because it can't read the
file :Prepar3d.cfg"

I tried to run the installer and "Repair"
but it did not cure the problem...

Any help appreciated...

John H.

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Postby Brady Butler » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:29 am

Hello John,

To have us assist you further, could you please review this topic and let us know the results from following the troubleshooting steps? Specifically step 5?

viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246

If the issue is determined to be caused by an add-on, you will likely want to reach out to the add-on developer for direct support. If they need any support with development, they should not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

jmhelms
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Postby jmhelms » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:14 pm

Hi Brady...thanks for the prompt reply...

If I understand your reply, you think it's
an add-on that is causeing the problem...
I am working on a brand new, clean install
of 4.4 with virtually no addons...so, I
don't think it's an addon....

You did not comment on my description of what
I did that caused the problem and the error message
I now receive on startup....it seeems to me that
the "Prepar3d.cfg" file has become corrupt or
has accidentially been deleted...how do I repair that
file?...where is it located?...

Please read and consider my initial post...to me it
seems as if you have ignored it....

I await your further response...

John Helms

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Postby Brady Butler » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:21 pm

Hello,

Completing step 5 will delete the file in question and create a new one for you once Prepar3D is launched. It's located within the "%appdata%" path specified in step 5. You could try just deleting the specific file in that path first, but if the problem persists you should complete all of step 5.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

jmhelms
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: P3D 4.4 Won't Load

Postby jmhelms » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:26 pm

Hi Brady...thanks for the reply...

Deleting the file did the trick...yahoo!
may I comment that the "path" descriptions
in the troubleshooting guide are somewhat
cryptic and were I not experienced with P3D
I probably would not have been able to figure
it out....just my two cents...

If I might while I have you, two more questions
that I ran into setting up 4.4:

1) How do I change the default flight to my
preference of aircraft and airport?...I looked on
line and it said to set those paramaters and then save
the flight...I see how to save a "scenario," but how to
save a flight?...and

2) Where is the setting to make all aircraft start
with engines running?...I used to know where it
was but don't see it in 4.4...but I could have
missed it....doesn't seem to be a problem now
but was...

Thanks for your help on these two new questions and
on the old issue...much appreciated...

John Helms


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests