Longer loading times

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Kaiii3
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby Kaiii3 » Sun May 17, 2020 3:53 pm

if i can make a suggestion regarding loading times:

I have monitored the CPU usaged on loading and it looks like P3Dv5 is not using the full potential of multithreading here.

I was able to reduce loading times of SimObjects in our AI Manager tool to just some seconds using multithreading:

Code: Select all

16.05.2020 15:27:25 - Collect SimObjects from: 21 paths 16.05.2020 15:28:37 - Collected SimObjects: 434 16.05.2020 15:28:37 - Collected SimObjects from: 21 paths
Image

pinsnpies
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:02 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby pinsnpies » Tue May 19, 2020 1:11 am

if i can make a suggestion regarding loading times:

I have monitored the CPU usaged on loading and it looks like P3Dv5 is not using the full potential of multithreading here.

I was able to reduce loading times of SimObjects in our AI Manager tool to just some seconds using multithreading:

Code: Select all

16.05.2020 15:27:25 - Collect SimObjects from: 21 paths 16.05.2020 15:28:37 - Collected SimObjects: 434 16.05.2020 15:28:37 - Collected SimObjects from: 21 paths
Where do I put that code please Kai?

pinsnpies
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:02 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby pinsnpies » Tue May 19, 2020 1:12 am

LM can this please be fixed?

User avatar
andy1252
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby andy1252 » Wed May 20, 2020 8:46 am

Thanks for the report. In previous versions the Select Vehicle UI, entering multiplayer and SimDirector, and a few other various cases would cause long loads due to populating entity lists. We moved this to startup and also cache this list to improve the speed of accessing these parts of the system. Large numbers of AI could be impacting this initial load. We'll investigate this more on our end.

Ah! This answers one of the questions I posted here. I have a large hangar (not to be read in a music-hall voice) of something like 500 aircraft. It's a main part of the fascination of the sim for me. I have long found this to be unworkable in practice so have for some time been storing all aircraft in an external "hangar" folder and simply moving the ones I want to use in a session across to simobjects\airplanes or rotorcraft. The nice thing about this is that you can (could) simply pause the sim, switch to a file manager window, and then move additional aircraft in to simobjects and they would be available when you went back in to the sim. This of course no longer works in the new environment, and requires a restart of the sim. Which in turn takes longer.

A suggestion. How about making this caching and list population switchable? A simple "EntityCache [0/1]" in the prepar3d.cfg file could be defaulted to on (or omitted by default) for those with small lists/no AI/no inclination to fiddle, but allow the rest of us the freedom to revert back to the old technique.

Generally, the improvements from DX12 are better than the new problems, and I've no doubt it will all settle down in time, but I don't think this new feature is an improvement, by any means.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2878
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed May 20, 2020 12:11 pm

Hi Everyone,

We'll have this improved in the next hotfix. Thanks again for the reports and for your patience while we work this.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

Kaiii3
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby Kaiii3 » Wed May 20, 2020 12:17 pm

thanks for fixing, will report back when the next hotfix is out.
Image

JorgenSA
Posts: 2727
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Longer loading times

Postby JorgenSA » Wed May 20, 2020 2:06 pm

If a further hotfix is planned for v. 4.5, it would be very nice if a similar solution could be incorporated in that.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

User avatar
vbazillio
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Longer loading times

Postby vbazillio » Thu May 21, 2020 5:40 am

Great news ! You make my day.
Vincent B.
Blog : http://20-100-video.blogspot.com

AnkH
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby AnkH » Mon May 25, 2020 8:25 pm

I installed Windows 10 2004 over the weekend and surprise, surprise, not only having almost one GB more VRAM available, also the loading time of v5 almost halfed. Just that you know this...
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 8700K@5.0GHz, 2x16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL14 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (250GB for OS, 2TB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

radorabatin
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:00 am

Re: Longer loading times

Postby radorabatin » Mon May 25, 2020 10:09 pm

Hi All,

using IVAO MTLs it takes more than 8minutes on my system (Using Samsung SATA SSDs)....
very very long time, it would be welcomed if LM fixed it or created setup option to affect this loading process.

Thanks,

Rado

Kaiii3
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Re: Longer loading times

Postby Kaiii3 » Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:04 pm

thanks for the fixes in HF2 :) major improvement from more then 10mins down to less then 2mins - great work
Image


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pestridge77, procyon, YoYo and 102 guests