New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
Chassin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:34 pm

New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Postby Chassin » Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:27 pm

Hello Poppet,

Having partly recovered from a severe health crisis I seems that I might have been a little hasty with my last purchease from you, so this time I am seeking your advice before proceeding to place a new order.

This is the specification of my latest computer running Windows 10 64-bit...

I would ask for your opinion as to its suitability as I have had very favourable reports about P3D from a friend in Texas who used to work for the State Department and is now retired.

MEDION Erazer X67014 Intel i7 8700 Desktop PC [2019]

Windows 10 64-bit

CPU: Intel Core™ i7 8700 @ 3.2GHz – 4.6GHz Coffee Lake with 6 cores and 12 threads.

Intel Z370 motherboard chipset.

GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070 with 8GB GDDR5 VRAM video memory

RAM: 16GB DDR4 2400MHz

512GB Intel M.2 760p Solid State Drive 3,400MB/sec read speed
[This drive has a 150GB D:\ partition - prepared - for Flight Simulation]

2000GB HDD - 7,200 rev/min Toshiba
[All documents, music and videos have been moved to this slower - static data - drive]

PSU 450 Watts

Dual Layer CD/DVD-ReWriter

1x HDMI to HDMI
1x DVI-DL to HDMI
3x DisplayPort

Monitors: Two x 27" Samsung S27E330 60Hz @ 1ms 1920 x 1080 resolution.

WEI WinSPR Gaming Performance 9.9

MS Office Professional Plus
*************************************************************************************

Are there any limitations which I should know about and any improvements which I can make?

Many thanks,

Ian Chassin

AnkH
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Postby AnkH » Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:22 am

While the components of the Medion PC are perfectly suitable for P3D, although not high-end, there was a lot of rumours going on regarding exact this Medion PC build at least here in Europe. It seems that this 8700 is capped for a power target of 65W only, resulting in way lower clock speeds than it could actually reach. So I would look for another computer with similar components not from Medion...
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 1TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

Chassin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Postby Chassin » Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:49 pm

Thanks Chris,

Flying Concorde at Mach 2.04 CPU-Z shows the CPU running at 4289.51MHz

How does that compare with your hardware?

sma69
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:06 pm

Re: New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Postby sma69 » Thu May 02, 2019 8:06 pm

with that CPU ( capped or not, no matter ) and GTX 1070 I think that PSU is terribly a bad idea to put on a system like that! I have a laptop with an external GPU ( GTX 1070ti from ASUS - 1x 8 pin power supply required ) which I had to buy a PSU to supply this good boy, first I bought a VS450 from corsair which was fairly enough but I made an overkill and Upgraded the PSU to a 750 watts one from Cooler master .... For that Kind of system, you will atleast want a 600-650watts 80+ Gold Certified PSU. to answer the main question that system will anyway run P3D in a good condition but if the CPU is capped then no wonder, the performance will be capped at some point too!


Regards

Chassin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:34 pm

Re: New Computer Suitability For P3D v4.4 64-Bit

Postby Chassin » Fri May 03, 2019 5:45 am

You should try out HWiNFO64 as used by NASA to see what your power consumption is in reality...

https://www.hwinfo.com/

Otherwise comments can become purely ill informed speculation.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests