TRIM QUESTIONS

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:39 pm

Its been a while since I have been in P3D. DCS has been my go to. I for the life of me now I cannot configure my trim controls to work correctly. I Have the HOTAS Warthog setup and want my trim settings to use the obvious trim switch but it won't let me. I have looked for a video, a post, anything on how to set this up and nothing. Can't even get it to work in FSUIPC. So what am I doing wrong here.

I got so frustrated that I tried assigning them to my castle hat on my stick but it seems more eratic than anything, if I did get it to trim then moving my controls puts it in a complete nose high attitude for some reason. Every time I try to trim nose up I get a flashing screen now. No clue on that one.

But can someone tell me exactly how to set my trim buttons to that switch please

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:45 pm

Its been a while since I have been in P3D. DCS has been my go to. I for the life of me now I cannot configure my trim controls to work correctly. I Have the HOTAS Warthog setup and want my trim settings to use the obvious trim switch but it won't let me. I have looked for a video, a post, anything on how to set this up and nothing. Can't even get it to work in FSUIPC. So what am I doing wrong here.

I got so frustrated that I tried assigning them to my castle hat on my stick but it seems more eratic than anything, if I did get it to trim then moving my controls puts it in a complete nose high attitude for some reason. Every time I try to trim nose up I get a flashing screen now. No clue on that one.

But can someone tell me exactly how to set my trim buttons to that switch please
@ CHSStarKiller ,

I use the Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog with FSUIPC.
No problems.

For your setup:
Which P3D xxx version ?
Which aircraft ?
Which FSUIPC (registered?) version ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:01 pm

Using P3D v4.5.14.34698
SimConnect Version 4.5.0.0

Aerosoft CRJ 700/900

My "REGISTERED" FSUIPC version is 5.153 from 12 Dec 2019

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:05 pm

I have tried the Elevator/Aileron Trim (POV hat) bind in the key assignments and doesn't work as well.
I tried as I said before individual assignments to the castle hat and when I try to trim nose up, the screen flashes and once I move the controls from a trimmed state it just goes nose up completely to a 40deg nose high on its own.

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:11 pm

Also if you can help with this as well, on certain button presses I keep getting simconnect messages from my VRS superscript. It literally takes up the entire screen. How do I get rid of those

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:16 pm

@ CHSStarKiller,

Are you using the Thrustmaster "Target GUI" software ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:27 pm

I don't use TARGET at all anymore although its still installed on my PC. I've tried getting away from that horrible program all togeher

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:37 pm

@ CHSStarKiller,

Setup your Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog with FSUIPC (Buttons/this aircraft / FS Controls menu selection inside FSUIPC) and the P3D default Mooney bravo.

First assign Flaps Up / Down with the Trim Up/Down (grey) button on top of the Thrustmaster HOTAS Joystick
Did it work?

Next re-assign Elev Trim Up / Down with the Trim Up/Down (grey) button on top of the Joystick
Did it work?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:56 pm

THANKS! Got it to work on the Bravo, will try on my CRJ now

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10003
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 29, 2020 8:59 pm

@ CHSStarKiller,

You are welcome.
Glad to hear your problem is resolved.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

CHSStarKiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: TRIM QUESTIONS

Postby CHSStarKiller » Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:13 pm

so, tried it on the CRJ and I can see them moving on the screen. When I let go of the trim button they go back to the default position. This happens for both the elevators and the ailerons.

So in this case just sitting at the gate I see my stab position at 15.0 NU (Nose Up), if I trim it nose down holding the trim button to any position and release then it goes right back to that 15.0 NU. This happens with Both Left wing and Right wing down. In that case it just goes wings level


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests