P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the additional features present in the Prepar3D Professional Plus client application.
ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby ivansf » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:00 pm

Dear fellow colleagues,

I had recently bought strong PC together with monitor and had installed P3DV5.1 and since there are no many videos around how to best optimize the graphic settings i would like to share issues with you with hope that someone can help me:

1. In FS Labs A320 when HDR lighting is enabled, displays gets more blurry and its almost impossible to properly see numbers unless you really zoom, however when i open in 2D, picture is completely clear. Also surrounding gets more darker when HDR is avaliable.
2.When HDR is ON even during the day, i have feeling like the surrounding gets "more color" its not completely clear and if lightening settings are set on standard (all 3 on 1) its very "shiny", "too much white"


Examples of how it looks like are below:
https://ibb.co/2dWpWvR (with HDR ON)
https://ibb.co/z4kn7Vb (with HDR OFF)
https://ibb.co/ZhBX7wR (Blurry screens in FS Labs A320)

My PC configuration is as follows:
I7-10700K @3.8Ghz
32GB RAM
MSI GeForce RTX 3080 10GB VRAM
Monitor resolution 1920X1080(G-SYNC)

I've selected in Nvidia control panel under resolution HD 1080p 1920x1080 with refresh rate 120Hz (Since this is maximum for this resolution where under normal 1920x1080 it can be selected up to 240Hz).

I would also appreciate if someone can suggest me the configuration to get good quality with reasonable performances as well. I am planning to populate sim with ORBX addons, and currently using ASP3D/ENVETEX/ENVSHADE.

P3D Display settings:
FXAA ON
Texture filtering Anisotropic 16x
AA: 8XMSAA
Texture resolution:High-2048x2048
Disabled Dynamic texture streaming
VSync ON with triple buffering checked.
Target frame rate 50.
Variable refresh rate/Wide-view aspect ratio/Mipmap VC panels --> DISABLED

Thank you very much for your support!

Stay safe and cheers!

Regards
Ivan

JorgenSA
Posts: 2702
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:26 am

Step 1:

Limit your frame rate to 30, which is about the maximum of what your eye can see anyway. If you do that, you'll give your system more time to build an image before it is displayed.

Now, personally and on my system, I have found that I get a smoother flight if I set the frame rate in the sim to unlimited and limit it to 30 in the nVidia Control Panel.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby ivansf » Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:12 pm

Step 1:

Limit your frame rate to 30, which is about the maximum of what your eye can see anyway. If you do that, you'll give your system more time to build an image before it is displayed.

Now, personally and on my system, I have found that I get a smoother flight if I set the frame rate in the sim to unlimited and limit it to 30 in the nVidia Control Panel.

Jorgen
Dear Jorgen,

Thank you very much, for your answer. By limiting frame rate to 30fps my problem is the same i am still having the same issues regarding the "very warm" picture.
Also today, i've noticed that when i am on cruising altitude, my CPU temp is actually much higher then when i am on the ground, which is little bit confusing to be since i think that it should be opposite. Anyone has idea?

Here are my P3D settings:
https://ibb.co/X3Wg0Fm
https://ibb.co/qYJzYxp
https://ibb.co/9qjm3ZH

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby ivansf » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:44 pm

Step 1:

Limit your frame rate to 30, which is about the maximum of what your eye can see anyway. If you do that, you'll give your system more time to build an image before it is displayed.

Now, personally and on my system, I have found that I get a smoother flight if I set the frame rate in the sim to unlimited and limit it to 30 in the nVidia Control Panel.

Jorgen
Dear Jorgen,

Thank you very much, for your answer. By limiting frame rate to 30fps my problem is the same i am still having the same issues regarding the "very warm" picture.
Also today, i've noticed that when i am on cruising altitude, my CPU temp is actually much higher then when i am on the ground, which is little bit confusing to be since i think that it should be opposite. Anyone has idea?

Here are my P3D settings:
https://ibb.co/X3Wg0Fm
https://ibb.co/qYJzYxp
https://ibb.co/9qjm3ZH

I've just noticed that CPU usage on Cruising altitude is around 80%, however when i am on the ground, with cloudy weather/scenery and FSlabs A320 usage is 30% does anyone has explanation what is the reason behind that?

Thank you very much for help! :)

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10002
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby Martyson » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:16 pm

ivansf,

You mentioned:

Target frame rate 50.
In FS Labs A320 when HDR lighting is enabled

Did you try selecting Options, Display , Mipmap VC Panels (checked, On)?
Have you tested with default aircraft?


Notes:
I also have a strong PC.

I do not have the FSlabs A320 but I do have PMDG products.


Pilots that actually have demanding Add-on products installed (payware scenery and aircraft , AI aircraft / ATC in use) can see lower than selected FPS and blurry VC gauges.

Noting as you previously mentioned :
“By limiting frame rate to 30fps my problem is the same i am still having the same issues regarding the "very warm" picture.”

I lock my FPS at 29

But when using detailed payware airports and aircraft (e.g. FT KLAS / PMDG) my FPS drops to 20 FPS and blurry VC gauges (zoomed out a bit).
So limiting FPS is not a solution for blurry VC.

I see the same Blur e,g, in default P3D aircraft as well as e.g. PMDG 737NGXu unless zoomed in which I do automatically by selecting EZDok cameras of selected areas of the VC e.g., like th MCP, PFD etc.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

OE1CGA
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:49 pm

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby OE1CGA » Tue Nov 24, 2020 5:33 pm

for me, better results when: FXAA=off, vsync and tripple buffering also off. Unlimited frames in P3D and if limiting, then in Nvidia software....

ryanair007
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:31 pm

Re: P3D V5.1 Graphic settings

Postby ryanair007 » Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:44 am

locking fps at 30 is not an option for me when you have a 144htz screen it will give you bad stutters , the only thing that works its lowering the htz of the screen to the minimum in my case 48 htz with fps unlimited an v-sync on and the sim is very smooth ,

i have also noticed the cpu i9900k overclocked to 5.2 and stable , on the ground uses 30 % load and in flight around 80 to 90 % , very strange , used to be the opposite ,

Regards , Marco


Return to “Prepar3D Professional Plus Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests