Unusable FPS

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D website and web apps.
sb7767
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:00 pm

Unusable FPS

Postby sb7767 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:11 pm

I have recently wanted to start using the sim as a hobby. I have recently purchased Orbx south England and global. I have also purchased Active sky and Tomatoshade, i am looking to purchase more addons in the future. I attempted to use the sim after downloading the addons and i have had a ridiculously bad frame rate to where it is unusable atm. I am using the sim on my Alienware 17 gaming laptop so it should be running fine but i cannot run it to a usable rate. If anybody knows of anyway to solve this please let me know as i love using P3D and would hate to stop using it for an unknown reason and i want to continue build with the addons but i can't until i fix this.

bellah1w
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Unusable FPS

Postby bellah1w » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:34 am

Well I have bad news for you.

There is no consumer computer I am aware of that can run P3D maxed out with all those addons especially a Laptop alienware or not.

I have an i7 9700 K with all cores overclocked to 5,2 Ghz watercooled and an RTX 2080Ti, m2 SSD's and 32 Gb of 3200hz Ram and I still cant get a fluid frame rate when it is maxed out.

You have to keep dialling back your graphics settings until you get an acceptable frame rate.

The software is 30 years old and is not even close to being optmised for the new multicore hardware and still uses a single core mostly and I alsway have one core 100 per cent utilised. It is a CPU bound application.

JorgenSA
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Unusable FPS

Postby JorgenSA » Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:00 am

A gaming laptop is for gaming.

P3D is a simulation - an entirely different ballgame.

And the more add-ons you purchase and throw at it, the worse your frame rate is going to get.

So, short of throwing money (a lot of it) at a proper desktop, what can you do? Go here:

https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/prepar3d ... ation.html

That's about it.

Jorgen


Return to “Prepar3D Website and Download Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests