Page 1 of 2

Longer loading times

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 2:12 pm
by Kaiii3
Hey,

I have upgraded from v4 to v5 today and are currently in progress of migrating my AI Traffic (AIG OCI) to v5.

Compared to v4 the loading times (Startup not scenario loading) of v5 are much longer. Has there something changed in the startup process that causes longer loading times when having a lot of AI Fltsims installed?

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:19 pm
by Rob McCarthy
Hello,

Thanks for the report. In previous versions the Select Vehicle UI, entering multiplayer and SimDirector, and a few other various cases would cause long loads due to populating entity lists. We moved this to startup and also cache this list to improve the speed of accessing these parts of the system. Large numbers of AI could be impacting this initial load. We'll investigate this more on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:27 pm
by Kaiii3
thanks if you need more information about some AI setups I will help you :)

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:46 pm
by jordanal
Yes, please fix this in v5 HF1 - experiencing the exact same symptoms with my large AI collection active in the library.

V5 start times have become wakkie nu nu!!!!!

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 10:21 pm
by pmb
This is not only AI traffic. I have the complete ORBX catalogue installed via add-on.xml and a few more airports from other makers and end up with a loading time of 8 min.

I would be prepar3d to accept a loading time up to 5 min, which is already long, but not more.

As a sidenote, I just experienced a CDT in VRUNTIME140.dll

Kind regards, Michael

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 6:00 am
by pinsnpies
Hello,

Thanks for the report. In previous versions the Select Vehicle UI, entering multiplayer and SimDirector, and a few other various cases would cause long loads due to populating entity lists. We moved this to startup and also cache this list to improve the speed of accessing these parts of the system. Large numbers of AI could be impacting this initial load. We'll investigate this more on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Hi Rob. It appears this still hasn't been fixed. 19 minutes to start the sim up when I add my AI.
In v4.5 it's 7 minutes.
Can we please go back to the V4.5 way of loading AI?

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 7:43 am
by YoYo
19 minutes to run? Oh no! ;) Something is wrong on Your system, for me 1 minutes for menu, maybe next 1-2 minutes to be in the cockpit (HT1). FSGU NG mesh 2020, ORBX, AI for 16%.

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 7:45 am
by JorgenSA
YoYo,

How many AI aircraft do you have installed?

Jorgen

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 7:46 am
by YoYo
YoYo,

How many AI aircraft do you have installed?

Jorgen
Default only (as i know not any 3rd party developer support AI traffic yet officially for v5.)

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 7:50 am
by JorgenSA
Try it again when you have, say over 1,000 Boeing 737-800WL and over 1,400 F-16s installed.... it is the installed AI aircraft that forces the long load times.

Jorgen

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 1:45 pm
by pinsnpies
Try it again when you have, say over 1,000 Boeing 737-800WL and over 1,400 F-16s installed.... it is the installed AI aircraft that forces the long load times.

Jorgen
Thank you. They haven't fixed the stupidly long loading times when you add AI.
LM have this annoying habit of breaking things in their updates.

Just done a clean install. Same thing.

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 1:57 pm
by JorgenSA
When you have as much AI as I have, then long loading times is normal since FSX.

This is because every AI aircraft's aircraft.cfg file has to be checked for duplicated names.

Jorgen

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 2:28 pm
by pmb
I don't have any AI installed (yet) but all ORBX sceneries (precisely those being V5 compatible). Since I installed them (via a library, i.e., add-on.xml) loading times got extreme again.

Fortunately, the long wating upon opening a menu entry is gone in HF1.

Kind regards, Michael

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sat May 02, 2020 3:28 pm
by Senchay
Yes, i have pretty long loading times too compared to v4. Over twice as long tbp. Same SSD so that cant be it.

From usually 20 seconds into scenery now it can take over a minute on more demanding scneneries. No AI installed.

Re: Longer loading times

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 9:47 am
by Suglock
The IVAO MTL loading is too long guys :-[ :-[ . I have a RAID 0 with two M2 an I9 9900 K and it's more than 5 minutes under P3DV5.
It would be necessary to P3D stop managing the AIE like normal planes . For information ,there isn't this limitation on X plane. Thank you for thinking of us because it's not possible to stay like this.