p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
kkir
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:54 pm

p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby kkir » Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:06 pm

P3dv5

Crash , many times

Also with lower options

-- the device nvidia gtx 2080 ti 8gb stopped working
with following reason: DXGI-ERROR-DEVICE-HUNG


What shall i do ??????

Geforce RTX 2080 8bg Asus Strix … TI


Mfg
Klaus

JorgenSA
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby JorgenSA » Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:14 pm

Klaus,

This is a DX12 error. Do you have Windows 10 v. 2004?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 9975
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby Martyson » Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:21 pm

P3dv5

Crash , many times

Also with lower options

-- the device nvidia gtx 2080 ti 8gb stopped working
with following reason: DXGI-ERROR-DEVICE-HUNG


What shall i do ??????

Geforce RTX 2080 8bg Asus Strix … TI


Mfg
Klaus
Klaus,
I have a Geforce RTX2080Ti 11GB and have not had any errors.

Do you have Add-ons installed?
What were you doing/using when you got the error (except initially with the original ATC problem).?

My OS is WIN10 v1909.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

kconlon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:57 pm
Location: KROC

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby kconlon » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:51 pm

I am also having this issue, only with HF2 though. If I uninstall the HF2 client and revert back to HF1 I do not. I can consistently preproduce this.
I using W10 1904 and the video card is using the latest GeForce drivers 451.48 (although I was seeing this same issue with HF2 using W10 1904 with the GeForce 446.14 drivers too.)

Back to HF1 for me

Kevin

Dxdiag below:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 6/25/2020, 13:45:54
Machine name: SENTINEL
Machine Id: {8C1E12FB-B20B-4C07-B808-8FD7ED3E6E15}
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 19041) (19041.vb_release.191206-1406)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd.
System Model: MS-7B48
BIOS: 2.80 (type: UEFI)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz (16 CPUs), ~3.6GHz
Memory: 32768MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 32670MB RAM
Page File: 21086MB used, 16447MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DirectX Database Version: 1.0.8
DxDiag Version: 10.00.19041.0084 64bit Unicode
Kevin Conlon - Pharmacist, Pilot and Parrot Head

I9-9900K 4.9GHz | RTX 2080 TI FE | 27" Asus Monitors x 3| MSI Z370 | Crucial M.2 NVMe 1TB | Samsung SSD 500GB x 3 | Toshiba HDD 2TB | WDC HDD 2TB | 32 GB RAM

mpni
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:37 am

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby mpni » Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:18 pm

Hi
Have a look here:
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 7&start=45
I have an issue with 2 monitors. The first with DisplayPort connection, and the second with HDMI connection on GTX 1080 8Go.
All works fine in P3Dv4.5 but not in P3Dv5HF2.
Jorden finded the matter using DisplayPort.
So, if you are using the DisplayPort connection, it seems for me this is a P3Dv5 HF2 bug.
Michel

kconlon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:57 pm
Location: KROC

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby kconlon » Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:24 pm

All 3 of my monitors are using Display port. Wonder if I should go buy some HDMI cables and try again.

Thanks

Kevin
Kevin Conlon - Pharmacist, Pilot and Parrot Head

I9-9900K 4.9GHz | RTX 2080 TI FE | 27" Asus Monitors x 3| MSI Z370 | Crucial M.2 NVMe 1TB | Samsung SSD 500GB x 3 | Toshiba HDD 2TB | WDC HDD 2TB | 32 GB RAM

User avatar
Blaunarwal
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby Blaunarwal » Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:00 pm

All 3 of my monitors are using Display port. Wonder if I should go buy some HDMI cables and try again.

Thanks

Kevin
I don´t think this is a cable problem. I think it is often a multi monitor problem but I had it too with one monitor. I also have a display port cable in use.

After this error I reinstall the NVidia driver usually and that fixes the problem for me. Last time I got a different one from Nvidia than before from techpowerup. Other times I installed the driver version before, which i kept in my downloads drive for this reason.

Dan
i7- 9700K @ 5.0 GHz, 32 GB DDR-4 SDRAM, ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F, KFA2 RTX2080 Super Ex 8GB

mpni
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:37 am

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby mpni » Fri Jun 26, 2020 3:57 am

MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X - 8 Go - Driver NVIDIA 451.48 06/24/2020
When I connect only one monitor with HDMI cable, there is a [DISPLAY.Device.xxx] section in the Prepar3D.cfg file (P3Dv5 HF2) and P3D run correctly.
When I connect only one monitor using a DisplayPort cable, there is not this section in the Prepar3D.cfg file but P3D run correctly.
If I connect one monitor on the DisplayPort and a second monitor on HDMI, there is not a [DISPLAY.Device.xxx] section in the Prepar3D.cfg and P3D don't run correctly.
But, in P3D v4.5 there is no problem using at the same time one monitor on the DisplayPort and a second monitor on HDMI. And there are 2 [DISPLAY.Device.xxx] section in the Prepar3D.cfg file.
Michel

User avatar
Blaunarwal
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby Blaunarwal » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:29 am

This [DISPLAY.Device.xxx] section are for fullscreen mode I think. I don´t know what is the trigger to have them in the prepar3d.cfg. It may be written as soon as you go into fullscreen mode. I mostly use the sim in windowed mode. If I had multiple monitors I´d run all over the same type of connection. I only used to have two monitors in the past where on the large one was P3D4 and on the small monitor helper programs, like a moving map. I had no problems there with the 1080 GPU. But I can´t help you with the sim over several monitors. I have just one now, a LC-Power LC-M34-UWQHD-100-C (34", 3440 x 1440 Pixels).

You use the latest driver. Did you also clear the shader cache after installing it?

I used to have a 1080 too. It was a bit hotter than my new 2080 and therefore I had DXGI errors when my housing was clogged with dust at the inlets of the housing, so the fans could not transport enough outside air into the housing.

Soon there will be new GPUs from AMD and NVidia. I wouldn´t go for a new one now.

Regards

Dan
i7- 9700K @ 5.0 GHz, 32 GB DDR-4 SDRAM, ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F, KFA2 RTX2080 Super Ex 8GB

mpni
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:37 am

Re: p3dv5 Error gtx 2080 ti 8gb

Postby mpni » Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:51 am

Hi,
Yes, I delete all shader files when I update the video driver.

I haved a look on the P3Dv4.5 config file to looking for what is missing in the P3Dv5 config file.
Then I copied all the missing lines for monitors:
LocationFullScreen=0,0,1920,1080,\\.\DISPLAY1 (in the [MAIN] section)
and these lines in the [USERINTERFACE]
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080.0.0]
Mode=1920x1080x32
[DISPLAY.Device.NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080.0.1]
Mode=1080x1920x32
Now P3Dv5 works correctly with my 2 monitors (the first on DisplayPort and the second on HDMI).
For information, I have no previous version of P3Dv5 HF2.
There is only a bug when I click on the Load button on the first screen, I have a message: Do you want to exit P3D?.
At this moment, except this bug, resolved for me.
Thank's to Jorgen.
Regards


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests