DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D website and web apps.
RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:40 am

Pleace, help my with this problem.
I just began to use the simulator this days and every time after to use the Simulator for few minutes, appears a window with this advertisment "DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG" invite me to close the App or it may crash.

My PC:
WINDOWS 10 (1909)
CPU i7 2600
GPU Nvidia GTX-1060
VRAM 6 GB
RAM 24 GB

Thank you and regards,

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Beau Hollis » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:15 pm

What is your GPU driver version?
Is the ATC window open?
Does this happen with lower settings?

We have a couple known issues we are looking into:
1) ATC sometimes can cause these when text updates.
2) Camera switch to VC on 5700 FX and Radeon VII. AMD is looking into this.
3) Crash on scenario startup screen with older Nvidia drivers. Nvidia fixed this in the latest drivers.
4) Device Hung when VRAM budget it overrun. You can see VRAM usage on the infogen to the left of the FPS counter. We are working on better VRAM usage, and recovery from over budget.

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Fri Apr 24, 2020 4:13 pm

Thank you.
My GPU driver version is 445.87 (apr 15, 2020)

About ATC, It´s true, the ERROR appear when is present de ATC window

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:28 pm

The problem continue.
I reduced grafics configuration but no helps.
Where can I see VRAM usage?. I has been trying but not found it

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2167
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Beau Hollis » Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:45 am

Shift+Z to cycle infogen text. The GPU memory usage is to the left of FPS. First number is used memory, and second is total budget allowed by the OS.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:25 am

Probed again and failure again.
GPU memory: 2.3/5.0 GB at the stop moment

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:45 am

Image

sportpilot67
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby sportpilot67 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 4:52 pm

The only thing that worked for me when I encountered this error at KLAS using FlyTampa scenery made for P3DV5 was to scale down my texture resolution to 1024X1024. Even if I moved it to 2048X2048 I would go back to receiving the same error message. I am using a GTX 1080SC, driver 445.87, released 4/15/2020.

I also rolled back to other drivers and still encountered the same problem unless I used 1024X1024 exclusively.

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:25 pm

Thank you,
I was using this resolution, 1024X1024.
I probed whit low resolution 512X512 and the problem still
It´s too rare. I was played whit past version like Prepar3D v3, v4 and no had any problem.

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:30 pm

Thank you,
I was using this resolution, 1024X1024.
I probed whit low resolution 512X512 and the problem still
It´s too rare. I was played whit past version like Prepar3D v3, v4 and no had any problem.

ToniH
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby ToniH » Mon Apr 27, 2020 5:38 pm

I went back to P3d v4.5hf3, glad i have both sims on my computer, i think i start use p3d v5 after this DXGI error is gone.
I have 8700K, RTX 2070 8gb with 16gb memory, sim installed to samsung ssd drive. Let's hope LM finds solution for this ATC issue.

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:37 pm

RESOLVED!
Thank all for your interest and folow this topic.
Yesterday, install again the Simulator and no apear the problem for a while...
The diference is that used Microsoft Explorer for download the zip file, like recomends the page in internet.
I have been used Edge Explorer in the first installations and it could be the problem with files corrupted at the end...

Importan folow at detail the instructions in Download page....

sportpilot67
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby sportpilot67 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:36 am

RESOLVED!
Thank all for your interest and folow this topic.
Yesterday, install again the Simulator and no apear the problem for a while...
The diference is that used Microsoft Explorer for download the zip file, like recomends the page in internet.
I have been used Edge Explorer in the first installations and it could be the problem with files corrupted at the end...

Importan folow at detail the instructions in Download page....
So can you now run your texture resolution higher than 1024X1024? I can run 4096X4096 but if I try to load the simulator starting at FlyTampa KLAS i receive this error.

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:02 am

NOT RESOLVED!!
OK, I'll intent with this resolution.
In this moment with 1060 X 1060 failed again but still for more time. I was arriving to MMOX ( 9000 ft mountain zone).

RFERNANDMEX
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby RFERNANDMEX » Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:45 am

Failed again !!!!... Texture resolution 4096 x 4096


Return to “Prepar3D Website and Download Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests