Page 1 of 1

Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 4:08 pm
by bhorv67
When the message appears 'Your computer has run out of available memory' in 4.5, which memory is it referring to?

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 4:51 pm
by downscc
This is a pretty rare problem with P3Dv4, but it can be caused if you are changing the Windows page size from the default setting.

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 7:12 pm
by bhorv67
I had not made any Windows changes, yet this happened on my last flight. First time ever seeing this since on Windows 10.

But again, if this does appear, is this system or video ram it's running out of?

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 8:10 pm
by downscc
I had not made any Windows changes, yet this happened on my last flight. First time ever seeing this since on Windows 10.

But again, if this does appear, is this system or video ram it's running out of?
P3D is not going to run out of memory unless there is a system problem. We both have 32 GB RAM and I've never seen P3D use much more than 11 GB and we both have GTX1080Ti video cards with 11 GB VRAM and I've never seen more than about 9 GB in use.

Lets say you have less ram and vram for illustration. Windows will create overflow space in ram if needed by the video card, and it will create additional space on the hard drive if need for ram. This extra space in ram on the hard drive is called the paging file (or swap file) and is important that this exists for Windows to operate correctly. My default setting is currently 5888 MB.

If you have not made any changes to how Windows uses paged space then perhaps you have a c: system drive that is very full and lacks adequate space for virtual memory. It is also possible but much less likely that you have memory problems but these will usually result in the BSOD.

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 10:34 pm
by bhorv67
Thanks Dan, very odd. My C drive has more than 25% free, as do the other drives, so that couldn't be it.

I have 16g ram, which maybe the scenery did take up all available, and perhaps some flukie thing happened. I've been thinking of adding another 16g and seeing how the cost of ram has come down a bit lately, it may be the time to do so. Couldn't hurt.
I'll report back if it happens again.

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 4:11 am
by Emile
Hello,
I have the same message when I start P3D 4.5 HF and I use a new created "Prepar3D.cfg" , I have NO message with my "old" Prepar3D.cfg.

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 3:36 pm
by bhorv67
Thanks Dan, very odd. My C drive has more than 25% free, as do the other drives, so that couldn't be it.

I have 16g ram, which maybe the scenery did take up all available, and perhaps some flukie thing happened. I've been thinking of adding another 16g and seeing how the cost of ram has come down a bit lately, it may be the time to do so. Couldn't hurt.
I'll report back if it happens again.
Dan, so I just tried the same flight again, and the OOM CTD happened again, at the same point. I'm wondering if this is because I just have too many add-ons running on the same computer (REX EF, SF, ProATC, Av/EFB). I was also running HWMonitor, and didn't appear any of system resources were over capacity. There was also no entry in any of the logs when the crash happened.

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 4:05 pm
by downscc
Thanks Dan, very odd. My C drive has more than 25% free, as do the other drives, so that couldn't be it.

I have 16g ram, which maybe the scenery did take up all available, and perhaps some flukie thing happened. I've been thinking of adding another 16g and seeing how the cost of ram has come down a bit lately, it may be the time to do so. Couldn't hurt.
I'll report back if it happens again.
Dan, so I just tried the same flight again, and the OOM CTD happened again, at the same point. I'm wondering if this is because I just have too many add-ons running on the same computer (REX EF, SF, ProATC, Av/EFB). I was also running HWMonitor, and didn't appear any of system resources were over capacity. There was also no entry in any of the logs when the crash happened.
I don't know what 25% free means without knowing how large your dive is. Note the default page file size is 5888 MB, and I've found references from Microsoft that suggest FSX requires at least 500 Mb of free space on the drive. I'm thinking your 25% might not be enough. Do you only have one drive?

Re: Computer has run out of available memory CTD

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 4:34 pm
by bhorv67
Thanks Dan, very odd. My C drive has more than 25% free, as do the other drives, so that couldn't be it.

I have 16g ram, which maybe the scenery did take up all available, and perhaps some flukie thing happened. I've been thinking of adding another 16g and seeing how the cost of ram has come down a bit lately, it may be the time to do so. Couldn't hurt.
I'll report back if it happens again.
Dan, so I just tried the same flight again, and the OOM CTD happened again, at the same point. I'm wondering if this is because I just have too many add-ons running on the same computer (REX EF, SF, ProATC, Av/EFB). I was also running HWMonitor, and didn't appear any of system resources were over capacity. There was also no entry in any of the logs when the crash happened.
I don't know what 25% free means without knowing how large your dive is. Note the default page file size is 5888 MB, and I've found references from Microsoft that suggest FSX requires at least 500 Mb of free space on the drive. I'm thinking your 25% might not be enough. Do you only have one drive?
4 Drives. Each 500g and about 25-30% free on each. Windows & P3d reside on an m.2, while the others are general storage are SSDs.