VRaptor or SSD

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
User avatar
Arismac
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 4:52 am

Postby Arismac » Sat Nov 24, 2012 5:01 am

G'day all, which of the above would the wise men recommend. I currently have Prepar3D on the VRaptor. Would transferring to an SSD be beneficial as in "Very", "Somewhat" "Not really worth it"? Thanks, Mac

User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:05 am

What cache is on the VRaptor?


User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:10 am

AFAIK the 1TB VRaptor comes with a 64MB cache so this will probably be just as fast as a SSD for buffering and loading scenery. The only real advantage of a SSD is a marginally improved startup of Windows and startup of P3D. When it's actually running I doubt you'd see a huge performance gain. So to answer your original question....'not really worth it'!



Jim

User avatar
Arismac
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 4:52 am

Postby Arismac » Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:27 am

Many thanks Jim. I do not have a loading time problem as I do have Win 7 on an SSD. So I will run with the current config.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 32 guests