Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Post Reply
lacesamson
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:19 pm

Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by lacesamson »

Hello fam, I'm looking forward to purchase an MSI GP75 Laptop with -Intel Core i7-9750H/ 2.60 GHz/ 16GB RAM/ 1TB HDD + 256 SSD/ 6GB Nvidia GTX1660Ti /Windows 10. Will this specs run P3dv5?

Thank you all.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

Sorry to say it will not run v. 5.

The issue is the CPU clock rate at 2.6 GHz, where v. 5 requires 3 GHz.

You'll find the system requirements here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/system-requirements/

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
lacesamson
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:19 pm

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by lacesamson »

Thanks for your prompt reply! The base speed is 2.6GHz and clock speed is 4.0GHz. Will it still be a problem?
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

The base sustained clock rate is what counts.

The so-called "turbo" clock rate of 4 GHz can only be maintained for a limited time, until the CPU reaches it cooling and/or electrical limits, then it will throttle itself down to the base rate in order to protect itself.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
lacesamson
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:19 pm

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by lacesamson »

True! You're right about it throttling back to it's base speed. Which P3D version will you advise I get for a PC with the specs I mentioned above. I appreciate!
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

You can get v. 4, which will run within the system requirements.

The version of v. 4 for download is v. 4.5 HF3.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
lacesamson
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:19 pm

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by lacesamson »

Thanks a bunch! I was looking forward to get the V4, was wondering if V5 could be an option too. Will be back here for more help after I purchase the V4, I'm still running FSX:SE😀 and want to upgrade by the end of this month. Cheers!
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 12252
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by Martyson »

lacesamson wrote: Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:57 am Thanks a bunch! I was looking forward to get the V4, was wondering if V5 could be an option too. Will be back here for more help after I purchase the V4, I'm still running FSX:SE😀 and want to upgrade by the end of this month. Cheers!
@lacesamson,

Just for information.
P3D has a 14 day return policy so you could test the product on any of your setups.
https://www.prepar3d.com/support/refundpolicy/
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
lacesamson
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:19 pm

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by lacesamson »

Awesome!
nimd
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:06 pm

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by nimd »

JorgenSA wrote: Thu Jul 09, 2020 7:25 am Sorry to say it will not run v. 5.

The issue is the CPU clock rate at 2.6 GHz, where v. 5 requires 3 GHz.

You'll find the system requirements here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/system-requirements/

Jorgen
why should it not run ? i don't agree with you
i found YouTube Videos testing it even with less power laptops and it runs very smoothly
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

It's your money...

So, if you try it, don't come and complain.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

I will expand a bit upon my first reply here.

As evidence I will trust a YouTube video about as far as I can throw the person who recorded it - not very far.

A "gaming laptop" is for what it says: GAMING - and nothing else. Which is totally different from running a SIMULATION of the planet with everything that entails.

The reasons for not running P3D on a laptop can be found earlier in this thread. Even if it will run at a base clock rate of at or over 3 GHz, thanks to the "turbo" features the speed is going to VARY, which will cause you frustration galore.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Will this laptop Specs run P3Dv5

Post by JorgenSA »

Please try to understand that I am not trying to discourage you in any way, but on the other hand I would not want you to make an uninformed decision that involves your hard-earned money.

You may have other requirements for a computer that are not listed here and may require you to get a laptop, of course. But, if your requirement is for flight simulation, no matter what simulator you are thinking of getting, I would strongly urge you to save money and wait until you can afford a desktop. You will not regret that decision.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Post Reply