v5 Active when Paused

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Fri May 15, 2020 1:03 pm

Prepar3D version 5.0.21.34874 - Stock Installation
System NVLink 2080Ti x2, 9980Xe 64GB

Activity when paused: System relents (fans relax) only when Minimized.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10051
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby Martyson » Fri May 15, 2020 2:13 pm

Prepar3D version 5.0.21.34874 - Stock Installation
System NVLink 2080Ti x2, 9980Xe 64GB

Activity when paused: System relents (fans relax) only when Minimized.
Are you reporting a problem?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Mon May 18, 2020 12:29 pm

With Enhanced Atmospherics enabled and the simulation is paused, the GPU continues to be very active. The activity relents when P3D is minimized. In other words the fans settle back only when the sim is minimized. I felt that the system activity should relent when paused.

SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Wed May 20, 2020 2:07 am

The increased activity with Enhanced Atmospherics enabled allowed me to find the problem initially. With lesser activity it's hard to spot the condition.

I also notice the same behaviour with v4.5.

EA enabled or not, v4 or v5, the problem can be spotted by watching the GPU trace in Task Manager which persists when the simulator is only paused.

The trace drops to near zero with the options window showing or just by holding the window caption area with the mouse, or by Minimizing as already mentioned.

I would call this is an error condition.

SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Fri May 22, 2020 11:59 pm

...Tried again on another PC with 4.5, 9900x 2080Ti same results. So I tried FSX:SE no addons and that too does the same thing - effectively I have to Minimise, Paused doesn't stop it running the GPU. So that's two pretty standard PCs. Both updated by GeForce Experience to latest drivers. I'll check on some older PCs later...

SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Sun May 24, 2020 5:11 pm

Are you reporting a problem?
I tried with older kit, same behaviour. I wonder what did you find with your system(s)?

I also wonder what others find and why no one has responded.

Pausing the simulation does not stop the activity. I noticed this behaviour with the heavier GPU loads with v5.

During development, going into and out of Prepar3D when testing code, simply pausing the simulation is now not enough. I find I am now minimizing instead.

Might not seem like a big deal and maybe the most boring of discussions, but seems like this is an oversight in the proper operation of the paused simulator.

Regards
Steve

SteveW
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:06 am

Re: v5 Active when Paused

Postby SteveW » Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:29 am

Resolved in 5.0.31.35253


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests