Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
72westy
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby 72westy » Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:00 am

That's what I mean - tons of unconfirmed rumors, typical of Microsoft Vaporware.

The bottom line is that we do not know anything, including if this product actually will materialize!

Whatever the product may be, or how good it may be IF it materializes, streaming content/scenery and monthly fees is something I will not deal with. So sorry, Microsoft is not going to have a pipeline into MY wallet, and determine what I should see on MY computer.

Jorgen
It will materialize. No need to stretch it that far.

There will also be (3) means of running the sim. One will include those who have no internet connection.
Windows10Pro 1909 Build 18363.535/Corei7-3770K/GigabyteGA-Z68XP-UD3/GSkill32GBDDR3CL7-8-8-24/AsusRX570 OC4GB/19.12.3-drivers/SoundBlasterXfiXGamer/1TBCrucialMX500SSD/1TBRAWMushkinSSD/1TBHitachi/1TBWDBlack/LGBlueRayDL/RosewillChallengerTower/Antec650wPSU

Martyson
Posts: 8318
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby Martyson » Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:04 am

I have a mix of Add-ons (aircraft, scenery, avionics (like Garmin) for Xplane, P3D and FSX that are buggie/crashing with various problems that have not been updated / fixed for the past year.

Expect these (payware) Addons to be functional in the MSFS 2020?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

72westy
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 9:36 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby 72westy » Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:07 pm

I have a mix of Add-ons (aircraft, scenery, avionics (like Garmin) for Xplane, P3D and FSX that are buggie/crashing with various problems that have not been updated / fixed for the past year.

Expect these (payware) Addons to be functional in the MSFS 2020?
I'd say likely no.

It's an entirely new engine.
Windows10Pro 1909 Build 18363.535/Corei7-3770K/GigabyteGA-Z68XP-UD3/GSkill32GBDDR3CL7-8-8-24/AsusRX570 OC4GB/19.12.3-drivers/SoundBlasterXfiXGamer/1TBCrucialMX500SSD/1TBRAWMushkinSSD/1TBHitachi/1TBWDBlack/LGBlueRayDL/RosewillChallengerTower/Antec650wPSU

cirurgiao
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby cirurgiao » Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:37 pm

This was a post I should have read. I use my pc as a multitask plataform and decided to upgrade all my hardware and wrongly, using P3Dv4 as reference (and because I earned an inexpected money) I decided to make a huge upgrade buying Asus Prime X299 Deluxe+I9-10940X+GeForce RTX 2080TI+128GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 3000. Chris told me that if I had spent so much money just for simulation I did a very bad choice (which isn't my situation). Anyway just hope that someone can explain here with this hardware how I can get the best of it for P3Dv4. Tks
Eduardo Passos

JorgenSA
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:56 pm

Eduardo,

I would not say that you have made a bad choice, because you are going to get a very powerful computer here. So maybe some of the components are more expensive that they should have been (for simulation purposes), but overall this is going to be a very powerful system.

A couple of things: when you install P3D, then do not install it where the installer wants to put it in C:\Program Files, but put it in for example C:\P3D, or on another drive. This is to keep it away from User Account Control. And be selective when you purchase add-ons - look through the threads here to see which cause problems, and for which the users can get no help from the manufacturer.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

cirurgiao
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby cirurgiao » Fri Dec 27, 2019 3:21 pm

Tks again, Jorgen. Practically all my addons are very good and support is too. I use separate SSDs and install P3Dv4 in a non-C drive. The same goes to addons sceneries. My main issue is if should I do a complete reinstall of P3D or deactivating it and using the same drive. Since I have v4.5 (no updated to either HF1 or HF2) if i just deactivate client, upgrade my system, install client with HF2 won't be "worse" than a full install.
Eduardo Passos

JorgenSA
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Dec 27, 2019 3:32 pm

You outlined earlier that you were going to install Win 10 on this new system, and use your present drive with P3D and the same drive letter. Here is the sequence:

1. Deactivate P3D on the old system. Power it down. Now take all the P3D-related drives out if that system.

2. Install Win 10 on the new system. Update Win 10 until no more updates are available. Power down.

3. Install the P3D-related drives in the new system. Power up and check if the drives have retained their drive letters.

4. Install P3D over itself on the P3D drive - this is to get the new system's registry etc. updated correctly. Reboot.

5. Install the HF2 client. Reboot. Now activate, using your old license information.

6. Check if your add-ons are seen. If they are, then

7. ENJOY!!!

OK, other chaps - did I forget anything here?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

cirurgiao
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby cirurgiao » Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:56 pm

3) Since I'm a newbie (becoming better with all help I get from guys like you) would it be better to plug all P3D related drives one by one or all at once?
4) Do I install full v4.5 (no HF) over itself?
5) Then i uninstall client v4.5 and install just client v4.5_HF2?
Eduardo Passos

JorgenSA
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Dec 28, 2019 2:00 pm

Per

3. All at once

4. and 5. Yes to both

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

cirurgiao
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:17 pm

Re: Upgrade Current PC Components or Start Again?

Postby cirurgiao » Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:10 am

Tks
Eduardo Passos


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests