AI Traffic and CPU

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:12 am

Hi Guys,



so in the last two weeks i have tested the AI Traffic in some Configurations..

I have 1 Problem in all Configurations is near AI Traffic the CPU usage 100 % ( Second CPU) and the Frame go down to 4-15 FPS from 80 Fps before. This Problem is only with running AI Traffic.



We used before Prepar 3d the FSX with 90 % Traffic and the FPS was Unlimited,without Problems. Our FPS was normal by 65-89 FPS







Regards Maik

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:29 am

There were some performance updates to 1.1. Are you running 1.1?

Not all settings map 1-to-1 with FSX. What settings are you using?

What scenery area are you flying?

Thanks,

Beau

Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:35 am

hi



oh ok i use the new update and will check it again..



I Fly worldwide i have the problem in Klax or in Egll some airports around the world without scenery.

flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:38 pm

Hi Guys,



after Installing the Update is the same Problem.

I have another one by Taxing with strenght left and right turns the fps go down.

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:29 am

What settings are you using?
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Tue Apr 19, 2011 9:16 am

my Settings from the cfg



[Display]

ChangeTime=4.000000

TransitionTime=4.000000

ActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255

ActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=0,28,140,64

NonActiveWindowTitleTextColor=255,255,255

NonActiveWindowTitleBackGroundColor=24,33,87,64

InfoUpperRightTextColor=255,0,0

InfoUpperRightBackGroundColor=0,0,0,0

InfoLowerLeftTextColor=255,255,255

InfoLowerLeftBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128

InfoLowerRightTextColor=255,255,255

InfoLowerRightBackGroundColor=255,0,0,128

InfoBrakesEnable=False

InfoParkingBrakesEnable=False

InfoPauseEnable=False

InfoSlewEnable=True

InfoStallEnable=False

InfoOverspeedEnable=False

BLOOM_EFFECTS=0

SKINNED_ANIMATIONS=1

TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=70

UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=60

WideViewAspect=False

RUNWAY_LIGHTS_STROBE_SCALAR=0.5

RUNWAY_LIGHTS_APPROACH_SCALAR=0.9

RUNWAY_LIGHTS_VASI_SCALAR=0.7

RUNWAY_LIGHTS_SURFACE_SCALAR=0.8

[Main]

User Objects=Airplane, Helicopter, Submersible

SimObjectPaths.0=SimObjects\Airplanes

SimObjectPaths.1=SimObjects\Rotorcraft

SimObjectPaths.2=SimObjects\GroundVehicles

SimObjectPaths.3=SimObjects\Boats

SimObjectPaths.4=SimObjects\Animals

SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects\Misc

SimObjectPaths.6=SimObjects\Submersible

ProcSpeed=11835

PerfBucket=7

Location=0,0,3072,768,\\.\DISPLAY1

Maximized=1

HideMenuNormal=0

HideMenuFullscreen=1

FIBER_FRAME_TIME_FRACTION=0.13

[PANELS]

IMAGE_QUALITY=1

QUICKTIPS=0

PANEL_OPACITY=100

PANEL_MASKING=1

PANEL_STRETCHING=1

UNITS_OF_MEASURE=1

[Weather]

WindshieldPrecipitationEffects=1

MinGustTime=10

MaxGustTime=500

MinGustRampSpeed=1

MaxGustRampSpeed=200

MinVarTime=5

MaxVarTime=50

MinVarRampSpeed=10

MaxVarRampSpeed=75

TurbulenceScale=1.000000

WeatherGraphDataInDialog=0

AdjustForMagVarInDialog=1

DynamicWeather=1

DownloadWindsAloft=0

DisableTurbulence=0

CLOUD_DRAW_DISTANCE=4

DETAILED_CLOUDS=1

CLOUD_COVERAGE_DENSITY=6

THERMAL_VISUALS=1

[DISPLAY.Device.ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series.0]

Mode=3072x768x32

Anisotropic=1

AntiAlias=1

[CONTROLS]

Controls_Default=Standard

Controls_Current=Standard

KBDAIL=64

KBDELEV=64

KBDRUD=64

JOYSTICKS=1

[TextInfo.1]

Latitude=1,1

Longitude=1,2

Altitude=1,3

Heading=1,4

AirSpeed=1,5

WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6

[TextInfo.2]

FrameRate=1,1

LockedFrameRate=1,2

GForce=1,3

FuelPercentage=1,4

[TextInfo.3]

Latitude=1,1

Longitude=1,2

Altitude=1,3

Heading=1,4

AirSpeed=1,5

WindDirectionAndSpeed=1,6

FrameRate=2,1

LockedFrameRate=2,2

GForce=2,3

FuelPercentage=2,4

[SlewTextInfo.1]

Latitude=1,1

Longitude=1,2

Altitude=1,3

Heading=1,4

AirSpeed=1,5

[SlewTextInfo.2]

FrameRate=1,1

LockedFrameRate=1,2

[SlewTextInfo.3]

Latitude=1,1

Longitude=1,2

Altitude=1,3

Heading=1,4

AirSpeed=1,5

FrameRate=2,1

LockedFrameRate=2,2

[DynamicHeadMovement]

LonAccelOnHeadLon=0

LonAccelOnHeadPitch=0

RollAccelOnHeadLat=0

YawAccelOnHeadLat=-0

RollAccelOnHeadRoll=0

MaxHeadAngle=0

MaxHeadOffset=0

HeadMoveTimeConstant=0

[VirtualCopilot]

VirtualCopilotActive=0

[GRAPHICS]

HIGHMEMFIX=1

SHADER_CACHE_VERSION=1

SHADER_CACHE_PRIMED=185258753

TEXTURE_MAX_LOAD=1024

AIRCRAFT_SHADOWS=0

AIRCRAFT_REFLECTIONS=1

COCKPIT_HIGH_LOD=0

LANDING_LIGHTS=1

AC_SELF_SHADOW=0

EFFECTS_QUALITY=1

GROUND_SHADOWS=0

TEXTURE_QUALITY=3

IMAGE_QUALITY=0

See_Self=1

Text_Scroll=1

ForceFullScreenVSync=1

NUM_LIGHTS=8

[BufferPools]

Poolsize=490000000

[SOUND]

SOUND_FADER1=0.060000

SOUND_FADER2=0.160000

SOUND_FADER3=0.140000

SOUND_FADER4=0.140000

PrimaryDevice={DEF00000-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}

VoiceDevice={DEF00002-9C6D-47ED-AAF1-4DDA8F2B5C03}

SOUND=1

SOUND_QUALITY=2

SOUND_LOD=0

UISound=1

[USERINTERFACE]

DisplayFuelAsWeight=1

SHOW_MISSION_CAPTIONS=0

PAUSE_ON_LOST_FOCUS=0

PROMPT_ON_EXIT=0

SITUATION=C:\Users\Flugsimulator\Documents\Prepar3D Files\EDDT Standard FSB.flt

Map_Orientation=2

[ATC]

ShowATCText=0

COMM_MSG_NONE_COLOR=FFFFFFFF

COMM_MSG_ATC_USER_COLOR=FFB6FFB6

COMM_MSG_USER_ATC_COLOR=FFFFD21B

COMM_MSG_ATC_AI_COLOR=FF00FF00

COMM_MSG_AI_ATC_COLOR=FFFF7840

AutoOpenAirTrafficWindow=0

UsePilotVoice=0

PilotVoice=0

[PointOfInterestSystem]

CycleSetting=2

[SCENERY]

LENSFLARE=1

DAWN_DUSK_SMOOTHING=1

IMAGE_COMPLEXITY=3

[TrafficManager]

AirlineDensity=18

GADensity=8

FreewayDensity=8

ShipsAndFerriesDensity=19

LeisureBoatsDensity=17

IFROnly=60802208

AIRPORT_SCENERY_DENSITY=0

[TERRAIN]

LOD_RADIUS=4.500000

MESH_COMPLEXITY=70

MESH_RESOLUTION=22

TEXTURE_RESOLUTION=24

AUTOGEN_DENSITY=2

DETAIL_TEXTURE=1

WATER_EFFECTS=0

SWAP_WAIT_TIMEOUT=27

ENABLE_BATHYMETRY=0

WATER_CLARITY=0

[AContain]

ShowLabels=0

ShowUserLabel=1

ShowLabelManufacturer=1

ShowLabelModel=1

ShowLabelTailNumber=0

ShowLabelDistance=1

ShowLabelAltitude=1

ShowLabelAirline=0

ShowLabelAirlineAndFlightNumber=0

ShowLabelFlightPlan=0

ShowLabelContainerId=0

ShowLabelAirspeed=0

ShowLabelHeading=0

LabelDelay=1000

LabelColor=FFFF0000

[INTERNATIONAL]

ASLAT=2

ASLON=0

MEASURE=1

[REALISM]

PFactor=0.510000

Torque=1.000000

GyroEffect=1.000000

CrashTolerance=1.000000

General=0.960000

UnlimitedFuel=False

AllowEngineDamage=True

TrueAirspeed=False

AutoCoord=False

RealMixture=True

StressDamage=True

GEffect=True

ManualLights=True

GyroDrift=True

CrashWithDyn=False

CrashDetection=True

OnCrashAction=0

AutoTrim=False

[SIM]

SYSCLOCK=0

[STARTUP]

DEMO=0

STARTUP_DEMO=

LoadWindow=1

[FACILITIES]

COUNTRY=

STATE=

CITY=

GTL_BUTTON=4096

[Misc]

Com_Rate=7

[JOBSCHEDULER]

AffinityMask=14

[MAPVIEW_MAP]

SHOW_AIRPORTS=1

SHOW_VORS=1

SHOW_NDBS=1

SHOW_APPROACHES=1

SHOW_INTERSECTIONS=0

SHOW_VICTOR=0

SHOW_JET=0

SHOW_AIRSPACE=1

SHOW_FLIGHTPLAN=1

SHOW_WEATHERSTATIONS=1

SHOW_WEATHERSYSTEMS=1

SHOW_DATATAGS=1

SHOW_TERRAIN=1

show_flight_history=1

[FlightPlanMap]

LineWidth=2

[MULTIPLAYER]

condAccoutPassword=0

VoiceVolume=0.280000


flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:43 am

Hey i have a new Bug...found



when i use the Slew mode i have after moving the aircraft horrible FPS maximum 6 FPS ..

Or by a repositioning with the Instructor Software the FpS after press P are down

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:11 am

Does it get better after the scenery loads in? The scenery is loaded and generated at runtime based on the aircraft position and is updated as the aircraft moves. It's optimized for realistic airspeeds. If you slew too fast, or teleport the aircraft, the FPS will drop while the scenery loads in. (this same scenery load happens at startup, but its hidden by the loading bar)



Beau
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:57 pm

i have the same effect by Ai Traffic... Taxing forward or landing the fps goes down to 5 FPS

FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:03 pm

Quad Core ?



AffinityMask=14


( CPU_3 , CPU_2 , CPU_1 = ON, & CPU_0 = OFF )



Are you intentionally not using CPU_0 ??



Geoff

flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:57 pm

yes QuadCore i7 870

what do you recommend for a setting?

FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Postby FSMP » Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:39 pm

I would atart off using all available cores



ie AffinityMask = 15



The Mask is a Bit mask

Bit 1 = Cpu_0 Value 1

Bit 2 = Cpu_1 Value 2

Bit 3 = Cpu_2 Value 4

Bit 4 = Cpu_3 Value 8



1 + 2 + 4 + 8 = 15



Hence

AffinityMask=15



I refer you to Mr Phil Taylor's Blog -- Phil was one of the lead software developers at Microsoft ACES, who developed FSX.



http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ptaylor/archive/2007/05/15/new-tweaks-in-sp1.aspx



If you Google search: AffinityMask FSX

you will find furher info on this setting.

There seems to be some question about using 14 as well on a Quad Core, which is inteding to leave the 1st Core free for other applications .

Then other posts suggest that in SP2/Accel, the parameter has no effect....



I just saw the 14 value, and before I looked all this up, wondered why you were limiting yourself to 3 out of 4 possible cores.



Have you looked at CPU Core Usage with Task Manager, when you expereience these slow downs.

Might throw some light on what may be causing it.



Geoff


flugsimulator-berlin
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:35 pm

Postby flugsimulator-berlin » Tue May 03, 2011 6:54 am

Hi,



thanks for the lot Informations...



so when i use AffinityMask=15 i have strong stottering .. with 14 it is smooth and with both variables is the same problem with the AI Traffic and cpu useage

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue May 03, 2011 8:00 am

I think it's smoother without 0 in the mask because many of the simulation and rendering tasks are required to be on the primary processor.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

GrandSurf
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:47 am

Postby GrandSurf » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:55 am

Wrong Post, Sorry.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests