P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
Post Reply
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

I'm running P3Dv5 build 5.1.12.26829. I have set Power Management Mode of my 1080Ti to Prefer Maximum Performance which has cured the DXGI problem when switching to windowed mode from full-screen.

However, when changing from one default vehicle (avatar) to another default vehicle (Maul) P3D produces the following message:-

DXGI_ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED.

Given this is caused by selecting default vehicles from within the sim it seems to be a valid reason to raise this issue. I can select different vehicles at the Scenario startup window but surely this shouldn't happen within the sim?
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Do Lockheed-Martin reads these pages? Given I've just bought the third version of P3D and 5.1 is still reasonably new I would expect some acknowledgement of this issue.

Yes, I can work around it but it needs fixing. Can anyone else confirm they get the same problem when switching vehicles in the sim?
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
shermank
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by shermank »

I have had the sim crash while trying to change aircraft.
Sherm
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

I have identified and fixed the problem.

RTSS display is the culprit. If you want to run MSI Afterburner / RTSS for its useful info make sure you turn off the screen display for RTSS before changing Vehicles inside P3Dv5. Doing that will solve the problem. You can then turn it back on after a vehicle swap.

It's not something I do regularly but is useful for switching to an avatar for certain uses.

Whether LM can workaround this issue I don't know. GPU Error trapping commands inside prepar3d.cfg didn't capture the problem. Maybe it needs RTSS author to fix it.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3807
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by JorgenSA »

There are several threads where the MSI Afterburner (and similar tools) have been posted as causing issues.

Your method of handling this issue will no doubt be useful for a lot of people.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Hi Jorgen. I did an extensive search for the specific error message - DXGI ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED but little came back and nothing relating to RTSS that I could see.

Do you think this is something that LM could fix? It is a trappable error after all albeit with a very confusing message. What cannot access what?
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3807
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by JorgenSA »

Most DXGI messages, as far as I know, are related to VRAM management, and that, according to L-M, is being worked upon.

I am not sure about the DENIED message.....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Jorgen,
As you appear to have access to the team could you bring this to their attention please? I have posted on the guru3D forum where the support for RTSS is.

Hopefully between the two bodies a solution can be found.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3807
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by JorgenSA »

Everything posted here in the forums is read by the L-M team, so no need to bring stuff to their attention.

It was L-M's Beau Hollis who posted (a couple of months ago) that the VRAM management issue was being worked upon.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K@4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Having heard back from (I assume) the author of RTSS he has no plans to buy P3D to investigate this problem.

So it's down to LM hopefully.
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Ray Proudfoot
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:19 am

Re: P3Dv5 DXGI error switching default Vehicle

Post by Ray Proudfoot »

Having updated to v5.2 I was hoping this bug would have been fixed. Sadly it hasn’t and given the author of RTSS is not going to provide one the ball appears to be in LM’s court.

This was never a problem in v4 or v3 and appears linked to DX12. Can some kind beta tester make the team aware of this please?
Ray (Cheshire, England).

System: P3D v5.2HF1, Samsung 970 EVO M.2 SSD, 1Tb Samsung 860 EVO SSD, Asus Prime Z370-A mobo, Intel i7-8086K o/c to 4.6GHz, 32Gb G.Skill DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb, Win 10 Pro 64-bit, BenQ 32” UHD monitor.
Post Reply