Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
cannow
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby cannow » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:00 am

repost from orbx forum I have seen Robs table for Vram and memory and not bad cant say the same for me
Vram for me with 4.5 JV settings very modest No weather 30hz refresh rate and vsync onOrbx TrueEarth at Southampton EGHI DA62 no weather
Ram 12.4
Vram 7
start flying and this rises My system has 16gig of ram and a RTX 2080 hence my concernDid go back to 4.4 yesterday and condiderably lower but have not got figures at least 3 gig lower
FTX England at Southampton EGHI DA62 no weather
Ram 6.2 gig
vram 3.2
True earth certainly hates 4.5
4.4 reinstalled

4.4 JV settings No weather 30hz refresh rate and vsync onOrbx TrueEarth at Southampton EGHI DA62 no weather
Ram 4.4 7meg 4.5 12.4 meg
Vram 4 meg 4.5 7meg

stevefocus
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:34 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby stevefocus » Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:10 am

Had the same issue with low frames last night, it was only when I got closer to EGKK(UK2000) from GCTS(Digital Design) that the frames started dropping and then averaged at 10-15 fps, that was with fsl a320, strange thing is when I flew NZWN(flightbeam)-NZQN(Orbx) yesterday with the same aircraft and settings frames were pretty good between 25-30. Orbx wise I am running Global, LC EU and NA, Vector, Trees HD and all the region packs minus TrueEarth.
P3Dv4.5, Windows 10 64bit, i7 6700k@4.6GHz, Asus Rog Maximus VIII Extreme, Asus Rog Strix 1080Ti, 32GB Corsair Vengeance@3200MHz, 1TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4, 512GB OCZ Vector, 480GB OCZ Vector 150, Corsair 900D, Corsair AX1200i, Acer X34

brianv
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:17 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby brianv » Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:35 am

Good performance with ORBX landclasss but just tried out the ORBX Australia region, and was down to only 15 fps at Cessnock. Image quality is good, but poor fps. Not an issue with 4.4. I did a full P3D 4.5 install before adding ORBX and weather.

User avatar
Avidean
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:06 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby Avidean » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:23 pm

In Robs post the table indicates a nearly 30% drop in FPS in comparing default i.e. no addons Prepar3D V4.5 with V4.4. Its Seems its the sim and not the addons that is the culprit. Seems odd that something like that would be missed in RC testing.Perhaps something odd happened between completion of testing and making 4.5 available for download. Hopefully this will be a quick fix. I'd hate to think that this was an unintended and unnoticed consequence of changes made in V4.

sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby sw34669 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:55 pm

My tests just looking at FPS drop and increase in ram and vram usage 30-50% are in line withs robs more detailed findings. I conclude way more is being loaded with the same slider settings. This is either a bug (lod slider always @ ultra reardsless of position) or LM have increased the range of some of the sliders. I tried to tune them all back further, i run them at mid way, but the horrible performance was still there.

Thanks Rob for your time again on this, appreciated. I went back to 4.4 and all is back to normal.

sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby sw34669 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:05 pm

With thousands of add-ons and literally hundreds of thousands of possible conflicts how do you believe testing should be done?

Just this afternoon I found an FSX add-on that forces 32-bit runtime files on a 64-bit system that wrecks other add-ons. You want the P3D testers to solve this? Many add-ons simply replace default files of the sim, you want Lockheed to solve that?

Like almost every other project manager of add-ons, we guarantee it works with the sim. It is totally impossible to promise everything else. What version of GSX? What version of ActiveSky? If you are able to keep that all tested with all the complex aircraft we sell I really would like to hire you as a quality assurance employee. We never managed. I know no company who managed.
That's fine, but what about all the add on folders that are still present in the main root of Prepar3D, do they hinder or improve calls and performance? Wasn't Prepar3D designed to have all add on's capable of being installed outside the main root install of the sim?
we expect that testing is done with the most common baseline of add-ons, PMDG, FSLABS, ORBX, ActiveSky, GSX, some major airports. From this release we can see that something was changed to cause the sim to load, and process, way more than it did in 4.4. We all noticed it right away, i'm not sure how this wasn't caught by a Beta tester with ORBX.

I spoke to a friend of mine this morning with a newer system than me, with orbx and as he had higher slider settings than me, his framerate dropped from 40 to 15 in some regions with 4.5. He went back to 4.4 and it's good again.

I also still have the long frames (3-5 second pause) in 4.5 with UK2000 airports. Would be keen to find out if anyone else is also still seeing them as they pop in ?

mfannee
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:22 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby mfannee » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:15 pm

Hello,

P3D v4.5 brought a clear improvement in the sharpness of ground textures, which is great (I upgraded from 4.3), but I can confirm the fps drop here too.

In version 4.3 I had a smooth and stutter free experience with fps locked to 30, but v4.5 is not always able to keep a steady 30 fps anymore.

My specs:

OS: Win 10, CPU: i7-7700 processor (up to 4.20 GHz), GPU: MSI GTX 1050 ti OC [4 GB], RAM: 16GB DDR4 2400MHz, Storage: SSD 500 GB

Add-ons: Ultimate Terrain V2 (all regions) and ground textures replacement 'Ground Environment P3D'

Settings in P3D:

Graphics / Display:
Resolution: 1920x1080 - FXAA: Off - AA: 4xMSAA - Texture Filtering: Anisotropic 16x - Texture Resolution: Medium 1024x1014 - Target frame rate: 30 - VSync: On, Triple buffering: ON

Graphics / World:
Level of detail radius: Max - Tessellation Factor: Medium - Mesh resolution: 10m - Texture resolution: 30cm - Use high-resolution terrain textures: NO
Water detail: Low - Reflections: Clouds only
Scenery Complexity: Extremely Dense - Autogen draw distance: Medium - Autogen vegetation density: Extremely Dense - Autogen building density: Extremely Dense - Dynamic 3D Autogen vegetation: NO
Special effects detail: Low - Special effects distance: Low

Graphics / Lighting:
HDR Lighting: NO - Shadow quality: Low - Shadow: Internal Vehicle (Cast/Receive) - External Vehicle (Cast) only

Graphics / Weather:
Cloud draw distance: 60 mi - Cloud coverage density: Medium - Detailed clouds - Volumetric Fog: ON - Detailed precipitation: ON - Windshield Effects: ON - Thermal visualization: Natural - Enable turbulence and thermal effects on vehicle: ON

Rasterfahnder
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby Rasterfahnder » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:44 pm

Back to 4.4 but not disappointed.

Did three comparrison flights so far with 4.5 and 4.4. Did the client, content and scenery update. In every flight the frames whent down in 4.5. Visually very nice update. I realy like the look and the smoothness when panning around. But the frames are not as constant as in 4.4 on my system.

Flights:
CYXX -> CAR3
EDDT -> EDCG
KFHR -> KRNT

All were locked at 33 frames per second in p3d. In 4.4 p3d stays between 31 and 33. Occasional going down to 28 in very demanding situations. With 4.5 the fps goes down as low as 16 (in very demanding situations) and barrely staing above 30. Same settings, same weather and same time.

Hope 4.5 get fixed because beside this issue I think it is a very good update. So thank you LM team. Very impressed by the look and feel of 4.5. If it were not for these fps drop. Keep up the good work.

cannow
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby cannow » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:51 pm

Just as with True earth the scenary complexity slider is making a huge difference fps jumps right back up when set to sparse. Of course not a solution as you lose all your stock airport buildings . Little to no difference with any other sliders and little difference till you hit the sparse as well . This is with ftx England rural setting and no airports in sight .
Might be a clue to someone but identified the issue with UK true earth south

tubbsds
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:07 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby tubbsds » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:30 pm

Add me to the list of lost FPS with 4.5. After testing all weekend, I can report that I too am seeing a "general" 25% decrease in FPS across most scenarios with all other variables kept the same between the 4.4 and 4.5 Client. Reverting back to the 4.4 Client without changing anything else gave me the 25% back.

keenrw
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby keenrw » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:34 pm

Thanks Rob for the test , in a way it kind of proves its not an ORBIX problem but a problem with the new LM 4.5 update as i dont have any kind of Orbix scenery and i see the FPS problem .. also i max my autogen so as he says people who dont max the AG may not see the FPS issue .

ejawhary
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby ejawhary » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:04 pm

Good work as usual Rob. Hope LH can fix this soon!

Terry1718
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:06 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby Terry1718 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:19 pm

Bit of a bummer for the LM staff coming back into the office on Monday morning and reading all these posts about performance issues. Hopefully it wont be too difficult to fix.
Win 10, 8700K, 2080ti, 32Gb RAM, Pimax 5K.

simon747
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby simon747 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:24 pm

I updated the client and the content yesterday. My fps are the same as 4.4. I only use orbx global and uk2000 scenery at the moment. It is fluid and loads faster. I have a 8600K at 4.9 ghz and a 1080 standard unit, but fly in 4k. I don't max my autogen, but do keep autogen speedtrees at dense. All sliders are medium for the most part, keep traffic via ut live at 60% and am getting consistent high fps in the 787 and the 737, so not sure if you keep your sliders including LOD down, you may not have a performance drop in 4.5 as Rob mentions here....

'EDIT: for those (like myself) who lock to 30Hz Vsync (and don't max all graphics settings) then you might not notice any issue'

ElevatorMechanic
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Postby ElevatorMechanic » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:58 pm

Hi,

You also add me to the list of effected fps users. I did a full reinstall of Prepar3D for v4.5 and my FPS have been taxed quite a bit. Although, autogen loading on approach has been loading so that has definitely been fixed as far as I can tell.


I've also got quite a few CTD's with v4.5, so perhaps somethings can be checked over again.

Once the FPS issue is fixed I would say that 4.5 is a huge step in the right direction.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests