Should i change the Graphics card?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Should i change the Graphics card?

Postby mroschk » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:02 am

Hello,

at the moment i have a "GTX-1060 (1518/8000) Boost 1733, 6GB, KFA² OC" installed at a I7 Processor.
All runs fine, but only without Dynamic Lightning.

Dynamic Lightning OFF = 35-50 fps
Dynamic Lightning ON = 5 - 15 fps

I dont know why there is such a bg frame drop with dynamic lights on??

So..should i change my Grafics Card, maybe to a

1. GTX-1080 Ti (1506/5500) Boost 1620, 11GB G5X, Zotac Mini, VFM ---- €699.98
2. RTX-2070 (1410/7000) Boost 1620, 8GB G6, GBT WindForce ------ €516.98
3. RTX-2080 (1515/7000) Boost 1785, 8GB G6, KFA² OC ------ 736.98

Which one is the best or did you prefer ?

Thx
MR

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby Beau Hollis » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:35 am

If you're getting that big of a hit with dynamic lighting, you are likely GPU bound in your use case, so a more powerful GPU should help. Dynamic lighting can add a lot of extra pixel shader work. It depends on the number of lights in use and how much of the scene they have the potential to affect. Do you get this hit regardless of the airport and aircraft, or is it content and scenario specific?

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby mroschk » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:23 pm

Hi,

i get this big fps drop everywhere. Even if i am on a Airport or in the Sky, it is everywhere.

But a 1060 is not a bad or low cost GPU.
Why is the fps drop so big? But that is another question i think. The main question was
if i SHOULD change and if yes WHAT GPU is the best choice ?

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby Beau Hollis » Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:09 am

We don't typically see a huge drop like that. Probably best to investigate some more before going out and buying a new card. What is your FPS with default flight running default settings? What does it drop to from there if you enable dynamic lighting? Are you on the latest drivers and Win10 versions?
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby mroschk » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:56 pm

Hello,

first i would give you some more details about my system.

I have a I7-8700 @ 3.2GHz, 16GB Ram and the atual Win10 with all updates installed.
A GTX-1060 (1518/8000) Boost 1733, 6GB, KFA² OC installed Driver ersion is 416.16
P3d v4.4 runs on a 128GB SSD

Schaders are fresh deleted and Prepar3d.cfg is the stndard ( deleted and regenerated )
after that PC & P3D restarted

Ok, at the standard scenery i have

withhout Dynamic Lights
at Day ~ 40 fps
at Night also around 40 fps

with Dynamic Lights
at Day ~ 35 fps
at Night ~ 5.6 fps

Thanks for your help

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby mroschk » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:46 pm

wrong sorry:
P3d v4.4 runs on a 128GB SSD
right

Windows 10 runs on a 128GB SSD

P3d runs on a 7200rpm fast 1TB HDD

User avatar
janvaane
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby janvaane » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:14 pm

What brand/type is your mobo?
|KLM149 | i7-8700k-16GB | Radeon RX580 8GB| flightsimeindhoven.com |

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:53 am

We' don't typically see much of a drop off with default. Do you have any add-ons installed which may have modified default effects to add lights? Are you running any custom nvidia driver settings?
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby mroschk » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:33 am

Hello,
What brand/type is your mobo?
What is a "mobo" ??

Yes, for sure, i have AddOns installed, but i think these are more or less the same
then other users have installed. So i think not that the AddOn's ma be the reson of anything.
Also i remember dark, that i had this issue very short after updating from FSX to P3D v4.3.
At thhis time i had no AddOns installed.

Also the Grafic Settings are not changed. There are no changes needed because the Grafic in P3D is
fine with the AA Settings only in P3D for me.

I read in other forums, the 1080 wil solve the Problem, but i want to know that for sure
before i change to that card.

MR

AnkH
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby AnkH » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:59 am

The absolute killer for dynamic lightning is still antialiasing (AA). If you run 4xSSAA, you might reconsider this at least for night time flying with DL on. In my case, even with a 1080Ti, I have to reduce to 8xMSAA for night time flying when around airport sceneries with DL. Along with other things, somehow at least on my end, clouds and cloud shadows are also an extreme performance killer in night time flying.

My "solution": I use the presets. For daytime flying, I configured my sim with pretty high settings and 4xSSAA, almost all shadow options on, reflections and everything and called the profile "Standard". For night time flying, I created a preset called "Standard Night" with 8xMSAA instead of 4xSSAA, many shadow options deactivated (including cloud shadows), reduced shadow draw distance etc. As such, I get almost identical FPS in night time on LSZH Professional for example as I get in day time.
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 1TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby mroschk » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:55 pm

Hello,

i am not on my PC at the moment.
So how ist that working ith the Profile for Day and Night?
Is it switching automatically maybe no? I never used this.

But anyway it should not be the case, that we must deaktivate the most shadows and AA
to use Dnamic lightning at night !
That must be any wrong programmed thing and LM must have a look at this issue.

AnkH
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Should i change the Grafics card?

Postby AnkH » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:18 pm

So how ist that working ith the Profile for Day and Night?
Is it switching automatically maybe no? I never used this.
You can save your graphic settings in P3D, simply set the settings as you want, navigate to the menue "Display". There, you can save and load profiles under "Display Global Settings". Switching is of course not automatically. But, as long as you only have shadow and antialiasing options that differ between two profiles, switching profile will not result in re-loading of the simulator and can be done "on the fly".
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 1TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Graphics card?

Postby mroschk » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:20 pm

ahh, ok.

but that could not be the solution...

AnkH
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Should i change the Graphics card?

Postby AnkH » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:56 am

Why not? You GPU simply does not provide enough power to run Dynamic Lightning with full settings in night time. Not even my 1080Ti is capable for this. Ergo: it IS THE ONLY POSSIBLE "SOLUTION" for the moment, unless you buy 2x 2080TI.
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 1TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

mroschk
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Should i change the Graphics card?

Postby mroschk » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:34 pm

yes, as you say..."for the moment", but not the END Solution (thats what i mean)


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests