Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 2:28 pm

OK so I last posted in May with no reply from anyone.
So lets start again
I have a Saitech yoke with attached (via cable)throttle quadrant and rudder pedals.
I also have a Logitech Extreme 3D pro joystick. If I use the joystick everything works perfectly.
If i then connect the yoke with throttle quadrant (the only way I can to use the throttle)and rudder pedals
to my PC while keeping the joystick attached the rudder pedals do not work. The twist (rudder) on the joystick also
does not work

JorgenSA
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Sep 03, 2020 2:46 pm

If I remember correctly, Saitek has now been taken over by Logitech.

Have you tried to contact Saitek/Logitech support about this? It could seem that there's some sort of conflict between the yoke/throttle and the joystick.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Thu Sep 03, 2020 4:41 pm

OK so I last posted in May with no reply from anyone.
So lets start again
I have a Saitech yoke with attached (via cable)throttle quadrant and rudder pedals.
I also have a Logitech Extreme 3D pro joystick. If I use the joystick everything works perfectly.
If i then connect the yoke with throttle quadrant (the only way I can to use the throttle)and rudder pedals
to my PC while keeping the joystick attached the rudder pedals do not work. The twist (rudder) on the joystick also
does not work
Can you link the post with no reply?
Which P3Dv4 version xxx are you using?

I have P3Dv4.5HF3

I have Saitek yoke, with two throttle quads, CH pedals, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog throttle and Joystick all connected all the time (FSUIPC for assignments / calibration) and all working.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 5:33 am

Hi Jorgen

I am currently in communication with them

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 5:48 am

Hi Vaughan

It would appear to be version 4.5.14.34698

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 5&t=136450

APOLOGIES Vaughn did respond to my May post only just saw it

Regards

TJ

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:33 am

Hi Vaughan

It would appear to be version 4.5.14.34698

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 5&t=136450

APOLOGIES Vaughn did respond to my May post only just saw it

Regards

TJ
@ 3221807,

In that linked post (which you never replied to):

I had asked:
"You mention rudder pedals and joystick "twist" rudders."
Are both currently installed on your setup?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:49 pm

Hi

ok the throttle quadrant is connected to the joke which in turn is connected via USB to the PC
I then connect the joystick also via USB port to the PC this is when the rudder does not work.
I hope that clears it up.
Regards
TJ

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:16 pm

Hi

ok the throttle quadrant is connected to the joke which in turn is connected via USB to the PC
I then connect the joystick also via USB port to the PC this is when the rudder does not work.
I hope that clears it up.
Regards
TJ
@ 3221807 ,

"ok the throttle quadrant is connected to the joke"

I think you mean "Yoke" ?

I do not do that.

Those ports are not powered USB ports on my setup.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 9:06 am

My throttle quadrant does not have a USB connector. It has a 5 pin male adapter similar to an AT keyboard adapter that connects directly to the YOKE.

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:34 am

@ 3221807 ,

I left out information from your first post when I did copy/paste in the reply.

"ok the throttle quadrant is connected to the joke"
“I have a Saitech yoke with attached (via cable)throttle quadrant and rudder pedals.”

I thought you were attaching rudder pedals to the Yoke USB port.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:39 am

I have tried attaching the rudder pedals to a USB port on the yoke and alternatively attaching the rudder pedals directly to the PC unfortunately with the same results each time.

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:55 am

I have tried attaching the rudder pedals to a USB port on the yoke and alternatively attaching the rudder pedals directly to the PC unfortunately with the same results each time.
@ 3221807 ,

"I have tried attaching the rudder pedals to a USB port on the yoke"
That is what I figured you had done. I do not do that.

What is your current USB cable routing for all devices ?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:42 am

Throttle to yoke
Yoke to USB port on PC
Rudder pedals to USB port on PC
Joystick to USB port on PC

Martyson
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:17 am

Throttle to yoke
Yoke to USB port on PC
Rudder pedals to USB port on PC
Joystick to USB port on PC
@ 3221807 ,

If you disconnect the Joystick, reboot PC, start P3D, load the default P3D flight, without making any changes.
Test while on the ground.
Does that work?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

3221807
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: Saitech and P3Dv4.5

Postby 3221807 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 12:23 pm

I did as you suggested.
rudder pedals work while on the ground.
If I apply rudder once airborne the yaw motion starts but the rudder then starts jerking between neutral and full rudder. This does not happen when using the twist motion on the joystick.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests