Transparent Window (HUD)

For topics related to the creation of simulation objects (SimObjects). This includes development of aircraft, ground, and maritime vehicles.
mattychays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:10 pm

Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby mattychays » Sat May 11, 2019 7:20 pm

I have successfully generated a 2D Texture using the PDK, when I try to use that as the background of a Window via the "Texture=" it does not appear transparent and the Window cannot be moved.

Essentially I'm trying to draw a DirectX HUD to a transparent window that I can drag over a 2D view to simulate looking through a HUD.

Thanks!

-Matty
"Set 1010!"

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2302
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue May 14, 2019 12:50 pm

Hi Matty,

Have you tried using a panel for the HUD? The texture00 entry can be used to place textures on the panel.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

mattychays
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:10 pm

Re: Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby mattychays » Sun May 19, 2019 7:56 pm

Mr. McCarthy,

Thanks for your quick response! I will give the Panel approach a try and see how it goes!

foasolution
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:40 am

Re: Transparent Window (HUD)

Postby foasolution » Fri May 24, 2019 8:41 am

Hi Matty,

Have you tried using a panel for the HUD? The texture00 entry can be used to place textures on the panel.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Is this working fine??


Return to “Simulation Object Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests