[RESOLVED] P3D won't launch

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

[RESOLVED] P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:38 pm

This afternoon on starting P3D I have been having problems launching the program I have made no changes to my PC since my last flight and I have not added any new add-ons. When I try to launch p3d I get the Prepar3d Professional splash screen then nothing happens, I can hear my cpu coming under load and can see the process in process lasso but it does not go any further.
I have tried deleting my CFG file and also tried repairing the program from the control panel, if I alt-tab to see what programs I have running and select the one I assume is p3d (the p3d icon is missing) all i get is a sort of grey bar appearing.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Martyson » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:37 pm

Try with no overclocking and overclocking program not loaded/not running.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:17 pm

Sorry but it's been running fine with overclocking since I bought v3 at launch, I highly doubt that would change now. Will give your suggestion a go though.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:23 pm

Try with no overclocking and overclocking program not loaded/not running.
Just tried you suggestion, did not make any difference. Thanks anyway.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Martyson » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:48 pm

Which overclocking program do you use?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:17 pm

Which overclocking program do you use?
I don't use a program, I overclock via the bios.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Martyson » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:38 pm

Ok,

I thought maybe you were overclocking "GTX 1080 G1 in SL".
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:17 pm

Ok,

I thought maybe you were overclocking "GTX 1080 G1 in SL".
No graphics cards are standard clock.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

Chazypax
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:53 pm

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Chazypax » Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:12 pm

I'm getting the exact same issue, P3D was working fine. I click the icon to launch P3D and then it loads the splash screen and then the splash screen disappears but it's still running as a process on task manager. Can anyone help?

Martyson
Posts: 5693
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Martyson » Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:26 pm

"the splash screen disappears but it's still running"

Your previous problem .. was it fixed or same problem returned now?
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 22#p120022
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:19 pm

Decided as there is no support from the devs on this issue to uninstall it, will reinstall when I have the time.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Poppet » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:50 pm

Hello Stevefocus

Can you go through these General Debugging Steps one by one and report back

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby stevefocus » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:30 am

Hello Stevefocus

Can you go through these General Debugging Steps one by one and report back
Thanks for your response I had tried the debugging steps with no luck, am already in the middle of uninstalling all my add-ons to do a fresh install, It's been a while since my last fresh install anyway.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby Poppet » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:53 am

Hello

Insure you Remove all of Prepar3D v3 as out lined in the below link before you Reinstall again

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=120686

======

Here are some basic steps for Downloading and Installing Prepar3D v3

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=120676

======

Keep us posted on your situation, If you are still having Issue's we can look at taking some additional steps

User avatar
MikeFlight
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:05 pm

Re: P3D won't launch

Postby MikeFlight » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:00 am

Hello, I hope you have not yet uninstalled the P3D.
I had the same symptom recently: P3D started with the Acadamic Splash and then did nothing more. However, it was active in the background and was displayed in the Task Manager. I found on the Internet the tip to re-install FSUIPC again. And lo and behold, it has worked and the P3D runs again.
An attempt would be worth it.

Regards, Michael
Happy Landings, Michael


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 20 guests