Multi-Channel Configuration

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
nicks
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:53 pm

Postby nicks » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:10 am

Good day all,



I'm in the process of trying to study the documentation relating to multi-channel setup.



Can anyone tell me where I can find it?



I've downloaded and installed the latest Learning Center but come up empty in any search regarding the matter.



Is there anyone who has already completed a multi-channel configuration? If so can you share your experience?



I would like to try to setup a visual and cockpit display with a maximum of 3 powerful PCs. I'm willing to compromise on the visual quality if necessary.



The goal would be to study the effects on quality versus training benefit.



Thanks

Legacy Support
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:22 pm

Postby Legacy Support » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:58 am

Hi,



In the Learning Center there is a section called What's New. Under What's New In Prepar3D go to the bottom of the page. You will find the article on Multi-Channel set-up and configuration.



John


nicks
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:53 pm

Postby nicks » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:29 pm

Thanks for the quick reply John.



All I have on left side of the LC is SDK -> General/Core/Env/Mission/SimObjects and nothing under Favorites.



Is there another LC?



Thanks


FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Wed Feb 09, 2011 6:37 pm

I cannot find anything about "WHATS NEW" in tbe LC either :(

Legacy Support
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:22 pm

Postby Legacy Support » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:04 pm

Yes there is another Learning Center. It is the one that is with the main application in the same directory as the exe. You are looking at the SDK LC.



:-)




nicks
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:53 pm

Postby nicks » Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:29 pm

That did it! Thanks John.



Is there a way to merge the 2 LCs so that all the information is in one spot?



By-the-way, the information seems quite complete... Lots to study.



Have a good day!

nicks
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:53 pm

Postby nicks » Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:09 am

I've been studying the docs on a multi-channel setup and have had no luck in getting a view to load on a slave PC. I keep having the Master and the slave display 2 individual airplanes in Multi-Player mode thus crashing into each other in the same spot.



I've been using Wideview for many years thus understand the concepts presented. It's the implementation that escapes me. Although it is recommended to have 6 PCs for a 5-screen visual setup, I'm trying to test a setup which requires only 3 PCs. Naturally compromises will have to be made.



Here is what I'm trying to evaluate:



3 x high-end PCs each with one dual-head video card running Windows 7-64 Pro

5 x widescreen LCDs (20") arranged with 1 center, 2@45 (left & Right), and 2@90 (left & right) as follows:

._

/..\

|o|



The Sever PC will display the single center front view and the instrument panel on separate LCD screens.



The 2 Right side visuals (45 & 90) will be connected to one visual slave and the same for the Left side which will be connected to the 2nd visual slave PC.



Here are a bunch of questions:



Is this possible with the current features of P3D?



What are the contents of the Network Configs for each of the 3 PCs and the IG XML files?



Does the IG Slave require both a Network CFG file and an XML like the Master?



I've tried many combinations of IG XML but nothing seems to work. I've renamed computer names and tested network connections... no IG control happening.



All I get as a result is that the Slave goes into MultiPlayer mode requesting a Password and then it ends up crashing into the Master's aircraft.



I would like to study Network CFG file further but I haven't found any reference it.



Does the naming convention for each of the slaves have to be as documented or can the PCs have other names?



Is it preferable that the 45 & 90 degree views be combined into 1 stretched view of 135?



Has anyone been able to get the IGs going in any way?



Thanks


User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:37 am

I too am having no success with Multi-Channel setup and am encountering the same problems as Nicks.



I am trying to implement Multi-Channel and all I get is Multi-Player, ie I get a second aircraft at the same location not the same aircraft with a different view.



Does the SimIG.xml file automatically run on starting the Master or does it have to be 'initialised' in some way? Also where does the SimIG.xml file need to be placed?



I am doing a lot of 'trial and error' but would like to have a bit more explicit direction in the user-guide. I have stripped down the systems from multi-monitor to single monitor but that has not rectified the problem.



regards



Jim

Legacy Support
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:22 pm

Postby Legacy Support » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:31 pm

Hi Jim, Nick,



Haven't forgotten you, the guys are going to have a look as soon as they can and assist you.



John


PIO767
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:47 pm

Postby PIO767 » Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:11 am

hola, me too have the same problems as nick and jim. Could you please assit us?


nicks
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:53 pm

Postby nicks » Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:11 pm

Hi John,



What have you found out?



Can you give us a fix date?



Thanks


Legacy Support
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:22 pm

Postby Legacy Support » Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:21 pm

Not yet.

beatle
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:34 pm

Postby beatle » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:32 pm

Hey Guys,



Sorry it's taken so long to look into this, got caught up in some stuff for the upcoming release.



So, I'm digging into this now, should have an update for you all in another day or two.



Tim

User avatar
jimcooper1
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Postby jimcooper1 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:26 am

Tim,



many thanks. Just about to go on 2 weeks vacation. Won't have access to Prepar3D but looking forward to getting stuck in to multi-channel systems on my return!!!



regards



Jim

beatle
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:34 pm

Postby beatle » Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:46 am

Hey Guys,



I've had success with the simplest case so far. Here are the files I'm using:



c:\Users\USERALIAS\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3d\SimIG.XML:



Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<SimBase.Document Type="AceXML" version="1.0" id="SimIG">

<Filename>SimIG.xml</Filename>

<SimIG.MasterView>
<ViewOriginID>1</ViewOriginID>
<HorizontalFOV>90</HorizontalFOV>
<VerticalFOV>90</VerticalFOV>
</SimIG.MasterView>

<SimIG.SlaveSetup>
<NamePrefix>IGSlave</NamePrefix>
<ViewOriginID>1</ViewOriginID>
<GridSpan>2, 2</GridSpan>
<SpanType>EQUAL_ANGLE</SpanType>
</SimIG.SlaveSetup>

</SimBase.Document>




IGMaster.cfg:



Code:

[MULTIPLAYER]
AutoSignOn=1
AutoStart=2
AccountLogin=0
LanUsername=IGMaster
GameName="IGMaster Game"
GameDescription="This game is hosted by IGMaster"
GamePassword=""
MaxPlayers=64
AllowChangeLocation=1
AllowHostPauseSession=1
AllowSharedAircraft=1
JoinWherever=1
JoinInAir=1
EnableShare=1
PasswordForSharingAircraft=""
WeatherString="Weather Theme: Fair Weather"
TimeToStart=0
ConnectionLostTimeOut=600
IGSyncRate=30
IGEnable=1






IGSlave0.cfg:



Code:

[MULTIPLAYER]
AutoStart=1
AutoSignOn=1
AccountLogin=0
AutoStartHostId=IGMaster
AutoStartJoinAircraft=IGMaster
LanUsername=IGSlave0
ClientEnableVoice=0
InMyCountry=0




IGSlave1.cfg:



Code:

[MULTIPLAYER]
AutoStart=1
AutoSignOn=1
AccountLogin=0
AutoStartHostId=IGMaster
AutoStartJoinAircraft=IGMaster
LanUsername=IGSlave1
ClientEnableVoice=0
InMyCountry=0




IGSlave2.cfg:



Code:

[MULTIPLAYER]
AutoStart=1
AutoSignOn=1
AccountLogin=0
AutoStartHostId=IGMaster
AutoStartJoinAircraft=IGMaster
LanUsername=IGSlave2
ClientEnableVoice=0
InMyCountry=0




IGSlave3.cfg:



Code:

[MULTIPLAYER]
AutoStart=1
AutoSignOn=1
AccountLogin=0
AutoStartHostId=IGMaster
AutoStartJoinAircraft=IGMaster
LanUsername=IGSlave3
ClientEnableVoice=0
InMyCountry=0




Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests