P3D shutdown when try to save.

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the additional features present in the Prepar3D Professional Plus client application.
terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:08 am

Hi P3D,
P3D immediatly shuts down when I try to save any senarios. Any suggestions?
Terry

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:32 am

Terry,

Which version of Windows?

Is this a CTD ?

Any error message?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:36 am

Windows 7, no error messages just straight to home screen when I try to save anything. It was OK before I uninstalled P3D then when I reinstalled it I can not save anything.
What is a CTD?
Thanks for your reply
Terry

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:40 am

CTD = crash to desktop.

Why did you uninstall / reinstall P3D?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:45 am

I had a lot of different extra add-on's etc so thought I would start a clean install. Now everything seems to work well except for the save issue. Soon as I click 'Save' it immediately goes to the home screen.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:02 am

I had a lot of different extra add-on's etc so thought I would start a clean install. Now everything seems to work well except for the save issue. Soon as I click 'Save' it immediately goes to the home screen.
What is the exact name of the flight you are trying to save?

A quick test would be to save the flight with the name TEST
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:25 am

Hi Martyson,
Thanks for reply. I don't get a chance to save with a name, as soon as I hit Save I am in the Windows home screen and P3D is gone and not even working in the background.
On the default start up, all I change is plane type and then Senario > Save and I am straight to Windows.
Terry

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Fri Feb 28, 2020 8:41 am

Hi Martyson,
Thanks for reply. I don't get a chance to save with a name, as soon as I hit Save I am in the Windows home screen and P3D is gone and not even working in the background.
On the default start up, all I change is plane type and then Senario > Save and I am straight to Windows.
Terry
Is your Default flight the LM F22 at KVPS?

" all I change is plane type and then Senario"
Which plane did you select?

Do a screenshot when you are here just before you would click on Save:
Senario > Save
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:34 am

Yes, default is F22 at KVPS. I just changed airfield and then senario > save, same thing happened, straight to Windows.
If I fly after a change of plane etc it's works fine it's just when I try to save anything.
I don't know how to take screen shot.
Maybe I should reinstall again?
Terry

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:41 am

Terry,

In P3D the keyboard “V” key (by default) will take a screenshot.

The screenshot will be saved inside this folder (as a default JPG file):
C:\Users\Your Name here\Pictures\Prepar3D v4 Files

How to post a screenshot in the forum (by Kayla):
viewtopic.php?f=6313&t=122277

Uninstalling / reinstalling P3D is your choice.
If you do, leave P3D in a default state without any Add-ons installed until you have verified P3D is working properly.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

terryjames
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:00 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby terryjames » Mon Mar 02, 2020 6:52 am

Thanks Vaughan,
I will try uninstalling then reinstalling. Will let you know how it goes.
Terry (YTDN, where I learned to fly.)

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10028
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D shutdown when try to save.

Postby Martyson » Mon Mar 02, 2020 8:29 am

Thanks Vaughan,
I will try uninstalling then reinstalling. Will let you know how it goes.
Terry (YTDN, where I learned to fly.)
Terry,

You are welcome.

Just to verify, you know WIN7 is no longer supported by Microsoft, correct?

After reinstalling P3D leave it in a default state [no Add-ons] for initial testing.

Vaughan (PHNL where I learned to fly.)
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Prepar3D Professional Plus Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests