[RESOLVED] Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

[RESOLVED] Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:54 pm

Hi,

I have this small issue with the "Traffic Explorer" window, where if I were to open it up, then focus back on the "main" P3D screen, (to slew move the plane, for example, it can be anything, just lose Explorer from focus), the Traffic Explorer window will "disapear" into the Windows task bar. So far so good, no worries.

Now the issue is, when I move my cursor back over to the task bar and click on Traffic Explorer to bring it back "on screen", on focus, it just dosen't stay there. It goes back into the task bar, and the only way for me to bring it back in focus, is to close it (by moving the cursor onto the task bar and onto the red X of Explorer), then open it back from the Traffic Toolbox menu on the main simulator screen.

I hesitated to post this topic for a while as it's such a small "issue" but I lately started to create flight plans for AI Traffic and I have to jump on and off of Traffic Explorer often.

Sorry for the wall of text, could not write my issue in a simpler way.

Aybars

Edit: The Traffic Explorer window that comes with the TrafficToolbox.dll with the P3D SDK.
Everything is up to date, same version numbers.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:25 pm

Which P3D version are you testing?

When I minimize Traffic Explorer it minimizes inside the P3D icon in the task bar.
When I left mouse click the P3D icon I have a choices and I pick (left click) Traffic Explorer and it pops up on the screen again.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:36 pm

Hi Vaughan,

The Client version is v4.3.29.25520.

I updated each components separatly from v4.2.21.24048. Not a full re-install.

Sorry I should have precised that. It does minimizes inside the P3D icon in the task bar.

What I do is hover my cursor on the P3D icon, then move it onto Traffic Explorer and click. It dosen't stay on screen.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:47 pm

"The Client version is v4.3.29.25520."

What is your version of the SDK?

Copy and post here your DLL.xml file contents
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:52 pm

"Prepar3D v4 SDK 4.3.29.25520" is the folder itself.
4.3.29.25520 is also the version number given when I right click on TrafficToolbox.dll and go into details.

The path to the dll.xml is:
C:\Users\Aybars\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4

The content of the dll.xml is:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="Windows-1252"?>

<SimBase.Document Type="Launch" version="1,0">
<Descr>Launch</Descr>
<Filename>dll.xml</Filename>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Launch.ManualLoad>False</Launch.ManualLoad>
<Launch.Addon>
<Name>FSUIPC 5</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\FSUIPC5.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>
<Launch.Addon>
<Name>TrafficToolbox</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4 SDK 4.3.29.25520\World\Traffic\TrafficToolbox.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>
</SimBase.Document>


Edit: I also set "Execute this program as administrator" in the "compatibility" tab of Prepar3D v4.exe, as it is installed in C:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:58 pm

Ok,

When it should be popped back up see if it went behind your P3D screen.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:01 pm

I should have precised that too!

Yes, when I lose focus from it by clicking the main sim screen, it just goes behind the main sim. screen.
It stays behind main screen.

Edit: P3D is always in windowed mode.
Last edited by DreamSkywards on Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:05 pm

I should have precised that too!

Yes, when I lose focus from it by clicking the main sim screen, it just goes behind the main sim. screen.

Edit: P3D is always in windowed mode.
Ok,
Just to verify that this is not happening:
"Now the issue is, when I move my cursor back over to the task bar and click on Traffic Explorer to bring it back "on screen", on focus, it just dosen't stay there. "
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:08 pm

Sorry for my wording.

It isn't minimzed into the task bar. When I lose focus, it just goes behind the main sim screen. When I try to pop it back on, it still stays behind main screen.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:11 pm

Sorry for my wording.

It isn't minimzed into the task bar. When I lose focus, it just goes behind the main sim screen. When I try to pop it back on, it still stays behind main screen.
Ok,

When Traffic Explorer is up just minimize it to the task bar before doing other mouse clicking tasks.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:17 pm

Ok, looks like that was it.

Just did some tests as suggested. It worked. Started sim, started a random flight, opened Traffic Explorer, minimized it to task bar by clicking the "minimize button", clicked back on it from the task bar and it popped back on.

Thank you for your help.

Martyson
Posts: 6096
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:19 pm

Ok, looks like that was it.

Just did some tests as suggested. It worked. Started sim, started a random flight, opened Traffic Explorer, minimized it to task bar by clicking the "minimize button", clicked back on it from the task bar and it popped back on.

Thank you for your help.
You are welcome.
Glad to hear P3D is working for you now.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

DreamSkywards
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:16 pm

Re: Traffic Explorer refuses to come back "on screen".

Postby DreamSkywards » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:22 pm

Thank you.

I was baffled by it as I was a long time visitor on these forums reading other issues people have and the fixes given, always doing things as suggested by official names so I could not see what was wrong with it.

Feels a bit silly. Thank you though.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests