High CPU usage after takeoff

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:59 pm

Dear colleagues,

I am having an issue for the last 2 days and i do not see the way how to solve it so i would really appreciate your assistance.
I've bought new PC recently here are my PC specs:

I7-10700K @3.8Ghz
32GB RAM
MSI GeForce RTX 3080 10GB VRAM
Monitor resolution 1920X1080(G-SYNC)

Problem which i've noticed is that once upon takeoff my CPU usage drastically increase. On the ground i have around 15-25% of usage and once i depart, usage jumps to 60-80% and going to that level that simulator crash.
When this happened , i was in FSLabs A320, using ORBX full packages(Scenery, OpenLC) with ASP3D and ASCA/ENVETEX/ENVSHADE, so on the ground usage is almost nothing, as soon as i start lifting my nose up, usage is starting to jump.

Here are my P3D settings which i am using.
https://ibb.co/X3Wg0Fm
https://ibb.co/qYJzYxp
https://ibb.co/9qjm3ZH

When those crashes were occurring (every single time) only thing what I've changed from the settings above were AA to 2XSSAA, once i had returned back to 8XMSAA crashes did not happen but also as you can see at one point there was extremely high usage of CPU of around 90% (https://ibb.co/hBf0SsF). I really doubt that above configuration can not support SSAA anti-aliasing method, or i am wrong?

I've also done tweaking by using Process Lasso however (Of not using CPU 0 and CPU 1 core) as long as 2SSAA was active crash was occurring every single time.
What i had also notices is that now, from time to time i am having flashy clouds.

Also in the continuation of the flight i CPU usage is about 70% which personally i do not understand, because CPU load should be higher when we are on the ground rather once we are on cruising altitude.

I would really appreciate if someone can assist me to resolve this issue.

Thank you very much in advance.

Best Regards
Ivan Davidovic

JorgenSA
Posts: 2701
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:09 pm

Ivan,

What kind of error messages are there in Windows Event Viewer at the time of the crash? Please post such a message here, one that includes a "Failing module name".

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:21 pm

Ivan,

What kind of error messages are there in Windows Event Viewer at the time of the crash? Please post such a message here, one that includes a "Failing module name".

Jorgen
Dear Jorgen,

This is the message which i've found in relation to P3D crash, message i hope that this is the right one which you want to see.
Thank you tons for assistance.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.1.8.26742, time stamp: 0x5f988752
Faulting module name: ucrtbase.dll, version: 10.0.19041.546, time stamp: 0x43cbc11d
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x000000000007287e
Faulting process id: 0x2758
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6c00e5d5b89b3
Faulting application path: D:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll
Report Id: ad38165c-eeae-4914-8921-a8adfa7d4ba3
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Regards
Ivan

JorgenSA
Posts: 2701
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:35 pm

It looks like you have v. 5.1 without the new hotfix.

Do you have SODE installed?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:40 pm

It looks like you have v. 5.1 without the new hotfix.

Do you have SODE installed?

Jorgen
Dear Jorgen,

Yes i do have 5.1 without hotfix and i do have SODE installed and activated

Regards
Ivan
Last edited by ivansf on Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:44 pm

It looks like you have v. 5.1 without the new hotfix.

Do you have SODE installed?

Jorgen
Dear Jorgen,

Yes i do have 5.1 without hotfix and i do have SODE installed.

Regards
Ivan
Also, here is the latest one currently i am in flight on cruising altitude and here is my CPU usage at this moment: https://ibb.co/YDBZc8b

Its drops to 60% at some point but its constantly fluctuating.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2701
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:59 pm

Most likely SODE is the cause of the crash.

There are two ways around this:

1. Absolutely preferred - install Hotfix 1 for v. 5.1, or

2. Also works for the SODE issue: find the [SIM] section in your Prepar3d.cfg file and add this line to it:

AdaptiveSimGroupEnable=False

If a [SIM] section does not exist (it should), create it with just that line below it.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:05 pm

Most likely SODE is the cause of the crash.

There are two ways around this:

1. Absolutely preferred - install Hotfix 1 for v. 5.1, or

2. Also works for the SODE issue: find the [SIM] section in your Prepar3d.cfg file and add this line to it:

AdaptiveSimGroupEnable=False

If a [SIM] section does not exist (it should), create it with just that line below it.

Jorgen
I've added the line which you mentioned under P3D cfg file, will this also solve the high CPU usage? Does it mean after i've added the mentioned line i can return my settings to 2XSSAA? I will also install hotfix 1 as soon as i complete my flight.

Regards

JorgenSA
Posts: 2701
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:14 pm

I do not know whether this could solve the high CPU usage, but I would certainly try going back to 2 x SSAA after installing the hotfix.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

ivansf
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 6:18 am

Re: High CPU usage after takeoff

Postby ivansf » Sat Nov 21, 2020 10:46 pm

I do not know whether this could solve the high CPU usage, but I would certainly try going back to 2 x SSAA after installing the hotfix.

Jorgen
Thanks Jorgen, crashes are not occurring anymore! Thank you a lot for your help!


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests