P3D 2.5 + ORBX?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
tabugman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:41 am

Postby tabugman » Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:19 am

Hi!
Does anyone know if it's possible to use the ORBX Scenery addons with P3D 2.5 before ORBX has updated their installers? I'm talking about FTX Global, Vector and OpenLC in my case.

I know 2.5 came with a new file structure, but I gave it a go yesterday anyway, without success. The FTX configurator ground to a halt when it didn't find the terrain.cfg where it expected it to be.

Is there a workaround or is just better to leave it be until ORBX get it sorted?

Mister J
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:16 pm

Postby Mister J » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:01 am

you can try that tweak.
1 from programdata/Lockheed Martin/prepar3dv2, copy terrein.cfg and paste it into your simulator folder
2 install and setup the suite of orbx, global, vector and lc then close the orbx center.
3 mova again the terrain.cfg from the p3dv2 folder to programdata/lockedmartin/prepar3d v2 folder.
Using this procedure seem working for me but i dont know if really work good, just to try
it is my own procedure, i dont know if already exist better metods,
at your own risk for problems
Regards..

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:04 am

I'm just experiencing the same i.e. terrain.cfg

Plus, although I do get my Orbx stuff showing up i.e. trees, textures, blah blah, I am not seeing water where I should e.g. in Norway.

I think this is the missing terrain.cfg issue.

If any DEV or Moderator knows what we are supposed to do about this then any clues are most welcome.

Cheers.

BG2518 - Bob

Mister J
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:16 pm

Postby Mister J » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:06 am

read up Bob
you can try that temporaney solution at your own risk

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:07 am

Thanks.

I missed because we must have posted at the same time.


Mister J
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:16 pm

Postby Mister J » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:13 am

:)

johnan
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:10 pm

Postby johnan » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:47 am

FTX will be producing updated installers for their sceneries very soon I believe, so I am just going to wait.

On a slightly different issue, I have tried to use the "scenery library" in the menu bar to add add-on scenery manually,
as I used to do in other versions of P3D, but this method no longer seems to work.

Is there a trick to doing this or is it no longer possible?

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:56 am

JchnoTech's tweak works !!

However I'd suggest that you make a copy of the terrain.cfg as ORGINAL terrain.cfg before you start.

The copy from programdata to the program root is just to get a copy there for FTX Central to work with.

The copy back from the program root to programdata is done after you use FTX Central so the changes FTX Central make can be read by P3D in the "new" location for terrain.cfg (Well, thats the way I figure what's happening).

ORBX must be doing an update soon no doubt.

BG2518-Bob

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:59 am

The scenery locations appear to be unchanged i.e. my ORBX dir is in the same location - no issue there?

I assume it is just the change to the terrain.cfg.

LM - Please chip in on this as I'm sure you have 1000's of users with these issues that you must have been aware of prior to release.

Excuse me if you've made note of this elsewhere but I have not seen it as yet?

BG2518-Bob

Mister J
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:16 pm

Postby Mister J » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:56 am

right, i think only that terrain.cfg change :)
orbx library not also compatible. need to wait...
regards (Y)

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:26 am

Just found this...c/o ORBX Forums and written by Da BOSS - John Venema

Any addons not dependant on terrain.cfg will work fine I expect. We also need to update objectflow.dll.

Be patient, we're on it :)

mikeob
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:19 pm

Postby mikeob » Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:28 am

Hi Guys,
I have been working on my scenery which is not Orbx but might be similar in terms of installation. It would appear that my scenery paths have moved from the main directory autogen directory AutogenDescriptions to the main scenery.cfg file. I am adding all my stuff in bit by bit. These paths are assoicated with the entries in the Scenery Library that used to be stored in the AutogenDescriptions files. I hope that this helps. I am still finding things that have moved but making progress with my Photoscenery.
I have made a couple of flights over what I have done so far and it would appear the blurries have gone and the FPS is as good if not better than before. The overall graphics is improved too. So at least that spurs me on. I have'nt had to change the terrain.cfg file so it might be the problem for Orbx :)

tabugman
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:41 am

Postby tabugman » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:03 pm

Thanks for the tips! I haven't had a chance to try it yet, because now 2.5 won't even start.

It did start after I made a clean install (uninstall + delete all of the P3D folders, including the ones in c:\users\username\appdata), but after adding some custom airports from FlyTampa and Aerosoft + the Aerosoft A320/321 and the PMDG P3D B777 it just quits to desktop after displaying the splash screen. No error messages, no nothing. The process just ends.

So far I've tried with deleting the addon airports from scenery.cfg in C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2, but that hasn't helped.

I can live without ORBX and REX, but I believe it's time to go back to 2.4 for me, since my some of my airport addons and the mentioned aircraft is what makes and breaks this simulation for me.

mikeob
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:19 pm

Postby mikeob » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:15 pm

I had a strange experience installing. I used the regular uninstall P3Dv2.4. It left all my add-ons in situ. So I took advantage of this by installing v2.5 into exactly the same place. It failed to put the any exe or dll files into the installation. So I did a repair and would you believe it worked perfectly. Leaving most of my stuff installed. Phew! I am still setting paths to my photoscenery by hand however as it is all the UK.

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 731
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Postby BG2518 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:18 pm

As I understand it the uninstall will only uninstall things P3D installed and leave ALL other items in place as did FSX.

So, not so strange - the usual.

BG2518 - Bob.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmiDami, pestridge77 and 77 guests