DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 15, 2020 6:49 pm

Hello Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?

"The GPU in an instant goes from 2.8-3.5/7.1 VRAM and maybe 60-70% load right to 100 and the device hangs. I’ve got GPU-Z logs of this I’d be happy to attach."

I did not know you were running diag software during your flight.

I have not.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sun Aug 16, 2020 3:06 am

Hello Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?

"The GPU in an instant goes from 2.8-3.5/7.1 VRAM and maybe 60-70% load right to 100 and the device hangs. I’ve got GPU-Z logs of this I’d be happy to attach."

I did not know you were running diag software during your flight.
I ran GPU Z to see what the heck was going on with the GPU
I have not.
Not that I know of-I don’t have FS Spotlights installed, that’s their addon that modifies the internal lighting. As far as the other lights-I don’t believe so but I’m not sure. They’re better than the others.

Remember a few things:
1. this DXGI issue will happen in any and all addon aircraft (TFDI/Aerosoft/FSLabs/PMDG) that I have used and occasionally the F35/F22 as well
2. It happens 99.9999% of the time at dusk/dawn/night
2. Sometimes it is turning on lights and other times it is a view switch that triggers it-but ALWAYS at dusk/dawn/night
3. I can fly during the day with 2048 textures and in 4K resolution any aircraft with no problem at all.
4. As of late, I’ve not been able to complete night flights-can’t even get off the gate really or I’ll maybe be taxiing when the DXGI happens-but again its view switch/lighting-even sometimes it’s airport lighting on the view switch.

I found something tonight in the content error reporting I ran. My Flytampa KLAS has lighting effects “section” errors. I’m guessing that’s what tanked my performance the other night at KLAS (when I would usually get better performance there in the past) So I’m wondering if someone can tell me if this “content error” stuff could be doing this at night at all my airports

A sample of the error code is below-I’ve got hundreds or more of these errors relating to KLAS. I found a hotfix for it so I’m going to attempt that. I’m REALLY hoping that someone’s gonna come back and tell me this is the cause of my DXGI issues because it’s relating to the special effects and night lighting.


[error.3]
error=Duplicate Section Name
File: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\FlyTampa\LasVegas\effects\flytampa_bellagio1_rl_green_night.fx
Section: Emitter.47

[error.4]
error=Duplicate Section Name
File: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\FlyTampa\LasVegas\effects\flytampa_bellagio1_rl_green_night.fx
Section: Particle.47
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sun Aug 16, 2020 3:10 am

Hello Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?

"The GPU in an instant goes from 2.8-3.5/7.1 VRAM and maybe 60-70% load right to 100 and the device hangs. I’ve got GPU-Z logs of this I’d be happy to attach."

I did not know you were running diag software during your flight.
I ran GPU Z to see what the heck was going on with the GPU
I have not.
Not that I know of-I don’t have FS Spotlights installed, that’s their addon that modifies the internal lighting. As far as the other lights-I don’t believe so but I’m not sure. They’re better than the others.

Remember a few things:
1. this DXGI issue will happen in any and all addon aircraft (TFDI/Aerosoft/FSLabs/PMDG) that I have used and occasionally the F35/F22 as well
2. It happens 99.9999% of the time at dusk/dawn/night
2. Sometimes it is turning on lights and other times it is a view switch that triggers it-but ALWAYS at dusk/dawn/night
3. I can fly during the day with 2048 textures and in 4K resolution any aircraft with no problem at all.
4. As of late, I’ve not been able to complete night flights at all. I can’t even get off the gate sometimes. or I’ll maybe be taxiing when the DXGI happens-but again its view switch/lighting-even sometimes it’s airport lighting on the view switch. I DID however complete a few night flights this week without incident as referenced above. Since then-no dice. Nothing at night.

I found something tonight in the content error reporting I ran. My Flytampa KLAS has lighting effects “section” errors. I’m guessing that’s what tanked my performance the other night at KLAS (when I would usually get better performance there in the past) So I’m wondering if someone can tell me if this “content error” stuff could be doing this at night at all my airports

A sample of the error code is below-I’ve got hundreds or more of these errors relating to KLAS. I found a hotfix for it so I’m going to attempt that. I’m REALLY hoping that someone’s gonna come back and tell me this is the cause of my DXGI issues because it’s relating to the special effects and night lighting.


[error.3]
error=Duplicate Section Name
File: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\FlyTampa\LasVegas\effects\flytampa_bellagio1_rl_green_night.fx
Section: Emitter.47

[error.4]
error=Duplicate Section Name
File: C:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\FlyTampa\LasVegas\effects\flytampa_bellagio1_rl_green_night.fx
Section: Particle.47
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:41 am
Location: ESSB
Contact:

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Daveo » Fri Aug 21, 2020 1:17 pm

I only seem to get this error when the sim is paused for 15 or so minutes regardless of which aircraft I use (Stock or Addon)
so something must be leaking somewhere.
Dave Opper
ESSB

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 21, 2020 2:11 pm

I only seem to get this error when the sim is paused for 15 or so minutes regardless of which aircraft I use (Stock or Addon)
so something must be leaking somewhere.
@ Daveo ,

Is this your pause during e.g., preflight or e.g., a pause at top of decent (you sleep during the flight?) payware aircraft?

Which P3D version?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

cosnowboarder_777
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:06 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby cosnowboarder_777 » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:29 pm

Has anyone come up with a solution for this issue? Makes impossible to do a flight. For me, I can start up a new flight, and have it happen within minutes of loading. Extremely frustrating.

Using latest version of P3D V5
John B

JorgenSA
Posts: 2712
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:42 pm

John B,

So far the solution for this issue is:

1. Windows 10 v. 2004, preferably with the very latest updates,

2. The latest graphics card drivers for your card, and

3. If the above does not fix your issue, then do a backup of your Prepar3d.cfg file, delete the original and let P3D generate a new one. Do the default flight (the F-35A out of KRND), if that is OK then a flight that used to crash before. If that also is OK, then go to your backup Prepar3D.cfg file and add whatever changes you have there back into the new one - one change at a time. If an error then suddenly happens, then you know that the latest change caused it.

Time-consuming? Yes. Necessary? Yes.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

cosnowboarder_777
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:06 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby cosnowboarder_777 » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:06 am

Thanks Jorgen, will give that a shot.
John B

Benjamin
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:59 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Benjamin » Sat Oct 03, 2020 12:31 pm

hello.
It's been a long time since I started to see this "DXGI_ERROR" which basically "killed" my desire to use either P3d V4, or V5. Happy to report it is now behind me.

I have a new GPU (replaced my GTX980 with a new RTX2070 Super). Quite a difference in performance here. Generally speaking I would think this was the main contributor for the DXGI error to go away in this case. Definitely, Cannot say why, or what...
Also updated windows10 to version 2004 (the most recent). I had GPU driver version updated before the start of this "saga".

So, now in midst flight using V5 with the PMDG NGXU, 737-900 and all is good for the last couple of hours.

Benjamin

Jamaal
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:03 pm

(NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1650 SUPER) STOPPED WORKING DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Jamaal » Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:30 pm

Hi there,

Please help me solve this!

I just made the switch from FSX and purchased and installed P3D v5 yesterday. I was at WSSS in the QW B78X when I got (NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1650 SUPER) STOPPED WORKING for the following reason: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG.

I run a Virtual Airline and can't currently fly! I run Windows 10 Pro 2004 with 8GB RAM. Any thoughts on how I can solve as I'm currently grounded.

I've done an Event Viewer and this is what I got:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.31.35253, time stamp: 0x5eebf566
Faulting module name: BugSplat64.dll, version: 3.6.0.4, time stamp: 0x5b5f3291
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000190c6
Faulting process ID: 0x22e4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d699205afc2e98
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\BugSplat64.dll
Report ID: ce0caa99-f188-4334-93f7-ef5453440f6f
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


- EventData

Prepar3D.exe
5.0.31.35253
5eebf566
BugSplat64.dll
3.6.0.4
5b5f3291
c0000005
00000000000190c6
22e4
01d699205afc2e98
C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\BugSplat64.dll
ce0caa99-f188-4334-93f7-ef5453440f6f

JorgenSA
Posts: 2712
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:29 pm

The file BugSplat64.dll is a crash detector that comes with the QW 787.

There will be something else in the Event Viewer that tells what the error really is.

We also will need your system specs.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Puukka » Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:39 pm

My solution for all GPU errors and flickering simconnect menu was:

Open NVIDIA Control Panel. Click on 3D Settings → Manage 3D settings. Scroll down to the bottom of the list and locate the Threaded Optimization. Change the value to Off.

Hope that helps

Kind regards from Austria
Herbert
Herbert Puukka IVAO AUA157 SAS157

Prepar3D v5.1, Active Sky, PRO-ATC/X, Navigraph

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sun Oct 04, 2020 4:18 am

@ Puukka ,

What was the original (bad) setting?

Mine is Auto, no problems.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am
Location: Krems an der Donau/Austria

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Puukka » Sun Oct 04, 2020 6:13 am

Herbert Puukka IVAO AUA157 SAS157

Prepar3D v5.1, Active Sky, PRO-ATC/X, Navigraph


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests