[RESOLVED] 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
User avatar
maucinti
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Como
Contact:

[RESOLVED] 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby maucinti » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:04 pm

Just installed Client 4.4 following all usual directions, but it doesn't start.
The initial window momentarily pops up on the screen, but then it suddenly disappears and nothing runs.
The P3D icon in on the lower bar, as if it's running ...
Obviuosly : Net.4.7.2 is installed on a updated Win10, and yes, I'm starting it as Administrator...
Any ideas ?

Brad Shiver
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby Brad Shiver » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:19 pm

Hey maucinti,

The first thing you should try is going through our general debugging steps. This will help us narrow down the issue by eliminating add-ons and generated files as the possible causes for this. You can find them here: https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246

Let us know the results or if you have any questions.

-Brad

elgreco111
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:41 am

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby elgreco111 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:41 pm

Do you have FSLabs airbus installed ? This crushes P3D. If so get the patch for the bus and then should be ok.
Keep flying
My Specs: I7-7700K, MSI Z270 GAMING PRO CARBON, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, RAM 32GB G. Skill Trident Z, 1 TB M.2 Crucial, 1 TB Samsung SSD, 500 MB Samsung SSD, Acer Predator 27'', Big Tower Aerocool Xpredator

User avatar
maucinti
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Como
Contact:

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby maucinti » Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:51 pm

Hey maucinti,

The first thing you should try is going through our general debugging steps. This will help us narrow down the issue by eliminating add-ons and generated files as the possible causes for this. You can find them here: https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246

Let us know the results or if you have any questions.

-Brad
Ok, I passed through all the steps , but still P3d v4 has no intention to run... (two days ago v3 ran smoothly)

P3D v4.4.16.27077
WIN10 fully updated
AS for p3dv4 - FTX global europe + NA - FS Global Ultimate - Tons of airports.....
i7-4770K 3,5 ghz - Ram28Gb Kingston (pc3-12800) - Nvidia gtx980ti (driver updated) - Three projectors Benq 1080tx
No OC

No way....
Maurizio

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby Poppet » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:57 pm

Hello Maurizio

The topic below has additional steps you can try to help Isolate the Issue

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=130201

---

These steps also may help your situation

Let us know how you get on

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=128394

User avatar
maucinti
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Como
Contact:

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby maucinti » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:11 pm

Elaine,
Thank you for your kind response.
I passed ALL the steps reported in the posts, but nightmare goes on....
One thing I noticed : unistalling/reinstalling the client (another time!) I don't see the window asking if de-activate or not P3D. Why that ?
Visuals, Net Framework,Direct-X, Core XML, etc... all these are present and updated in my system.
I'd better go fishing ?
Ciao

Maurizio

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby Poppet » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:15 pm

Hello Maurizio

Do you use the 3rd party Add On "ReShade" ?

---

Also please have a look in the Windows Event Viewer, Do you see any recent reports here ?

Let us know how you get on

User avatar
maucinti
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Como
Contact:

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby maucinti » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:11 pm

Hello Maurizio
Do you use the 3rd party Add On "ReShade" ?
---
Also please have a look in the Windows Event Viewer, Do you see any recent reports here ?
Let us know how you get on
Elaine,
No, I don't know "Reshade" and don't see any intersting report in Event Viewer : actually, I can't say it's "error" or CTD, simply the splash screen disappear after 1/2 seconds while a blank P3D icon stays on bar..... at last I must delete the icon, or alternatively, cancel it from taskmanager.
...wrapped in mystery !....
Maurizio

User avatar
maucinti
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:58 pm
Location: Como
Contact:

Re: 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby maucinti » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:08 pm

Got it!
following an advice from a friendly user in Prosim737 forum, I went to a solution.
The problem was generated by the resolution of projected screen in my home-cockpit.
I had to change original resolution 5760x1080 and ....voilà, P3D started with the activation window, then all ran smoothly, as always. after activation I set back 5760x1080 in projectors surround screen.
Why this happened is far beyond my comprehension and knowledge, but most important, now this issue is solved !
Thanks anyway.
Maurizio

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] 4.4 does not start, but icon is on app bar....

Postby Poppet » Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:46 pm

Hello Maurizio

That's good news, Thank you for updating the topic


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests