P3D 2.5 + ORBX?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
whartsell
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:04 pm

Postby whartsell » Sat Feb 14, 2015 3:37 pm

why not just use a symlink to point to the new location?
C:\Games\Prepar3D v2>mklink terrain.cfg "C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D
v2\terrain.cfg"
symbolic link created for terrain.cfg <<===>> C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Pre
par3D v2\terrain.cfg

RossG
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:07 am

Postby RossG » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:31 am

I tried changing the FTXSettings.xml and FTXCentral still says it can not find the Scenery.cfg.

raylemus
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:21 pm

Postby raylemus » Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:54 am

I ended up moving the .cfg file to the P3D directory and all the Orbx stuff installed without any issues, but then P3D gave me a compatibility error when I started it, and it CTDed. I ended up removing and reinstalling P3D and removed all the Orbx stuff. Now I'm just running P3D alone and man, what an improvement in performance! Is really smooth without any tweaks. That's with three 27 inch monitors and one Nvidia 770 running at 5780 x 1080. Awesome! Looks like is the next platform. I'm just going to wait until the installers get updated or another simple solution comes up.

paulthorn
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:34 pm

Postby paulthorn » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:42 am

JchnoTech’s instructions worked perfect for me. Been flying around Virginia and roads, traffic, landclass look fine using FTX Vector and FTX Base scenery.

Paul

jimsch
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:55 am

Postby jimsch » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:01 pm

Kai,
How do I make a systemlink?

Could you please show me what I have to do?

Thanks,

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:23 pm

DON'T DO THIS !!

Orbx have released the fix that makes this idea redundant.

Look on Orbx website - NEWS.

BG2518-Bob.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10073
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Postby Martyson » Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:57 pm

I just went to Latest News (top of their forum) and did not see anything ......

Maybe you could give a link or quote what they mentioned.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:50 am

Vaughan et al,

http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/portal/

Scroll down to......

Orbxlibs 150215 Released - features new ObjectFlow DLL...

READ and note this is the fix for FTX Central and the terrain.cfg

Cheers,

BG2518-Bob

p.s.
The fix WILL reset the FTX entries in your scenerey.cfg to the top of the list (the default) so be aware of that and change it back (if necessary) to suit your scenerey arrangement e.g. VFR on top of FTX stuff.

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10073
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Postby Martyson » Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:05 am

Ok,
I see.

That was from several days ago.

Orbx is still not not done with Central .... so its like an interm fix / work around with Central giving a false error.

I will wait until they get it all done.

I wonder if the newest LM Hot fix messed up Orbix?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

paulthorn
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:34 pm

Postby paulthorn » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:52 pm

I posted a couple of days ago that JchnoTech’s steps to put FTX base and vector files in 2.5 worked fine. However I now see that no snow or hard looking winter textures appear. Might just uninstall FTX and wait for update or just go back to 2.4 until all patches are out for add ons.

User avatar
Euphonist
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Euphonist » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:54 am

I did install the Orbxlibs 150215, but I notice that e.g. the sceneries of Germany are bad looking. I pressed F12 and everything was mixed up.
I also use the Dutch NL2000 sceneries (beautiful).
I think I am going to switch of the NL2000 and ORBX in the library settings and then have a look.
Prepar3d v4, Active Sky, ORBX, ChasePlane

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:58 am

Post a screenshot if you can and/or give us an ICAO airport code near to where you see corruption and someone here will check for you.

It may still be that the "90%" fix of Orbx isn't quite enough (but obviously will be in due course).

BG2518-Bob.

User avatar
Euphonist
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Euphonist » Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:19 am

Thanks

I am not able to post a screenshot but I flew from Amsterdam (EHAM) to Frankfurt (EDDF) at a height of 11000 feet.
When I come home I can make a screenshot.
Prepar3d v4, Active Sky, ORBX, ChasePlane

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Mon Feb 23, 2015 6:25 am

Agreed after looking at the area - this must be related to the Orbx update not quite being ready i.e. terrain.cfg issue.

ORBX terrain.cfg not working

BG2518-Bob

User avatar
Euphonist
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:58 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Euphonist » Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:30 am

Yes Bob,

Thank you.
I will post it through to ORBX tonight, although they probably already try to solve the issues with the Prepar3D v2.5.
We can of course not blame them as they were suddenly facing the new version.
Well, for the time being I will switch off ORBX as said before and keep my eye on the ORBX updates.
I will also look at the NL2000. They are cool.
2 years ago (with FSX) I made some photos:

Thanks again
Prepar3d v4, Active Sky, ORBX, ChasePlane


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], supersym and 86 guests