Hardware question before buying

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
federicoangelino
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:27 pm

Hardware question before buying

Postby federicoangelino » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:43 am

Hello everyone.

I’ve decided to move from P3D v4.5 HF3 to P3D v5 (although waiting for the HF2 to come before buying).

But, before buying, I also need your help to understand if P3D v5 will work with my system.

Let’s begin saying that P3D v4.5 HF3 is working smoothly, all sliders set to middle, ASP3D, ORBX base and EuropeLC, at airports like Aerosoft EGLL with FSLABS A320 I’m running at 28 to 34 FPS, airborne is pretty much the same (unlimited FPS), with an average CPU load of 60% and GPU load of 40%, RAM memory load of 9 to 10 GB out of 16.

My system specs are:
Dell G5 15 5587 Laptop
Intel i7-8750H 2,20GHz 6-core, 9MB cache up to 4,1GHz w/ Turbo Boost
16GB RAM (2x8 DDR4 2666MHz
Intel UHD graphics 630
NVIDIA GTX 1060 with Max-Q design 6GB GDDR5

Assume using P3D V5 with the same settings as mine now with the same addons, will I still have decent performance?

Thanks in advance for helping me.

Cheers,
Federico

JorgenSA
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Hardware question before buying

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:46 am

Federico,

I am sorry to say that with this CPU: Intel i7-8750H 2,20GHz, the computer is below the minimum specifications for v. 5, which you can find here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/system-requirements/

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

federicoangelino
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: Hardware question before buying

Postby federicoangelino » Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:49 am

Thanks Jorgen, that’s why I’ve asked. My only doubt is: even with the turbo boost?

Cheers,
Federico

JorgenSA
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Hardware question before buying

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Jun 09, 2020 10:00 am

Then the CPU would have to be able to maintain turbo boost forever, which it is not designed for.

What is meant in the specifications is the base clock rate of the CPU.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

federicoangelino
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:27 pm

Re: Hardware question before buying

Postby federicoangelino » Tue Jun 09, 2020 10:18 am

Thanks again Jorgen. Absolutely reasonable. Will need to invest soon in a new rig ;)

Cheers,
Federico


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stukapt and 11 guests