Install New Airport

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
reitho
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:46 am

Install New Airport

Postby reitho » Mon Jul 20, 2020 6:07 pm

My System:
Win10 64bit, Prepar3D v4.5.14.34698, PMDG 777-200LR/F, GSX 2.7.3,
Need your help urgently. Where do I have to copy the following files for the freeware airport istanbul LTFM into the P3D. It is the first time I do something like this.

LTFM 202006V3:
Effect
GSX
scenery
texture

yours sincerely
Reinhold Tholen

PhilK
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Install New Airport

Postby PhilK » Thu Jul 23, 2020 5:34 pm

Relevant instructions to be read from the LTFM 202006V3/LTFM 202006V3 out versiyon/ISTANBUL AIRPORT READ ME.docx document, I assume.

If this addon is not using the add-on.xml type of structure, you have basically two easy possibilities, knowing that
1) LM recommendation is to place third party outside of the simulator's folder, meaning outside of the Prepar3d folder
2) You can also install it into the P3D folder itself if you like

If you go the #1 way, you could create a new folder (at the root of your disk) named P3D Externals.
If you go the #2 way (will make it complicated when you will wish to update P3D...), you can create this Externals thingie inside P3D folder.

Whichever, I would suggest you create an "Addon Scenery" folder, or whatever name you want to give to it, and place it inside your P3D Externals.
Just unzip your LTFM 202006V3 archive into your "Addon Scenery", or straight into your P3D Externals if you intend to use it only for sceneries.
Then open P3D and add the scenery LTFM 202006V3 into the sim, pointing to the ..\P3D Externals\Addon Scenery\LTFM 202006V3 folder.
If you have GEX installed, then use the appropriate instructions also located into the archive.

The P3D Externals folder can be used to store other types of addons, namely aircrafts, effects, sounds, gauges, if you amend the various .cfg files accordingly to allow P3D to access all the additional stuff.

Just my two cents...
Other answers to come, I guess

Blue skies!
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA

reitho
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:46 am

Re: Install New Airport

Postby reitho » Fri Jul 24, 2020 7:12 am

Hi PhilK thank you for help

PhilK
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Install New Airport

Postby PhilK » Fri Jul 24, 2020 12:55 pm

Sorry,
Just forgot one little thing...
Into your Addon Scenery folder (or whatever name you have been choosing), just create two subfolders, named scenery, and texture, but leave them blank.
They might be useful later for some other addons addition, and having them blank does not harm your computer.
Blue skies
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA


Return to “Scenery Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests