P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
bjhjeong01
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:35 am

P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby bjhjeong01 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:50 am

Hello, I use the p3dv5 version, but when I change the weather in p3d, if I select'Fair Weather' and run it, it loads normally, but when I select'Gray and Rainy' and load it, the program bounces with the phrase DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG. Occurs. I am currently using windows 10 2004 version. Does anyone know a solution?

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3144
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:55 am

You need to be using the HF2 version of P3D v. 5 (v. 5.0.31), and you need the most recent device driver for you graphics card.

Do you have those two things?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

bjhjeong01
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:35 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby bjhjeong01 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:52 pm

You need to be using the HF2 version of P3D v. 5 (v. 5.0.31), and you need the most recent device driver for you graphics card.

Do you have those two things?

Jorgen
Yes, but the result was the same

VHOJT
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:10 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby VHOJT » Mon Sep 28, 2020 1:35 am

I am also consistently getting these - as soon as my graphics card seems to be "taxed".

If it is "easy" work - default aircraft, clear skies - not so much.

But FSL A320, an ORBX airport and clouds - seems easy to get this error.

I have carefully turned settings down to contain to my measly 6GB of graphics memory for my 980ti (textures set at 1024x1024) but it still seems easy to trigger a DXGI device error BEFORE I run out of VRAM - have not had that problem so much since I turned settings carefully down.

Is running out of VRAM and the DXGI error related?

I read somewhere that EVGA cards have this problem?

Any advice from LM would be good because essentially P3D v5 is unuseable for me still and has been a complete waste of money.

User avatar
Captain7
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Captain7 » Mon Sep 28, 2020 6:03 am

Hi,

I do have the very same problem for several weeks now. As soon as I load a 3rd party aircraft at a 3rd party airport (e.g. AS crj prof. @ EDDN) P3D crashes almost instantly with the same error message. Hotfix 2 is installed (5.0.31.35253) as well as latest nvidia drivers (456.38) for the RTX 2070 SUPER.

Any suggestions would be very welcome.

Thanks, Volker

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3144
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:11 am

This error is still on-going, but it seems not so much as before. So I will try to condense in one reply what my thoughts are on this, and what possible solutions I see for it at this time - as shortly as possible for me.

The "DXGI" in the error message indicates that it comes from DirectX 12, or DX12 for short (but not that it necessarily is caused by it). DX12 is relatively new, so bugs, and fortunately also improvements, are to be expected. It interacts closely with the graphic card hardware and device drivers plus the applications, making it fairly complex to troubleshoot.

So, at this time, the absolute requirements to avoid this error as much as possible are:

1. Windows 10, version 2004, constantly updated to the latest level using Windows Update, and

2. The latest available, at any given time, device drivers for your graphics card.

There are no excuses for not meeting these 2 requirements - none whatsoever, if you want to avoid this error.

Then there is the issue with running out of VRAM or having this error in spite of meeting the above requirements.

One way of fixing this - seen working in several threads - is to turn down your settings, thereby reducing the demands on VRAM.

Another - and here we enter the realm of my speculating on this - is that "badly programmed add-ons" can also cause this, just as they been the causes of problems before. No add-ons mentioned, none singled out, and no basis for defamation lawsuits. No need to comment on this either, or on my lack of ability to speculate....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Joaker
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:31 pm

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Joaker » Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:55 pm

I just installed P3Dv5 this morning and am getting this same DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG popup.

I am running Windows 10 Home version 2004, and have the latest drivers installed from Nvidia.
System Specs:
Core i7 8700K
RTX 2080TI 11GB
64GB RAM

The only addons I have installed are Aerosoft's London Heathrow for v5 and QualityWings 787 for v5. I only get the DXGI error when using the QW787, so no errors when flying the default P3D aircraft, even at Heathrow. I assume this is an issue with the addon 787, although others have said it occurs with PMDG aircraft as well.

I am getting numerous Prepar3d.exe application errors as seen from the Event Viewer.

Faulting application: Prepar3d.exe
Faulting module name: BugSplat64.dll
Exception code: 0x00000000000190c6 etc. etc. (not sure how much of this is necessary to include)

Can we just not use addon aircraft in P3Dv5 yet? Most major addon aircraft say they are v5 compatible, but apparently not???

User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3144
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby JorgenSA » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:30 am

Allow me to quote:

"Most major addon aircraft say they are v5 compatible, but apparently not???"

The truth in a nutshell. The same goes for scenery.

OK, that is way harsh, but the basic truth is there. Many add-on products are indeed compatible, but some apparently popular add-on products say the are compatible, but in reality are not.

So only pay money for products that have a money-back guarantee.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

Joaker
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:31 pm

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Joaker » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:18 pm

I agree, it seems there is no way of knowing for sure whether an add-on will work until you buy and install it.

Fortunately, the only add-ons I am using I had already bought in P3Dv4. These were then made available in v5 by the software developers. So no money lost, save for the $200 spent on v5 Professional. Disappointing, but looks like I'll be hopping over to the new MS Flight Simulator to use their 787-10 until P3D v5 becomes usable with add-on aircraft.

Matthew21
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:32 pm

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Matthew21 » Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:42 pm

I get same problems your have to wait for LM to fix this

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Bill Gradwell » Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:43 pm

Hello Forum

Since all the activity at one stage - gone quiet - are we all waiting for LM to fix this on-going problem with P3Dv5.

Would really like to get back into the air

Best Regards
Bill Gradwell

MPO910
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:00 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby MPO910 » Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:57 pm

I am even having this error with specs below within VR at KMIA it is reproducable. FSLabs or QW787

System specs

Prepar3D_v5_Academic_5.0.31.35253

Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 2004
Installed on 20200501
OS Build 19041.508
Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.31.0

Latest Nvidia Drivers

i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz Corsair Vengeance | 4x8GB
RTX Titan 24GB

32" Samsung UHD Monitor using 4k
Custom Water Cooling | 2x 360MM | 1x 240MM Radiator
HP Reverb v2 VR HMD | Steam VR

Main Addons

ASP3D | 7514 Open Beta
ChasePlane | Via ORBX
FSReborn Prof.
GSX 2
FSUIPC6
AIGAIM | Latest Version
SODE | Latest Version
MultiCrewExperience | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A330 | Latest Version
Aerosoft Airbus A320/321 | Latest Version
PMDG 747/748 | Latest Version
QW787 | Latest Version
FSLABS A320X | Latest Version
FSLABS A321X | Latest Version
Navigraph Charts
ORBX Base
ORBX LC
ORBX TE NL
ORBX TE NCA
ORBX Regions
ORBX HD Buildings
ORBX HD Trees V1 & V2
REALTURB | All Continents
+200 Addon Aiports | via .xml method added
Marcus P
Windows 10 Home 20H2
Build 19042.804
Feature Exp. Pack 120.2212.551.0
i9 10900K @ 5.0 Ghz | HT OFF | 1.32V
Mainboard ASUS ROG Maximus XII Formula Z490
32 GB RAM 3600 Mhz
RTX 3090 24GB
32" Samsung UHD Monitor
HP Reverb G2 VR HMD | Steam VR

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Bill Gradwell » Fri Oct 09, 2020 10:27 am

Hello Forum

It is sad that I have not been able to complete a single flight for FSLABS, QW or PMDG. Flying and then for no reason CTD.

I have done everything possible to get P3Dv5 to work. No issue with v4 at all.

Regards
Bill Gradwell

User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 10745
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Martyson » Fri Oct 09, 2020 10:46 am

@ Bill Gradwell ,

Did you get this error with a default P3D install when first testing the default setup before any Add-ons?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Bill Gradwell
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:29 am

Re: P3D V5 (DXGI_ERROR__DEVICE _HUNG) Eerror

Postby Bill Gradwell » Fri Oct 09, 2020 12:40 pm

Hello Martyson

You asked me before but really a lot of users are having an issue. And we all use add-ons. And who uses the default fault.

Regards
Bill Gradwell


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ljk811 and 108 guests