P3D Question

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
aswarola8

P3D Question

Postby aswarola8 » Sat Sep 19, 2020 8:13 am

I apologize if this has been asked before but I couldn't find anything.

I've had FSX since it came out, and I have probably upwards of nearly $2,000 invested in it with all of the upgrades and aircraft I've purchased. I have a few questions about P3D:

Does it run better than FSX, I mean it's basically the same platform right so does it run better? With all of my addons, I'm running it on an AMD 8350 based system with a GTX1080 card and 32gb's of DDR3 1600mhz of memory. I can run at almost max setting for most places unless you get into a really congested area like Seattle & New York City then of course my frame rates get a bit choppy. Just wondering if I'd be able to run better in P3D.

Will my addons that I've already paid for work in it, or will I have to rebuy pretty much everything for it? I have almost all of the FTX Scenery & addons including global vector & aero as well as Mesh 2010. I also have REX and then there's all of the aircraft. I'm just wondering how much of this would work with P3D if any at all.

Any guidance would be appreciated and again I'm sorry if this has been asked before. Just remove if so. I know XP11 is an option, but then I know I have to buy all new add-ons, I'd like to save some money and re-use some things I already have if it's possible.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D Question

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:42 am

The good news first:

Your system will run P3D, including v. 5, very well. Be sure to have your Windows 10 and your graphics drivers updated is all.

Now for the somewhat worse news:

Do not - repeat not - expect your FSX add-ons to work in P3D, in any version, especially the later versions like v. 5. Some may work, but the majority will probably not work.

But good news within the worse news: some manufacturers provide new P3D versions for free or for a reduced charge if you already own the FSX equivalent.

That's about as close as your questions can be answered at this point.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:44 am

FSX?

Testing for Spam post, no links to other products or Off-topic.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Simon B
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:13 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Simon B » Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:55 am

I have recently made the jump from FSX to P3D and I jumped straight in at version 5.

I already had ORBX products and REX products for FSX and these have been upgraded (or are in the process of doing so) to P3D versions for free.

I also have UK2000 Volumes 1-3 and use FreeMeshX and can confirm they work well with version 5.

I also use Traffic Global for ai Again used in fsx.

So yes most stuff shouldn't cost to port over to P3D.

You also get great add-ons that will ONLY work with P3D like AIG, MAIW Matrix, and so on to look forward to.

Regards.

Simon B.
Coffee Lake i7-9700K OC @ 5Ghz, ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-F Gaming MB, 16GB 3200Mhz Corsair DDR4 CL16 RAM, Cool Master Hyper Cooler, 2XSSD, 3xHDD, GTX1060 3Gb.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D Question

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:39 pm

V. 5 is not an update for v. 4, but a new version and a new purchase.

One change is that where v. 4 uses DX11, v. 5 uses DX12.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 19, 2020 7:15 pm

Is the tiny print
in the last signature block by aswarola8
Spam ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D Question

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:55 am

No.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 9:52 am

I think it is.

Have you read it?

Is it a normal signature?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D Question

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Sep 20, 2020 10:22 am

The message is the only important part. That was not spam.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 10:34 am

my questions were not answered.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D Question

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:36 pm

This:

"The message is the only important part. That was not spam."

Implies, if you took the time to read and understand it, that I read the message. That is the part that needed answering, and I answered it.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:06 pm

IMO, the entire posted content is important.

The signature is not normal and I called it SPAM.
Which was simply a new location for it as I see it.

I know about the body text (in OPs self quoted topics in other posts that you have replied to) as having a linked SPAN problem.

I have mentioned it in many posts on the forum.
Testing for Spam post, no links to other products or Off-topic.

You are welcome to restrict the SPAM problem to the to quoted body text if you want to.

I am simply looking for the behavior in other areas as well.

Just waiting for a reply from the Op here.

Note:
This topic :P3D Question
was previously posted in another forum area recently, got replies and was removed. It was Spammed in the body text on a reply from the OP spammer.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D Question

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:41 pm

The message is the only important part. That was not spam.

Jorgen
The post with the spam signature block was removed.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 41 guests