DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Thu Aug 13, 2020 3:20 pm

Ross,

My post was for your information on what I used and my setup for this test.

I do from time to time change P3D options.

I mentioned:
“I did use the P3Dv5 Flashlight to look around the cockpit at nighttime (P3Dv5)”
That was just to let you know I was using another light source in the VC cockpit during testing.

Note: When I enter a totally cold and dark cockpit at nighttime I have to use the P3Dv5 Flashlight option to start setting up (Bat On etc) preflight.

How do you manage getting around a totally cold and dark cockpit at nighttime?



“No HDR why no HDR?”
Never found good settings so I have not re-tested or used it for for a long time now.



“I want to know why systems with 2070 Supers can run higher settings and not have DXGI”
I do not know about that card.

“ I use Navigraph Simlink for my charts on my iPad-not on the PC and simtoolkit pro-I have disabled each during testing and still get the DXGI”

I do not use these during a flight.
While you are testing a landing lights / DXGI problem IMO it would be best to not be doing anything on-line.

“I just installed the 747-400 And 737ngxu the other day, this happens in any addon and sometimes the default aircraft”
Well, I would not expect to see the landing lights DXGI problem with the default F35A. That needs a good look at.


“RTX 2080 Super (EVGA Black version) 8GB”
8GB might be right on the edge or too much for it at times.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 5:55 pm

Ross,

My post was for your information on what I used and my setup for this test.

I do from time to time change P3D options.

I mentioned:
“I did use the P3Dv5 Flashlight to look around the cockpit at nighttime (P3Dv5)”
That was just to let you know I was using another light source in the VC cockpit during testing.

Note: When I enter a totally cold and dark cockpit at nighttime I have to use the P3Dv5 Flashlight option to start setting up (Bat On etc) preflight.

How do you manage getting around a totally cold and dark cockpit at nighttime?



“No HDR why no HDR?”
Never found good settings so I have not re-tested or used it for for a long time now.



“I want to know why systems with 2070 Supers can run higher settings and not have DXGI”
I do not know about that card.

“ I use Navigraph Simlink for my charts on my iPad-not on the PC and simtoolkit pro-I have disabled each during testing and still get the DXGI”

I do not use these during a flight.
While you are testing a landing lights / DXGI problem IMO it would be best to not be doing anything on-line.

“I just installed the 747-400 And 737ngxu the other day, this happens in any addon and sometimes the default aircraft”
Well, I would not expect to see the landing lights DXGI problem with the default F35A. That needs a good look at.


“RTX 2080 Super (EVGA Black version) 8GB”
8GB might be right on the edge or too much for it at times.

Update here: After a few DXGIs in PMDG aircraft, I’ve disabled HDR and with the following running (offline) I was able to do some takeoff/landings at night!
ASP3D Beta 8, Simtoolkit Pro, Navigraph simlink, Chaseplane

PMDG 747-400 BA FlyTampa KBOS-KBOS at night, Dynamic lighting on-HDR off
with the same settings
PMDG 737-700BW WN-KJFK-KLGA (Drz Design airports plus city) for the expressway visual including a go around over DD NYC cityscape.
I’m going to attempt to reinstall the FSLabs after a few more tests and see what develops.

I greatly appreciate the help Vaughn, I’ll keep you posted. I’m seriously hoping the HDR was the right thing to shut down although I’d really like to get it back come 5.1

- I had HDR on but bloom down to minimums prior to today’s testing.
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:30 pm

Update on the testing

-Loaded up fully in the PMDG 737NGXu (737-700BW SWA)
-Location was FT KBOS with ASP3D, Simtoolkit Pro, Chaseplane, Latest vpilot and updated AIRAC
-Settings were EA off, HDR off, dynamic lighting on
-I set sim time to dusk
-Prepped the flight In the cockpit no issues-even swapped to wing view once or twice accidentally (CP hot corner)
-Had live ATC thru vatsim (vpilot latest) got clearance
-Attempted to switch to external view to prep for taxi
-DXGI device hung

Information is below

Fault bucket 1530150248942785361, type 5
Event Name: D3DDRED2
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: VEN_10DE
P2: 27.21.14.5167
P3: 0x887A0006
P4: 3
P5: Prepar3D.exe
P6: 5.0.31.35253
P7:
P8:
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80B6.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80C7.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80D5.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER80E5.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\NonCritical_VEN_10DE_467eb7a3e435afe4426e3662acb37d2d4436767_00000000_caa78150-a8ad-4994-b67d-f656d8363793

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: caa78150-a8ad-4994-b67d-f656d8363793
Report Status: 268435456
Hashed bucket: 2c0722594a89f3adc53c2f8b5935d351
Cab Guid: 0


Then Within 2 seconds

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: LiveKernelEvent
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: 141
P2: ffffba8d0a190010
P3: fffff8044a9eb668
P4: 0
P5: 1da8
P6: 10_0_19041
P7: 0_0
P8: 768_1
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\LiveKernelReports\WATCHDOG\WATCHDOG-20200813-1522.dmp
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\WER-1802453-0.sysdata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89DD.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89EE.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89EF.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89FF.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Kernel_141_ebb6523eb445b335d9b5568921a3a678c0daa4e0_00000000_77da2342-57c4-44f1-9d7c-f7b7e717791a

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: 77da2342-57c4-44f1-9d7c-f7b7e717791a
Report Status: 4
Hashed bucket:
Cab Guid: 0

And this at the same time


Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: LiveKernelEvent
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: 141
P2: ffffba8d0a190010
P3: fffff8044a9eb668
P4: 0
P5: 1da8
P6: 10_0_19041
P7: 0_0
P8: 768_1
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\LiveKernelReports\WATCHDOG\WATCHDOG-20200813-1522.dmp
\\?\C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\WER-1802453-0.sysdata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89DD.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89EE.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89EF.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER89FF.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\Kernel_141_ebb6523eb445b335d9b5568921a3a678c0daa4e0_00000000_cab_77da2342-57c4-44f1-9d7c-f7b7e717791a

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: 77da2342-57c4-44f1-9d7c-f7b7e717791a
Report Status: 2049
Hashed bucket:
Cab Guid: 0
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:36 am

Update 2:
After the last crash:

-Flew KLGA-KBOS at dusk
-on vatsim with plenty of traffic,
-Settings EA off/HDR off/Dynamic lighting on/Landing lights illuminate/lens flare off
-Also ran Simtoolkit Pro and ActiveSky P3D Beta 8 along w navigraph simlink for charts

-After this flight I said screw it and reinstalled the FSL A320
-Got an initial DXGI on a view switch at the gate in the A320
-Reset, flew KBOS-KDCA at night with the above Settings and utility programs running (iirc I may have disabled MSI afterburner-not 100% on that)
-Landed KDCA-best landing ( by VS ) in a while lol
-Did a chaseplane replay and had my own “miracle on the Potomac” moment because I didn’t end the replay properly

Hoping to do a long haul in the PMDG 744/748 here in the next day or so-figuring 10 hours to VHHX hopefully. Will keep reporting back. This is most definitely a view switch/lighting issue of sorts. I can’t figure it out if it’s P3D or what
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

JorgenSA
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Aug 14, 2020 7:41 am

Ross,

In short:

Your basic hardware and system software looks very much OK - latest Windows, drivers etc. But:

1. Suspect add-on aircraft: FSLabs and PMDG.

2. Other suspect software: ASP3D (beta!), Chaseplane.

If you get errors again, then we need the information from Windows Event Viewer, like this:

Note the time when the error happened. Then right-click on your Windows button and select Event Viewer. Click on the arrow to the left of Windows logs. Select Application. Scroll to the time when the error happened, and look through the entries until you see a "Faulting module". Copy all the error information and post it here, together with a description of the crash circumstances.

The Event Viewer is the "Black Box" of P3D crashes and very important.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 14, 2020 10:02 am

Ross,

You mentioned:
“Hoping to do a long haul in the PMDG 744/748 here in the next day or so-figuring 10 hours to VHHX hopefully.
Will keep reporting back. This is most definitely a view switch/lighting issue of sorts.
I can’t figure it out if it’s P3D or what”

Sounds good.
You have had some positive results.
I am also testing PMDG 737NGXu / 747-400/ 747-8 and other payware aircraft on night flights to see what happens.

Maybe you could also do one shorter night flight in any of the default P3D aircraft without :
P3D ATC, On-Line ATC, Add-ons running (ActiveSky beta/chaseplane/payware airports / diag software / Navigraph etc) / basically like the previous test flight I did and reported on.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Fri Aug 14, 2020 12:48 pm

Ross,

You mentioned:
“Hoping to do a long haul in the PMDG 744/748 here in the next day or so-figuring 10 hours to VHHX hopefully.
Will keep reporting back. This is most definitely a view switch/lighting issue of sorts.
I can’t figure it out if it’s P3D or what”

Sounds good.
You have had some positive results.
I am also testing PMDG 737NGXu / 747-400/ 747-8 and other payware aircraft on night flights to see what happens.

Maybe you could also do one shorter night flight in any of the default P3D aircraft without :
P3D ATC, On-Line ATC, Add-ons running (ActiveSky beta/chaseplane/payware airports / diag software / Navigraph etc) / basically like the previous test flight I did and reported on.
I did do this-at Flytampa KLAS in the F35B and did some yanking and banking along with some hovering around at dusk. (Albeit with ActiveSky running)
Not an issue to report. Did a couple of pedal turns, some hovering, flew over the strip. Vram was at roughly 3.1 to 3.5 out of 7.1GB
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:52 pm

Ross,

You mentioned:
“Hoping to do a long haul in the PMDG 744/748 here in the next day or so-figuring 10 hours to VHHX hopefully.
Will keep reporting back. This is most definitely a view switch/lighting issue of sorts.
I can’t figure it out if it’s P3D or what”

Sounds good.
You have had some positive results.
I am also testing PMDG 737NGXu / 747-400/ 747-8 and other payware aircraft on night flights to see what happens.

Maybe you could also do one shorter night flight in any of the default P3D aircraft without :
P3D ATC, On-Line ATC, Add-ons running (ActiveSky beta/chaseplane/payware airports / diag software / Navigraph etc) / basically like the previous test flight I did and reported on.
I did do this-at Flytampa KLAS in the F35B and did some yanking and banking along with some hovering around at dusk. (Albeit with ActiveSky running)
Not an issue to report. Did a couple of pedal turns, some hovering, flew over the strip. Vram was at roughly 3.1 to 3.5 out of 7.1GB
Ross,
Glad to hear all was ok with the default P3D F35B test.

I tested FlyTampa KLAS
F35B, dusk
Vram 3.2 of 10GB
Vram hovering around the area 3.3 of 10GB
Add-on, just Ezdok.

No errors
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:04 am

Ross,

You mentioned:
“Hoping to do a long haul in the PMDG 744/748 here in the next day or so-figuring 10 hours to VHHX hopefully.
Will keep reporting back. This is most definitely a view switch/lighting issue of sorts.
I can’t figure it out if it’s P3D or what”

Sounds good.
You have had some positive results.
I am also testing PMDG 737NGXu / 747-400/ 747-8 and other payware aircraft on night flights to see what happens.

Maybe you could also do one shorter night flight in any of the default P3D aircraft without :
P3D ATC, On-Line ATC, Add-ons running (ActiveSky beta/chaseplane/payware airports / diag software / Navigraph etc) / basically like the previous test flight I did and reported on.
I did do this-at Flytampa KLAS in the F35B and did some yanking and banking along with some hovering around at dusk. (Albeit with ActiveSky running)
Not an issue to report. Did a couple of pedal turns, some hovering, flew over the strip. Vram was at roughly 3.1 to 3.5 out of 7.1GB
Ross,
Glad to hear all was ok with the default P3D F35B test.

I tested FlyTampa KLAS
F35B, dusk
Vram 3.2 of 10GB
Vram hovering around the area 3.3 of 10GB
Add-on, just Ezdok.

No errors
Flew FSLabs Roundtrip EGKK-LOWI on vatsim. No issue (daylight)
Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk

I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch
-I have HDR off
-VRAM before the DXGI crashes was 2.8-3.2/7.1
-KATL had bad thunderstorms
-My view switches were causing the crashes for sure. I’m airborne now-I swapped to daylight.

This is a long frame issue for sure. Only happens at night, but why did it not happen LAST night when I completed two flights at dusk/night and flew into a thunderstorm on one of them. Same aircraft
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 15, 2020 8:41 am

Ross,

You mentioned:
"Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk

I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch "

Does "swapped" mean you exited P3D, rebooted your PC and started a new flight?

Were the view changes via chaseplane or P3D?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:41 am

Ross,

You mentioned:
"Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk

I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch "

Does "swapped" mean you exited P3D, rebooted your PC and started a new flight?

Were the view changes via chaseplane or P3D?
-I restarted both my PC and P3D after the EGKK-LOWI round trip
-then loaded up at system time which was dusk at imaginesim KATL (airport PBR off/HDR off/dynamic lighting/landing lights on)
-the initial view switches were via chaseplane aircraft hotspots/mouse corners.
-I deleted those off the profile but I usually have no issue-even when I’ve flown at night like yesterday’s dusk and flights in the PMDG 737 and FSL A320
-My next view switch crash after deleting the chaseplane hotspots was using P3D.
-Even after deleting and turning some P3D settings down



-This is a P3D dawn/dusk/night/dynamic lighting type of issue because i can fly during the day without incident with EA on or off

-It cannot just be the addons because it happens across all of them and occasionally the F35 default scenario.

-My graphics card goes from anywhere between 2.8-4.5GB of RAM (I’ve seen max 5.2 with EA enabled) to DXGI_DEVICE_HUNG at night with a view switch-occasionally even without a view switch-could be just panning, could be airport lights shining into the windows on pushback.

There has got to be a fix for this somewhere whether it’s one or two settings from me, or if it’s deeper than that -maybe P3D v 5.1 Or even maybe a third hotfix.
I can’t be the only one experiencing these hangs
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:31 pm

Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?


You had mentioned:
“I restarted both my PC and P3D after the EGKK-LOWI round trip”

“Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk
I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch “


Should be easy to reproduce the same problem.
Can you try to reproduce it?


Note:
My initial thought was the PC was not re-booted before the failures and or e.g., the PMDG747 was loaded on top of another aircraft.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:20 pm

Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?


You had mentioned:
“I restarted both my PC and P3D after the EGKK-LOWI round trip”

“Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk
I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch “


Should be easy to reproduce the same problem.
Can you try to reproduce it?


Note:
My initial thought was the PC was not re-booted before the failures and or e.g., the PMDG747 was loaded on top of another aircraft.
I’ve just done some vatsim patterns in the PMDG 739ER KATL at dusk/night.
-I Had one initial crash, restarted P3D
-then I did SID->ILS/patterns with no issue

Set the ASP3D weather back to last nights thunderstorms-Prepped the whole flight, pushed back and switched views and got a DXGI

This is insane because I flew the FSLabs A320 at night into a thunderstorm Thursday night without incident. At KATL I couldn’t get off the ramp-or at the most I got halfway to the runway at night before having the seven DXGI errors.
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply

Martyson
Posts: 9680
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Hello Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?


You had mentioned:
“I restarted both my PC and P3D after the EGKK-LOWI round trip”

“Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk
I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch “


Should be easy to reproduce the same problem.
Can you try to reproduce it?


Note:
My initial thought was the PC was not re-booted before the failures and or e.g., the PMDG747 was loaded on top of another aircraft.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

FBWFTW
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:16 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby FBWFTW » Sat Aug 15, 2020 6:29 pm

Hello Ross,

Does FSL A320 make changes or special mods to any type of lighting (strobes, landing lights etc)?


You had mentioned:
“I restarted both my PC and P3D after the EGKK-LOWI round trip”

“Swapped to PMDG 739ER @KATL (imaginesim) at dusk
I had SEVEN crashes ALL on view switch “


Should be easy to reproduce the same problem.
Can you try to reproduce it?


Note:
My initial thought was the PC was not re-booted before the failures and or e.g., the PMDG747 was loaded on top of another aircraft.
Of course it’s Easy to reproduce! All the good aircraft don’t work at night in my sim and 2/4 times the F35 will crash.

I REPEAT this is ONLY A DUSK/DAWN OR NIGHT ISSUE

Almost every single time that it is night, dusk or dawn and/or with heavy weather at night, I will get a DXGI at some point on the ground-be it on view switch, on taxi out, on turning lights in ANY addon aircraft and view switching in the F35

I don’t mean to sound short, but you keep highlighting things and I’m going around in circles here instead of flying.

-I have successfully completed some night flights-how/why it works sometimes but mostly DXGI hangs I reallyI don’t know.

The GPU in an instant goes from 2.8-3.5/7.1 VRAM and maybe 60-70% load right to 100 and the device hangs. I’ve got GPU-Z logs of this I’d be happy to attach.
Ross McDonagh
KBOS
i7 10700K
EVGA RTX 2080 Super Black 8GB
32GB RAM @ 3200mhz
1TB M.2 NVMe
750W power supply


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests