Keybord makes wrong action

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
DriverX
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:05 pm

Keybord makes wrong action

Postby DriverX » Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:09 pm

Dears,

i have following issue. Since a couple of days, my keyboard or lets say Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad, but i am pushing buttons like the arrows and Pos1, page up/down, end and so on, but Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad. Outside Prepar3d in Word for example, the keyboard does fully normal.

Is there any configuration in how Prepar3d is reading the keyboard.
I use the arrow buttons to move around. But once i push arrow up, Prepar3d thinks its Numpad (8) so it starts to pitch the machine down and its moving my view, so it does both actions. Pageup is like 9 pagedwon is like 3, pos1 is like 7 end is like 3 and so on.

Cheers
Pascal

ebolt
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:48 pm

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby ebolt » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:18 pm

Is your Num lock on or off? Do you have your keys correctly mapped in your simulator controls?
My Specs: i8-8700K, AMD z370 Pro4, GeForce GTX 1080, RAM 32GB, 1 TB Cruical P1, 1 TB SSD, Acer XF270H x2

DriverX
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby DriverX » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:38 am

The keys are 100% correctly mapped.

Numlock is on, but Numlock has nothing to do with the arrow keys nor the section of those 6 buttons above the arrows.

Bye

Pascal

Nona
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:18 pm

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby Nona » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:30 pm

Dears,

i have following issue. Since a couple of days, my keyboard or lets say Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad, but i am pushing buttons like the arrows and Pos1, page up/down, end and so on, but Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad. Outside Prepar3d in Word for example, the keyboard does fully normal.

Is there any configuration in how Prepar3d is reading the keyboard.
I use the arrow buttons to move around. But once i push arrow up, Prepar3d thinks its Numpad (8) so it starts to pitch the machine down and its moving my view, so it does both actions. Pageup is like 9 pagedwon is like 3, pos1 is like 7 end is like 3 and so on.

Cheers
Pascal
try syncing them
that is all i can think about
Sorry if i am no help.
Regards.

hotbso
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 9:01 am

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby hotbso » Tue May 21, 2019 9:16 am

Dears,

i have following issue. Since a couple of days, my keyboard or lets say Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad, but i am pushing buttons like the arrows and Pos1, page up/down, end and so on, but Prepar3d thinks i am pushing keys on the numpad. Outside Prepar3d in Word for example, the keyboard does fully normal.

Is there any configuration in how Prepar3d is reading the keyboard.
I use the arrow buttons to move around. But once i push arrow up, Prepar3d thinks its Numpad (8) so it starts to pitch the machine down and its moving my view, so it does both actions. Pageup is like 9 pagedwon is like 3, pos1 is like 7 end is like 3 and so on.

Cheers
Pascal
Since yesterday I have exactly the same problem. Did you resolve it?
- holger

DriverX
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby DriverX » Tue May 21, 2019 3:41 pm

No i wasnt able to solve it. I mapped different keys. Then a lot of work. Nobody was able to help here

part-time-punk
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:43 am

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby part-time-punk » Tue May 21, 2019 3:48 pm

Scroll Lock can affect the arrow keys.
https://support.office.com/en-us/articl ... abd5d256a2

Brad Shiver
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby Brad Shiver » Tue May 21, 2019 4:06 pm

Hello,

Are you seeing this issue both in Prepar3D and in the Controls UI? If you set a key assignment and press Up, what does it assign in the textbox? What does it assign if you press num 8?

-Brad

hotbso
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 9:01 am

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby hotbso » Tue May 21, 2019 4:23 pm

I noticed wrong behavior in the the sim and now in the Control UI the whole block left of the NumPad is decoded as Numpad, e.g. UpArrow is decoded as "8(NUMPAD)" and Pos1 is decoded as "7(NUMPAD)".

The numpad is decoded as n(NUMPAD).

I'm on 4.4 (can't go to 4.5 because Fslabs does not yet support HF1).
My keyboard is a Logitech K260, so old and nothing special.

hotbso
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 9:01 am

Re: Keybord makes wrong action

Postby hotbso » Wed May 22, 2019 5:48 pm

Problem is gone with V4.5 HF1 !


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests