multiple displays on a single pc

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:40 pm

Hi,



I want to set up a 180 degree view in Prepar3D to display a control tower view. I plan to use 9 Full HD projectors installed vertically. So, each will be set on a resolution of 1080x1920. Using ATI Eyefinity the array of 9 projectors will have a resolution of 9720x1920 giving a wider vertical FOV, which I need. I plan to buy the PC described below:



CPU: Intel i7-3930K 3.2GHz

M/B: ASROCK X79 EXTREME4-M

RAM: 32GB DDR3 1333MHz

GPU: 2x ASUS HD7970-DC2-3GD5 3GB in Crossfire array

HDD: OCZ VTX3-25SAT3 120GB SSD SATA3



Will the above PC be able to run Prepar3D at high detailed graphics mode (including Anisotropic filtering and AA) at a decent FPS?



Thank you for your help.

FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:25 pm

Simple answer : NO (For so many reasons)



I also think you have Vertical & Horizontal mixed up ??

panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:20 am

Could I have a brief description of the reasons and a possible solution?

No mix up. I need 180 degree view on the horizontal axis and a wide FOV on the vertical axis. If I install the projectors horizontally (1920x1080) i get roughly 20 degrees view in the vertical axis. If I install them vertically (1080x1920) I get a 35 degree vertical FOV which is enough.



Thanks

User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:24 am

If you're using your 2 Graphics cards in Crossfire array this will limit your output to 6 projectors?



Quote from AMD site:

Can I run AMD Eyefinity technology with AMD CrossFire™ technology?

Any AMD Eyefinity technology configuration that works with a single graphics card will work with AMD CrossFire™ technology, however all monitors must connect to the primary graphics card. In most systems, this will be the GPU installed closest to the CPU. This is true for both AMD Radeon™ graphics and AMD FirePro™ professional graphics products.



You will not be able to achieve 180 FOV with a Single Large Surface (SLS) implementation of Eyefinity as the Max Zoom Out on P3D will only give about 140 FOV. Consequently you will need to define each Projector as a separate Camera Configuration. This will place a massive CPU load. Successful implementation of 180 FOV (or greater) requires a Multi-Channel configuration (Master & Slaves) using SimIG.xml



regards



Jim

panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:05 am

Thank you for the information Jim. So, will the configuration below work?



2 PCs (Master & Slave), both equipped with:



CPU: Intel i7-3930K 3.2GHz

M/B: ASROCK X79 EXTREME4-M

RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHz

GPU: ASUS HD7970-DC2-3GD5 3GB (single card)

HDD: OCZ VTX3-25SAT3 120GB SSD SATA3



5 projectors connected to the master in an Eyefinity array 5400x1920 (showing 100 degree FOV)

4 projectors connected to the slave in an Eyefinity array 4320x1920 (showing 80 degree FOV)



Will the framerate be above 24fps?



Regards,

Pete




FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am

I believe you are in danger of trying to build a advanced, EXPENSIVE system, without really understanding what you are doing, and trying to rely on a few people in a public forum to tell you, with a definitive answer, if it will work or not.



I personally have little or no experience in setting up multi-display systems, but everything I have read, tells me you are way off base.



Starting with your requirement for a minimum of 24fps. Under what conditions ?

With what addons loaded ? with what scenery loaded, where ?

With what level of Autogen, with what levels of what ??



Also, you need to remember, that at least in the foreseeable future, P3D is a 32 bit application.

The more display you are driving, the move Video memory, the less of you 3-4 Gigs you have left for P3D, after memory has been lost to mapping to the video. 3 GB video cards are a RED FLAG !!



I think you are more realistically looking at 2 (1080x1920) projectors per PC ie 4-5 PCs (4-5 P3D Licenses)

Plus the licenses for the software to handle the geometric distortion corrections, and blend the images between the projectors.



I admit, I do not have most of the answers -- it seems that so few have put together such a system, and shared the details.




panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:01 am

Firstly I want to thank you Geoff for taking the time to answer my query. I want to clarify that my intention was to contact LM personnel to get technical advise. However, Prepar3D site says:



"Please refer to our Frequently Asked Questions or our Support Forum if you have support/technical questions."



That is the reason I posted on this forum. I just seek advice from people with experience on multi-display systems to help me out understand what is feasible in P3D and what is not.

So, I am not trying to rely on a few people in a public forum to tell me, with a definitive answer, if a configuration will work or not. I posted a PC configuration because I wanted to be hardware specific as this thread is titled.

I am trying to build a CHEAP Tower simulator. I understand that what I describe may sound expensive but it actually costs 1/20 of what a custom built Tower simulator by a specialized company would cost. I am fully aware that this cheap system will have limitations. I just want to get the best value for the money I can spend.

As for the 24fps requirement, I just want to have a smooth picture. You are right that I need to give more details on that, so I will rephrase:

What hardware do I need if I want to have a 180 degree view with the highest detailed graphics P3D can offer with a resolution of 9720x1920 pixels at a framerate that will give a smooth picture? Bear in mind that the projected view will be from a Tower and thus it will be static. There will be no add-ons used.

Geoff I really appreciate that you and Jim are trying to help, so I would also like your opinion along with the opinion of anyone that has experience on such systems.

You said I should need 4-5 PCs. Can you specify if you meant mid-range or high end? Why a red flag for 3GB video cards? Are they incompatible with P3D?



Thanks a lot

User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:36 am



Quote:

Quote from panpsa on November 8, 2012, 11:01

You said I should need 4-5 PCs. Can you specify if you meant mid-range or high end? Why a red flag for 3GB video cards?




High end PCs will be better, in particular CPU speed is paramount. You can economize with mid-range graphics cards if you have to. You want to limit each PC to about 1GB of VRAM otherwise your 32-bit application (Prepar3D) will run out of 'Addresses' and you'll get OOM errors. If you want to run 9 monitors, you'll probably get away with 3xPC x 3xDisplays. You may need to limit your VRAM in the Prepar3D.cfg file by setting the VideoMemoryOverride parameter manually for each Display Device.



Jim

panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:06 pm

Thank you for the helpful information Jim. I will start experimenting with some PCs I have available and see what I can get.

slayer616
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:27 pm

Postby slayer616 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:08 am

You should also look into WideFS if you are looking at multiple PC/display solution. It should allow you to offload some of your traffic programs etc onto the 2nd or 3rd PC. It doesn't help you with multiple displays but will free up some resources on your main PC by offloading some of the software onto the other PC's.

westman
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:28 am

Postby westman » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:57 am



Quote:

Quote from panpsa on November 8, 2012, 08:05

Thank you for the information Jim. So, will the configuration below work?



2 PCs (Master & Slave), both equipped with:



CPU: Intel i7-3930K 3.2GHz

M/B: ASROCK X79 EXTREME4-M

RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333MHz

GPU: ASUS HD7970-DC2-3GD5 3GB (single card)

HDD: OCZ VTX3-25SAT3 120GB SSD SATA3



5 projectors connected to the master in an Eyefinity array 5400x1920 (showing 100 degree FOV)

4 projectors connected to the slave in an Eyefinity array 4320x1920 (showing 80 degree FOV)



Will the framerate be above 24fps?



Regards,

Pete





I bet that you dont have the CPU and GPU power to run that res with higher settings.

A run 5760x1080 3veiws FOV 160 53.3, 0 , -53.3 and that hit hard with high AA.

My PC spec: 3770K @5.4ghz (phase change cooling)mem 2x4gb 2666mhz cl9

Nvida 680 4gb



Hasse


panpsa
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:59 pm

Postby panpsa » Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:15 pm

Thanks slayer616 for the tip. I have never noticed WideFS before. I think I might give it a try.



Hasse I understand it is going to be very difficult to get a high level of detail at a high resolution and a wide FOV. I need the high level of detail though because the user has to be able to see distant objects clear enough to control the traffic. I will see how far the available equipment can get me and then I will gradually add more powerful components or more PCs until I get a satisfactory result. Thank you for the information.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests