P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Recently I've upgraded my GPU to an RX6900xt and I've noticed there are now a lot of artifacts on the terrain that look like aliasing and flickering in PBR cockpits, I've tried everything such as downgrading drivers (The earliest it could go) updating all software including windows different settings even going to a fresh install of windows with a completely vanilla install of windows and p3d but the issue still remains. (I have tried all the general debugging methods of course)

Here is a video showing the issue: https://youtu.be/baTLgxbPuws

My specs:
5900x
6900xt (21.5.1 Tried every available driver)
32gb DDR4 Ram
3440x1440 Monitor @144hz (also tried different refresh)
Windows 10 Pro Build 19042
P3Dv5.1 (Latest)

Addons (Not really necessary because with no addons the issue still persists):
Aerosoft A330
Chaseplane
Aerosoft Heathrow Pro
Last edited by vurplex on Sun May 16, 2021 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

I've also found someone else with the same exact issue also with an AMD card so that confirms this is a AMD specific issue: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeTCiNPsmX4
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

@ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 4:51 am @ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Same exact issue with the F-35A and at KRND (The flashing in the cockpit is specific to the A330 however the lines in the terrain are there in the default scenario) https://youtu.be/X46g1okveXE
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 5:08 am
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 4:51 am @ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Same exact issue with the F-35A and at KRND (The flashing in the cockpit is specific to the A330 however the lines in the terrain are there in the default scenario) https://youtu.be/X46g1okveXE
@ vurplex ,

Have you asked the A330 developer (Aerosoft) , their support forum?

I did not notice a problem in your very short video.

Why are you panning so quickly to demo a problem?

I do not have AMD so the question:
Should all AMD users be seeing the same problem?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 11:05 am
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 5:08 am
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 4:51 am @ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Same exact issue with the F-35A and at KRND (The flashing in the cockpit is specific to the A330 however the lines in the terrain are there in the default scenario) https://youtu.be/X46g1okveXE
@ vurplex ,

Have you asked the A330 developer (Aerosoft) , their support forum?

I did not notice a problem in your very short video.

Why are you panning so quickly to demo a problem?

I do not have AMD so the question:
Should all AMD users be seeing the same problem?
Essentially there are 2 problems, one flickering in PBR cockpits caused by dynamic reflections turned on (Doesn't happen when its off) and aerosoft has recommended to turn it off for now for AMD users. The second issue is when you have MSAA & SSAA above 2x (Could be specific to my resolution) the ground starts having random white lines strobing in the distance. I believe with at least AMD 6000 series users all have this problem since I've tried with a new install of both windows p3d and even using a separate pc with the AMD GPU. Here is a much clearer video showing the strobing lines, the effect seems to stop but as soon as there is motion (eg panning) or moving the aircraft the lines come back: https://youtu.be/cqjOkF8FaNk

I would think these are both hardware/engine specific issues, since aerosoft's fix for the flashing is to turn dynamic reflections off. And the lines go away with less Anti Aliasing not more which is strange.
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 5:08 am
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 4:51 am @ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Same exact issue with the F-35A and at KRND (The flashing in the cockpit is specific to the A330 however the lines in the terrain are there in the default scenario) https://youtu.be/X46g1okveXE
@ vurplex ,
I had another look at the default flight / video you did and my eyes are not seeing the problem.

Notes:
I do all initial testing with the P3D default flight and Clear Skies.
I also use Ezdok for panning.
Maybe a few AMD users will provide some additional information / videos on their setup in this topic.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 7:10 pm
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 5:08 am
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 4:51 am @ vurplex ,

Does this happen with the P3D default flight loaded [F-35A] at the default airport [KRND]?
Same exact issue with the F-35A and at KRND (The flashing in the cockpit is specific to the A330 however the lines in the terrain are there in the default scenario) https://youtu.be/X46g1okveXE
@ vurplex ,
I had another look at the default flight / video you did and my eyes are not seeing the problem.

Notes:
I do all initial testing with the P3D default flight and Clear Skies.
I also use Ezdok for panning.
Maybe a few AMD users will provide some additional information / videos on their setup in this topic.
Here is a clearer zoomed in video in the default scenario https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYBS9fqj8k4

It's a bit harder to see on youtube so use the highest quality and full screen.
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

@ vurplex ,

Have you tested , same default flight, without Chasepalne , without Add-ons?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

@Martyson

I've tested it with 0 addons on a completely fresh install of windows and p3d still the same issue.
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:49 pm @Martyson

I've tested it with 0 addons on a completely fresh install of windows and p3d still the same issue.

"3440x1440 Monitor @144hz (also tried different refresh)"
I wonder if a monitor that size / 144 Hz is an issue?
I have only two small 1080P's at 60Hz.

Other AMD users can comment here.

Also, are you using a second PC , a laptop or tablet(s)?

Do you have a spare 1080P monitor to use for a test?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:57 pm
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:49 pm @Martyson

I've tested it with 0 addons on a completely fresh install of windows and p3d still the same issue.

"3440x1440 Monitor @144hz (also tried different refresh)"
I wonder if a monitor that size / 144 Hz is an issue?
I have only two small 1080P's at 60Hz.

Other AMD users can comment here.

Also, are you using a second PC , a laptop or tablet(s)?
I've just tried a different screen, same issue also switching to 144, 60, 30hz no difference. Also lowering resolution and aspect ratio didn't help. It only happens when anti aliasing is above 2x on all types of resolutions and refresh rates
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:18 pm
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:57 pm
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:49 pm @Martyson

I've tested it with 0 addons on a completely fresh install of windows and p3d still the same issue.

"3440x1440 Monitor @144hz (also tried different refresh)"
I wonder if a monitor that size / 144 Hz is an issue?
I have only two small 1080P's at 60Hz.

Other AMD users can comment here.

Also, are you using a second PC , a laptop or tablet(s)?
I've just tried a different screen, same issue also switching to 144, 60, 30hz no difference. Also lowering resolution and aspect ratio didn't help. It only happens when anti aliasing is above 2x on all types of resolutions and refresh rates
@ vurplex,

Do you have a spare 1080P monitor to use for a test?

What do you normally use the Other large monitor for?

Also, are you using a second PC , a laptop or tablet(s)?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
vurplex
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 2:37 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by vurplex »

Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:20 pm
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:18 pm
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 8:57 pm


"3440x1440 Monitor @144hz (also tried different refresh)"
I wonder if a monitor that size / 144 Hz is an issue?
I have only two small 1080P's at 60Hz.

Other AMD users can comment here.

Also, are you using a second PC , a laptop or tablet(s)?
I've just tried a different screen, same issue also switching to 144, 60, 30hz no difference. Also lowering resolution and aspect ratio didn't help. It only happens when anti aliasing is above 2x on all types of resolutions and refresh rates
@ vurplex,

Do you have a spare 1080P monitor to use for a test?

What do you normally use the Other large monitor for?
I just used a spare 1080@60hz monitor for that test, I use my 3440x1400@144 as my main and only display for my simulator pc.
AMD 5900x, 32gb@3600MHz ram, Sapphire Nitro+ 6900xt, Windows 10 Pro & 2tb NVME
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 11608
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3Dv5.1 AMD Radeon Artifacts (White lines & Flickering)

Post by Martyson »

vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:23 pm
Martyson wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:20 pm
vurplex wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 9:18 pm

I've just tried a different screen, same issue also switching to 144, 60, 30hz no difference. Also lowering resolution and aspect ratio didn't help. It only happens when anti aliasing is above 2x on all types of resolutions and refresh rates
@ vurplex,

Do you have a spare 1080P monitor to use for a test?

What do you normally use the Other large monitor for?
I just used a spare 1080@60hz monitor for that test, I use my 3440x1400@144 as my main and only display for my simulator pc.
@ vurplex,

Ok,

Ok, so AMD users with your card and driver with one 1080P or larger monitor should be seeing the reported problem.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
Post Reply