DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
cianliverpool
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:43 pm

DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby cianliverpool » Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:47 pm

Everytime I do a flight I seem to get this error. It's happened mostly with FsLabs A320 so I'm not sure if it's something to do with my graphics card not being able to handle it or something like that aswell as running scenery etc. P3D crashes after I get this error and it's been happening almost every flight.

My specs are :
GTX 1050
I5 4690K @4.1ghz
Asus B85M-G Motherboard
8gb RAM

JorgenSA
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Aug 14, 2020 5:16 pm

Is your Windows 10 up to v. 2004 with the latest updates?

Is your graphics driver up to the latest from nVidia?

What P3D version is this?

Is your graphics card running at the nVidia clock rate, or did the OEM overclock it, even ever so slightly?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
Puukka
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:58 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Puukka » Sat Oct 03, 2020 9:28 pm

My solution for all GPU errors and flickering simconnect menu was:

Open NVIDIA Control Panel. Click on 3D Settings → Manage 3D settings. Scroll down to the bottom of the list and locate the Threaded Optimization. Change the value to Off.

Hope that helps

Kind regards from Austria
Herbert
Herbert Puukka

Prepar3D v5, ORBX, Active Sky, PRO-ATC/X, Navigraph​

Martyson
Posts: 9630
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby Martyson » Sun Oct 04, 2020 4:06 am

@ Puukka ,

What was the original (bad) setting?

Mine is Auto, no problems.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

jonald
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:38 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby jonald » Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:37 am

Had this issue regularly over the last month. Tried everything under the sun - turning off things, turning settings down but to no avail. Checking my error log, Microsoft Gamingservices.exe seemed to throw an error before I received the error message in the sim.

Try stopping the "gamingservices" service and see if you still get the error. Now I have 2 4+ hour flights with no issue after removing this. You can't change the service to manual like most so I used another tool to remove it (O&O App buster). Keeping my fingers crossed that this has resolved the issue.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:13 am

The file "gamingservices.exe" may not be present on all systems, certainly a search of my C: drive did not find it.

Also, the only service I see when I look at the Windows Local Services is "GameDVR and Broadcast User Service_70d4dea".

Please do not take this wrong, if those files/services ARE on your system, and you have issues, it is worth considering taking action here.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

jonald
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:38 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby jonald » Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:03 am

Thanks Jorgen,

I had these Xbox services and Microsoft Gaming services installed as part of the beta testing for MSFS. I think that the way they interact with DX12 may have caused a conflict when using P3D after an update maybe. I decided to uninstall all of them and so far, no issues with P3D.

I hadn't been able to complete a full flight without the error message appearing somewhere along the flight - after pushback, on take off, landing etc. Now on my 4th test flight and so far, no issues.

During all of the trouble, I would monitor temps and clocks but there didn't seem to be anything out of the ordinary that should have caused the error so was stumped like most of the people here with the same problem.

Would be interesting if others who had the same services as myself to stop them and try flying to see if their troubles stop.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:44 am

It looks like the Xbox services come with Windows 10 by default, at least I had them and they were set to Automatic.

As I do not expect to ever have an Xbox, I stopped and disabled these services. I have not seen any adverse effects of this.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests