Page 1 of 1

P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:36 am
by Britjet1
I have a strange one - individual menu items will flicker occasionally, the top items as well as the “right click” items.
One or more (eg just the OPTIONS, for example) will flicker slightly, just for a fraction of a second, then another one will do the same.. I have this in two separate systems, both I7, one with a GTX 2080Ti, and the other with a 1080Ti. 32Gb of RAM - latest NVIDIA drivers.
There are no other installations - this us with a “Vanilla” setup.

Both P3D instances have been fully uninstalled and reinstalled. The problem persists..I’m stumped...:-)
Peter.

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:51 pm
by AleDP
Same here. Have you heared about a solution for this?

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:10 pm
by Britjet1
No - but Interesting it’s not just me. It doesn’t seem to affect the sim otherwise..
I haven’t heard of a fix..
Peter.

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:13 pm
by Rob McCarthy
Hello,

Thanks for the reports. We're aware of this issue and investigating the cause.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:28 am
by Britjet1
Thank you Rob..
Peter.

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 12:26 pm
by Britjet1
Just FYI the menus still flicker after the Hotfix.
Peter.

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 12:49 pm
by Rob McCarthy
We're still investigating this one.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 1:51 pm
by Britjet1
Thanks..
Peter

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Mon May 04, 2020 6:12 pm
by ark1320
On my system I've determined the menu flicker rate is proportional to FPS.

When I have FPS locked at 30 in the sim I get the menu flicker about every 11.6 seconds. If I lock the FPS at 60 and use a default a/c so I can get about 60 FPS on average, the menu flickers about every 5.7 seconds. If I lock the FPS at 15, the menu flickers about every 22.8 seconds.

So if the actual FPS doubles, the flicker rate doubles; half the FPS and the flicker rate is half. I have VSYNC and TB off.

Do others see that the flicker rate is related to the actual (realized) FPS?

Thanks,
Al

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Fri May 08, 2020 9:46 pm
by JRBarrett
I have been seeing this since the RTM release, and it continues in HF1. It may well be related in some way to refresh rate.

I have tried running my system with Vsync on, triple buffering on and frame rate locked at 30 using the settings within the sim, and with those settings off in P3D, but enabled through the NVidia control panel (with internal frame rate set to unlimited in the latter case), and the flicker seems to be about the same.

It affects the menu bar in windowed mode - usually the text associated with one or more drop-down menus, but sometimes the entire menu bar. It also affects the red info gen text when displayed, and that text will still intermittently flicker even when the menu bar is hidden by pressing ALT.

Now that Active Sky is released for Version 5, it seems to be causing a similar momentary flicker in the displayed clouds, even when sitting motionless on the ground with no new weather being injected. Other than that, I don't recall seeing scenery itself flicker - just menus and other text.

GPU is a GTX1080Ti with 11 GB of VRAM.

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 10:12 pm
by ark1320
Has any progress been made on tracking down the cause of this flicker problem? Can we expect it to be fixed in the next Hot Fix?
Thx,
Al

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 8:45 am
by STAcademy
Hello,

I have a same problem, any news about solution?

Thank you
STA

Re: P3D menu items flickering

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:35 pm
by Martyson
Hello,

I have a same problem, any news about solution?

Thank you
STA
Which P3d product / version number?

A short video of the problem would be helpful.