P3Dv5 Crashing

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Bill Gradwell
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Bill Gradwell » Wed May 20, 2020 7:38 pm

Hello Support

I have also the DIGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG error on my P3Dv5 setup running on Nvidia 1060 6G card with i5 2700K cpu 16 meg Memory on 3x 27inch monitors using nVidia Surround

No issues with same airport Mega Frankfurt flying 747-8 when on P3Dv4.5

On the P3Dv5 crashes at different stages with the Digi Error and lately error dedicated graphics memory run out when trying Retry to reclaim memory P3D crashes and get faulting module nvwg2umx.dll whatever that means

Running latest version of P3Dv5 Hot Fix and the nVidia drivers are the latest. MS updates all done

Any ideas of the fix - running sliders very much as recommended by Lockheed

To repeat no problems with 4.5 using same configurations

Thanks Bill

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Martyson » Wed May 20, 2020 7:57 pm

Bill,

Have you tested with the default P3D aircraft at default scenery?

I looked for i5 2700K cpu but did not find it?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Bill Gradwell » Wed May 20, 2020 8:49 pm

Hello Martyson

Sorry - CPU is i5-6600K running at 3.5GHz

No have not tried P3Dv5 default aircraft as yet

Thanks Bill

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Bill Gradwell » Wed May 20, 2020 8:51 pm

.... and the pundents say my nVidia 1060 6G card is DX-12 compatible

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Martyson » Thu May 21, 2020 9:56 am

Hello Martyson

Sorry - CPU is i5-6600K running at 3.5GHz

No have not tried P3Dv5 default aircraft as yet

Thanks Bill
Ok, no rush, whenever you get a chance.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby Bill Gradwell » Sat May 23, 2020 5:16 pm

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: nvwgf2umx.dll, version: 26.21.14.4587, time stamp: 0x5e879c8b
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000004c72fa
Faulting process id: 0xc8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6311f0425d647
Faulting application path: I:\P3D5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_95bdb3a23d6478de\nvwgf2umx.dll
Report Id: cc7ac596-f53d-4b72-869e-73cf041af215
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Hello Martyson

Here is a copy of the Error in the event viewer - when the system crashes with DIGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG
Have done a sfc /scannow to check and this does not pick up any issue in the operating software (windows 10)

Thanks and Stay Safe Bill Gradwell

User avatar
utexgrad
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby utexgrad » Sat May 23, 2020 5:46 pm

If it adds any additional data points, I am seeing the same issue, particularly in VR. I am using a non-tweaked .cfg file and have my graphics settings (low autogen, no water, 2X anti-aliasing, 2048 textures, etc.) dialed down so I could eliminate VRAM overloading as the issue. It is definitely more prevalent in higher detailed areas (ORBX areas, Seattle City X, etc.), but does also occur in stock or photoscenery (Megascenery Earth) areas.

I have a 1080-Ti with 11gig VRAM. No overclocking was performed and all NVIDIA settings were at their defaults except for Power Management Mode, which was set to "prefer maximum performance." CPU is an i7-8700.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.25.28508.3, time stamp: 0x5e155520
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0xf94
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6302889cc522a
Faulting application path: L:\My Programs\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 4791cf7a-53cd-47d3-bd43-e77763b9812f
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

And another one:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.24.34874, time stamp: 0x5eab3677
Faulting module name: VirtualReality.dll, version: 3.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5eab376d
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000000006367
Faulting process id: 0x22e0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6312683259db9
Faulting application path: L:\My Programs\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: L:\My Programs\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\VirtualReality.dll
Report Id: 6dc03248-b6fd-4230-ae0a-4298be688c62
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

malcedge60
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:05 pm

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby malcedge60 » Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:43 pm

I have the same issue with an all AMD setup RX5700XT 8GB and Ryzen 7 3700x processor 32GB ram on an X570 chipset since i upgraded to the new build of windows(2004) this morning. Using default aircraft at default airport crashes with that message as soon as the throttle pushed forward.

ZogCapt10
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 4:55 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby ZogCapt10 » Fri Jun 05, 2020 5:05 am

Also having DXGI hung device error re my rtx2080 since installing Carenado aircraft with p3d v5 compatibility patch. p3d v5 then crashes or sometimes allows me to close the program having informed me of the DXGI hung device. tried roling back to an earlier Nvidia driver, still the same deal. Frustrating. Was working perfectly prior to 3rd party aircraft install.

BMW969
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby BMW969 » Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:44 am

It crashes without warning. P3Dv5 is designed for default aircraft for now.

MrWinG
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:56 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby MrWinG » Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:13 pm

I have the same issue with an all AMD setup RX5700XT 8GB and Ryzen 7 3700x processor 32GB ram on an X570 chipset since i upgraded to the new build of windows(2004) this morning. Using default aircraft at default airport crashes with that message as soon as the throttle pushed forward.
I have a similiar setup (RX 5700XT and AMD Ryzen 7 3800X) crash report tells me the same, one user adviced me to wait for AMD updates (as always)....
Seems to be a problem by P3D v5....
I'm done with, "your setup is the prob...." every game workes P3D v5 does not... it is a programming problem by P3D not a software or hardware problems of us users imo....


Let me know if you have solved the prob, and how... ;)
System: Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro, AMD Ryzen 7 3800X, Corsair Venegeance RGB PRO 64GB (at 3200 MHz), Sapphire Nitro special Edition RX 5700 XT, BENQ EX3203R 31,5 Zoll WQHD + AOC 24" 144Hz.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:47 pm

Well, as you can see I have a nVidia card that only just meets the minimum specifications.

How come then I can fly around fine?

So it is NOT a P3D issue. It is an AMD issue, and that has been acknowledged by AMD. They are working on it.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

MrWinG
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:56 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby MrWinG » Fri Jun 19, 2020 6:13 pm

Well, as you can see I have a nVidia card that only just meets the minimum specifications.

How come then I can fly around fine?

So it is NOT a P3D issue. It is an AMD issue, and that has been acknowledged by AMD. They are working on it.

Jorgen
Because you use older Hardware....
System: Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro, AMD Ryzen 7 3800X, Corsair Venegeance RGB PRO 64GB (at 3200 MHz), Sapphire Nitro special Edition RX 5700 XT, BENQ EX3203R 31,5 Zoll WQHD + AOC 24" 144Hz.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Jun 19, 2020 6:37 pm

The point apparently sailed right over your head... it works.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

MrWinG
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:56 am

Re: P3Dv5 Crashing

Postby MrWinG » Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:49 pm

The point apparently sailed right over your head... it works.

Jorgen
I don’t want to offend you, but the prob. is not sticking with AMD cards alone!
It's reported with AMD and Nvidia Cards.

For trouble shooting I put in a 2080 Ti and the same thing happened...

I'm not a fanboy, and I will buy the 3000 series of Nvidia for sure :D but imo, it seems to be a prob by P3D, every other game runs smoothly on the PC, P3D v5 is not... so the argument that my AMD Hardware is the prob seems not differentiated... sry, guy's like us (with problems with the sim) seek for help...
To say, keep waiting is no help at all or to say, by Nvidia... I think we both agree on this....
System: Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro, AMD Ryzen 7 3800X, Corsair Venegeance RGB PRO 64GB (at 3200 MHz), Sapphire Nitro special Edition RX 5700 XT, BENQ EX3203R 31,5 Zoll WQHD + AOC 24" 144Hz.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests