GTX 580 + GTX 285 + 4 monitors, options?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
130n
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby 130n » Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:06 pm

Hey guys,



I need to achieve a panoramic view, but I don't have eyefinity and cannot use Nvidia Surround. What can I do here?





Thanks!

User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Postby janvaane » Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:23 pm

Helo Gabriel, you have 2 monitors on the GTX580; did you extend the desktop (screen 1+2)?
|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

130n
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby 130n » Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:34 pm

Hey Jan, here's how it is now:

mWAlD.png

User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Postby janvaane » Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:12 pm

Hello Gabriel, you need at least one AMD Radeon card and then download Catalyst control center

http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/amd-catalyst/pages/catalyst.aspx

Give it a shot for 30 euro [cheap sample] http://www.4launch.nl/shop/#p-4-productid-107630



|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

130n
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby 130n » Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:48 pm

So, you're saying I just need an AMD card (even if there ain't no monitors plugged into it), just to use eyefinity?

User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Postby janvaane » Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:52 am

Yep, you cannot stretch the screen resolution without Eyefinity, which is proprietary AMD. It's a choice 3840 or 2x 1920 ..

eyefinity01.jpg
|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

130n
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:02 pm

Postby 130n » Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:38 am

I thought Eyefinity only worked with crossfire or multi-amd monitors.

Have you done/seen this before on a setup like mine?

slayer616
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:27 pm

Postby slayer616 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:50 pm

You can also give SoftTH a try? No more hardware needed...just patience and some work to get it set up to your liking.



http://www.kegetys.fi/forum/index.php?topic=2123.0



There is a config tool for this also:



http://www.kegetys.fi/forum/index.php?topic=2631.0



Not 100% sure if this will work for P3D or not so don't get mad if it doesn't :P

adamjedgar
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:03 pm

Postby adamjedgar » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:05 am

I don't like dual screens in eyefinity. my line of site to runway centerline gets blocked.

marcello3wd
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:57 pm

Postby marcello3wd » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:22 am

Hi, I'm running p3d with 6 screen, 3 gpu (2 screen each one) without any extra hardware/sofware



3 screen are for external panoramic views and the others for instrument panels (with one touch screen for CDU/GPS)



You don't need any extra software or hardware, only make additional views and undock to desired screen

For the top 3 external views you need to make a litlle modification in cameras.cfg to allow pan in 2d :



Edit the cameras.cfg (in the folder with prepar3d.cfg)



In the first definition, (CameraDefinition.001), scroll down to:



PanPbhAdjust = Ordinal <<<< change this to Swivel

PanPbhReturn = True <<<<<<< change this to False



After that, you can create a new cockpit (2d) view, pan with space bar + mouse and undock to desired screen (for forward-left and forward-right views), the center view is the default 2d cockpit view.



Hope this help



regards



Marcello



Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests