GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Post Reply
jmig
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:10 am

GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by jmig »

I had not used P3D V5 HF2 for over a week. The last time I ran the program, it worked fine. It had been working fine for months.

Today, I started the program. P3D loaded up the splash screen then when the “Chose you airplane and airport” box came up it told me: This Device (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super) stopped working for the following reasons UNKNOWN. The GPU is only a couple months old. Nothing has changed with my P3D setup since I last used it, other than updating the Nvidia drivers to the latest. Clicking on Cancel will cause P3D to CTD.

I ran through the recommended troubleshooting procedures for a GPS. That didn’t help. I added the TdrLevel and another recommended Tdr DWord to the register. That didn’t help.

I used Program Features to delete the Client and reinstalled, No joy.

I removed the vidieo drivers and went back to the older ones that were working. That didn’t help the situation.

I removed the second GPS (GTX 970, thinking maybe it was a heat problem or the 1000 watt power supply was getting flakey. Still no joy.

P3D V4.5 and MSFS2020 run just fine. So does every other program I have tried. Only P3D V5 refuses to run.

I am out of ideas.

My system: Intel Six Core i7 8700 @ 5.0 GHz
16 GB DDR4 RAM
2 Intel SSD 500 GB SATA 3 Drives and 1 950 GB SSD for PD3 V4 & 5
GTX 2070 Super 8GB VRAM, GTX 970 4 GB VRAM Video Cards
IR Track 5
Currently using single Optoma 1040P beamer and two touch screen monitors for instruments.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by JorgenSA »

What version of Windows 10 and nVidia driver are you using right now?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
jmig
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:10 am

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by jmig »

I am using Windows 10 2004 x64 Last update was 8/17/20

Nvidia Driver: 452.06

John
jmig
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:10 am

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by jmig »

Does anyone have any ideas on this problem? I am still dead on the apron. I can't use V5.

John
stukapt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:39 pm

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by stukapt »

Good afternoon,

I'm experiencing the same issue with a GTX1080ti, also had the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG ERROR in the previous flight. :(

I went to Nvidia Support and they told me to try to run Nvidia Control Panel in Debug Mode, I will try it now to see if I become again a happy simmer.

https://www.evga.com/support/faq/FAQdet ... aqid=59594

Kind Regards
User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by Puukka »

My solution for all GPU errors and flickering simconnect menu was:

Open NVIDIA Control Panel. Click on 3D Settings → Manage 3D settings. Scroll down to the bottom of the list and locate the Threaded Optimization. Change the value to Off.

Hope that helps

Kind regards from Austria
Herbert
Herbert Puukka

MSFS, Aerosoft CRJ, FBW A32NX, Pilot2ATC, REX Weather Force, Navigraph
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 12252
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by Martyson »

@ Puukka ,

What was the original (bad) setting?

Mine is Auto, no problems.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by Puukka »

Herbert Puukka

MSFS, Aerosoft CRJ, FBW A32NX, Pilot2ATC, REX Weather Force, Navigraph
JRFreeAgent
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 12:56 pm

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by JRFreeAgent »

My 2070 used to fail also and this was in P3D 4.x

I found the following two fixes for the registry which for me resolved the problems.

The two entries under GraphicDrivers in the Registry

TdrDelay
TdrLevelRecover

Sorry I can't seem to paste or attach a picture...


I found this with a Google search and on youtube.

Hope this helps
--------------------------------------------------------------------
i7-9700F @ 3.00GHz
64GB Corsair Dominator 4x16 DD4 Ram @3200 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super Armor OC
LG 29WK500/2580x1080@75Hz
LG 32MP58hQ/1920x1080@60Hz
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by JorgenSA »

This, of course, involves a registry hack - this is only for people who:

1. Know what they are doing ;-) and

2. Backs up the registry before attempting any changes.

Believing myself to be at least in category 1, I shall attempt these changes later today and report back.

But it cannot be repeated to much - if you attempt a registry hack, you are on your own.... no guarantees.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 12252
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by Martyson »

JRFreeAgent wrote: Mon Oct 05, 2020 10:46 pm My 2070 used to fail also and this was in P3D 4.x

I found the following two fixes for the registry which for me resolved the problems.

The two entries under GraphicDrivers in the Registry

TdrDelay
TdrLevelRecover

Sorry I can't seem to paste or attach a picture...


I found this with a Google search and on youtube.

Hope this helps
@ JRFreeAgent ,

How to Post Screenshots (by Kayla): https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3&t=122277
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 4036
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by JorgenSA »

This registry hack is definitely not for beginners.

You'll have to look up (google) the two registry keys mentioned to grasp what is going on and what to do.

Then you have to find the right place to create a new 32-bit DWORD and assign a decimal value to it.

It is certainly doable, but I purposely refrain from describing what to do in further detail so as not to be held responsible for anything, in spite of any and all disclaimers posted. If you're interested, you'll have to look it up yourselves - again, this is to discourage anyone not experienced with the registry from getting into trouble.

And bottom line, it didn't help with my own version of the issue. It may certainly help others.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
JRFreeAgent
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 12:56 pm

Re: GeForce 2070 Super has stopped working for UNKNOWN reasons

Post by JRFreeAgent »

JorgenSA wrote: Tue Oct 06, 2020 2:37 pm This registry hack is definitely not for beginners.

You'll have to look up (google) the two registry keys mentioned to grasp what is going on and what to do.

Then you have to find the right place to create a new 32-bit DWORD and assign a decimal value to it.

It is certainly doable, but I purposely refrain from describing what to do in further detail so as not to be held responsible for anything, in spite of any and all disclaimers posted. If you're interested, you'll have to look it up yourselves - again, this is to discourage anyone not experienced with the registry from getting into trouble.

And bottom line, it didn't help with my own version of the issue. It may certainly help others.

Jorgen
I agree with you.

As I said it worked for me. I see many suggestions where the cure works for some but not others, for me it worked. But you are spot on about doing the research and knowing the precautions to take before ANY fix, especially to the registry.

Thanks for your reply.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
i7-9700F @ 3.00GHz
64GB Corsair Dominator 4x16 DD4 Ram @3200 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super Armor OC
LG 29WK500/2580x1080@75Hz
LG 32MP58hQ/1920x1080@60Hz
Post Reply