P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
JorgenSA
Posts: 2726
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Jul 26, 2020 7:33 am

@billolgaau:

When you changed graphics cards, did you then:

1. Deactivate P3D first (usually done by uninstalling the client)

2. Remove the nVidia drivers, and update to the latest AMD drivers

3. Reinstall the client to reactivate

4. Delete your shaders and Prepar3D.cfg?

You should also have Windows 10 v. 2004...

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Jonathan93102
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:44 am

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby Jonathan93102 » Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:30 am

Hello,

I can confirm I get this error too. I load up with an aircraft and it just crashes. Is there any fixes in the works? Really V5 has been a waste of money for me as I have been unable to use it since I purchased it back in May. I have a fairly decent PC too which is a shame. I’d be grateful if Prepar3D could let me know if they are working on anything to fix this issue.

Thanks,

Jonathan

JorgenSA
Posts: 2726
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:59 am

Jonathan,

Do you have:

1. P3D v. 5 HF2, and

2. Windows 10 v. 2004 (an update was released last night my time), plus

3. The latest nVidia drivers?

All 3 above are essential to solve this issue.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Jonathan93102
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:44 am

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby Jonathan93102 » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:26 pm

Jonathan,

Do you have:

1. P3D v. 5 HF2, and

2. Windows 10 v. 2004 (an update was released last night my time), plus

3. The latest nVidia drivers?

All 3 above are essential to solve this issue.

Jorgen

Hello Jorgen,

Thanks for getting back to me so quick.

I can confirm I have HF2 and the latest NVIDIA drivers, however I was unaware there was a Windows 10 update. How would I go about installing this update? Hopefully this will fix my problem.

Thanks,

Jonathan.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2726
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Aug 03, 2020 5:55 am

When I went to Windows Update on my system, there was a link saying "Optional updates" or something like that below the "Check for updates" button.

Also, you can check your build version on the right side of the Update screen "OS build info".

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Jonathan93102
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:44 am

Re: P3Dv5 Nvidia stopped working

Postby Jonathan93102 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:53 pm

When I went to Windows Update on my system, there was a link saying "Optional updates" or something like that below the "Check for updates" button.

Also, you can check your build version on the right side of the Update screen "OS build info".

Jorgen
Hi Jorgen,

I’ve managed to install the Windows 10 update today and now I am able to load into V5 without any problems. Thanks for your help. I’ll now start configuring it to how I like it set up.

Many thanks,

Jonathan


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests