V4.5 Flicker problem

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
sso
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:55 pm

V4.5 Flicker problem

Postby sso » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:56 pm

Hi all,

I have upgraded from 4.1 to the latest 4.5. I have upgraded first the Client and subsequently the Content.
After the upgrade I have a very annoying flicker. See the video below.
https://youtu.be/Hoqv3JpE8Gg
I have purged the shaders folder but no luck.
I subsequently installed PTA 2.67 to see if it would solve the shaders issue.
It seems to be only an issue when flying through particles.

Video card is a Geforce GTX 1080 Ti running Driver 441.41.
OS is W10 fully updated.

I hope someone can help me debug this annoying issue.

Thanks in advance.

/Stephen
/Stephen Odgaard

P3D Developer version v4.5
A320 homecockpit based on Jeehell FMGS
ORBX Global, Vector, LC Europe & US/Ca and many more
A2A Cherokee
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Windows 10

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: V4.5 Flicker problem

Postby Brady Butler » Thu Dec 05, 2019 11:59 pm

Hello sso,

Does the following thread help?
https://prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... it=flicker

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

sso
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:55 pm

Re: V4.5 Flicker problem

Postby sso » Sat Dec 07, 2019 3:39 pm

I tried them all.
- Game mode
- Full screen compatibility
-limiting framerates
-vsync on/off
-triple buffering on/off.

=> No change.

However downgrading to 4.5.12.30293 has solved THAT issue. I noted another user in another forum with the same issue who informed the downgrade worked for him.
/Stephen
/Stephen Odgaard

P3D Developer version v4.5
A320 homecockpit based on Jeehell FMGS
ORBX Global, Vector, LC Europe & US/Ca and many more
A2A Cherokee
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Windows 10

JorgenSA
Posts: 1364
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: V4.5 Flicker problem

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:10 pm

Stephen,

It may be that your computer and/or the fan on your graphics card needs to have dust removed from it.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests