low fps

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
yonitanp
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:27 pm

Postby yonitanp » Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:44 am

Hi all,

I seem to get very low fps in p3d, much lower than what i get with fsx



For example, in FSX - PMDG 737ngx - in Mega airport Helsinki i got 12-15 fps. in p3d i get 5-8 fps

even in defualt sceneries i get lower fps than in fsx

my p3d.cfg is tweaked with Bojote (and so of the fsx.cfg)



my specs are:



Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

CPU Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.07GHz 62 °C Bloomfield 45nm Technology

RAM 8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 539MHz (7-7-7-20)

Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. X58A-UD3R (Socket 1366) 52 °C

Graphics E2441 (1920x1080@60Hz)896MB GeForce GTX 260 (Gigabyte) 59 °C

Hard Drives 233GB ST3250310AS SCSI Disk Device (RAID) 46 °C 298GB Seagate ST3320613AS ATA Device (SATA) 39 °C

Optical Drives ONSXCFU O92R4TIN SCSI CdRom Device Optiarc DVD RW AD-7200S ATA Device



Any ideas? will it be worthwhile to upgrade to a better Graphics card?



tnks,

Jonathan

Jude
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:09 pm

Postby Jude » Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:17 am

Check this:

http://kostasfsworld.wordpress.com/fsx-software-and-hardware-guide/

Most people have overclocked CPU's (at their own risk of course).


User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby aeronauta » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:52 pm

I rum without any tweaks except for



[JOBSCHEDULER]

AffinityMask=1364 (I have 6 processors)



and in [GRAPHICS}



HIGHMEMFIX=1



Also make sure Bathymetry is not ticked. (default in 1.4) and reflections to Sky,Clouds,Sim Objects (midway).

To revert to a pristine Prepar3D (keeping a copy of your current one) close P3D, rename your current one and restart P3D , you will have then a new one.



regards Jorge











Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

campospinto
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:57 pm

Postby campospinto » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:47 pm

I agree Jorge.

After much head break, I discovered that P3D should not be too disturbed.

I can say that I use everything that is not recommended for FSX and P3D, Phenom II X6 CPU (2.8GHz), 2GB card ATI 6950.

But use Intel SSD for Windows 7 64, FSX and P3D only, other programs on SATA HD.

RadeonPro Preview does the rest, controls affinit mask, vertical sync, block frames externally (30FPS to use P3D, for FSX dynamic control above 60FPS, blocks).

With NGX, frames always more lower, but image flowing without those annoying hiccups.

FPS high, is not everything.



João Alfredo










BobbyHipperson
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:53 am

Postby BobbyHipperson » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:04 am

I don't use any tweaks but I get a very smooth sim when I set the frame rate slider in the Prepar3d display settings at unlimited and use NVidia Inspector to lock the frame rate at 30. I use FRAPS to monitor frame rate and it sits right on 30 unless I'm using an addon with heavy slider settings. That drags the FPS down but the sim generally stays smooth. This is on a laptop.



I did this after reading this post: http://janvaane.org/prepar3d/?p=96 I just used a different external frame limiter but it works. At least it works for me....your mileage may vary.



Bobby





Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests