NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
User avatar
KEMIC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:33 pm

NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby KEMIC » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:02 pm

P3DV5 and MSI Afterburner 4.6.3 Beta 1 and RTSS 7.3.0 Beta 6
When I first started P3D v5 I would get an error message: "This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN
A lot of trial and error found.
Solution: Turn off OSD in RTSS and all is well.

Worked fine in V4.5 but this work around will allow you to still overclock for better performance.
I believe this may be related to multiple screen use and RTSS not being able to display on all screens as it did in v4.5

I currently run 8 screens for the home built SIM
3 65" 1080P 1920x1080 and
1 12" 1080P screens 1920 X1080 on GeForce RTX2080 Ti driver 452.06
3 14" 1080P 1600 x900 USB Monitors on DisplayLink USB E1759wu
1 Asus Tablet using spacedesk Driver Beta 0.9.34 as a kneeboard.

Afterburner Settings
Core Voltage +100
Power limit 100
Core Clock on Curve
Memory Clock +500

Hope this may help someone with this error.
Kevin

Prepar3D_Prof_5.0.31.35253,Windows 10 Pro V 1909, i7-9700K CPU @4.70GHz,RAM 32.0 GB,NVIDIA GeForce GTX 2080Ti 11GB GDDR6,Saitek ProFlight Yoke System,Rudder pedals,Throttle Quandrant,Multi Panel,2 Radio Panels, Switch Panel,Instrument Panel

Martyson
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:18 pm

@ Kevin,

using MSI Afterburner and RTSS have been known to cause problems previously reported in the forums.

I do not use them and no problems with my RTX2080 Ti 11GB (P3Dv4.5HF3 / P3Dv5HF2).
I do not overclock anything.

Note.
For users overclocking do mention it in any problems you report in the forums.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2489
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:21 pm

Kevin,

With P3D v. 5, it is also important that you have:

1. Windows 10 v. 2004

2. The latest nVidia driver, and

3. P3D v. 5 HF2

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:36 pm

The OP mentioned he is using
P3Dv5HF2
Nvidia driver 452.06
Microsoft Windows 10 1909 (recommended for P3Dv5).

Note:
WIN10 2004 is available in many areas / for various PC systems / configurations now.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
KEMIC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:33 pm

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby KEMIC » Fri Aug 28, 2020 3:09 pm

I was under the impression that HF2 was included in the full package 5.0.31.35253 I downloaded 3 days ago. If not I will go back and do that now.
I had upgraded to Windows 2004 about 6 weeks ago and had a number of issues with v4.5 and other programs and had major issues with the rollback to 1909 and had to rebuild everything from scratch on a new install of 1909. Still has me spooked about doing the upgrade to 2004 again.
Appreciate the feedback.

PS: I did go to MSFS2020 for about a week and was totaly disgusted by the missing features, such as support for Multi-Screeen views and Saitek/Logitech support of peripherals. It is now on a unsuased SSD and I am very happy with V5 so far.
I also run ORBX Base Pack, Buildings HD, TerraFlora V2, Trees HD, Vector, Open LC North Americam,Honolulu City Scape,Airport Pack and Object Flow and REX SKY Force 3D on V5 and all are working great.
Kevin

Prepar3D_Prof_5.0.31.35253,Windows 10 Pro V 1909, i7-9700K CPU @4.70GHz,RAM 32.0 GB,NVIDIA GeForce GTX 2080Ti 11GB GDDR6,Saitek ProFlight Yoke System,Rudder pedals,Throttle Quandrant,Multi Panel,2 Radio Panels, Switch Panel,Instrument Panel

Martyson
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 28, 2020 3:39 pm

@ KEMIC ,

You are OK.

You mentioned:
"I was under the impression that HF2 was included in the full package 5.0.31.35253 I downloaded 3 days ago."
Yes, that's correct.
That is why I mentioned you already have HF2 and the latest Nvidia driver.

When your PC is "ready" (from Microsoft) you will have Win10 2004 available as a Win10 (normal) WIN10 PC update.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
KEMIC
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:33 pm

Re: NEW install This device (NVidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti) stopped working for the following reason: UNKNOWN

Postby KEMIC » Fri Aug 28, 2020 3:49 pm

Thnx Vaughan,

Kevin
Kevin

Prepar3D_Prof_5.0.31.35253,Windows 10 Pro V 1909, i7-9700K CPU @4.70GHz,RAM 32.0 GB,NVIDIA GeForce GTX 2080Ti 11GB GDDR6,Saitek ProFlight Yoke System,Rudder pedals,Throttle Quandrant,Multi Panel,2 Radio Panels, Switch Panel,Instrument Panel


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JorgenSA and 44 guests