PBR and Antialiasing quality

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
IanHarr
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby IanHarr » Thu Apr 25, 2019 3:32 pm

OK. When I enlarge it, I can now see.
I wouldn't call it a major problem though. Just a niggle.

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:42 pm

China Leaf @Martyson made the livery.

https://library.avsim.net/esearch.php?C ... LID=198523
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

Martyson
Posts: 5823
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Martyson » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:08 pm

China Leaf @Martyson made the livery.

https://library.avsim.net/esearch.php?C ... LID=198523

I downloaded and installed the National repaint (screenshots).
I am not a painter but it looked ok to me (P3Dv4.5).

Why does China Leaf use AVSIM Library instead of PMDG's official certified repaint lineup in PMDG OPS Center?


Image

Image
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:20 pm

i will repair my client for orig shaders and try again. Will report back
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:02 pm

Something seems wrong....

I reverted to orig shaders and every settings looks identical.

8MSAA
Image

4SSAA
Image

8SSAA
Image

Its identical, no budge. Up to the pixel identical

4.4, Nvidia Driver 418.81 (was with the one before same)
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:11 pm

Another one. Seems the plane isnt affected at all. One can see change when looking at the thin yellow line on runway, below right wing, between plane body and 2-nd engine. With SSAA this line looks a bit smoother. But the whole plane is untouched, same pixels.

4 MSAA
Image

8 MSAA
Image

2 SSAA
Image

4 SSAA
Image

8 SSAA
Image
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:44 pm

And one with a non PBR model, the CS 757. Clearly visible how AA affects the plane.

4 MSAA
Image

8 MSAA
Image

2 SSAA
Image

4 SSAA
Image
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:13 pm

Its very interesting.... Now i restarted the sim on 8ssaa set and all is good. BUT again setting changes dont have any affect. I can set it to 2 MSAA and it still looks exactly same as with 8 SSAA
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

itsjase
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:50 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby itsjase » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:32 am

It's called "specular aliasing", can google for more details.

It's hard to show in screenshots, much more apparent in motion.

There are ways to solve it with no performance impact, but it's up to LM to include the fix.

Martyson
Posts: 5823
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Martyson » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:08 am

Its very interesting.... Now i restarted the sim on 8ssaa set and all is good. BUT again setting changes dont have any affect. I can set it to 2 MSAA and it still looks exactly same as with 8 SSAA
Do you reboot your PC between graphics changes?

I never mess with the MSaa/ssaa etc.
Whatever the default is ... is what I leave it at.

I seldom go outside to look at the aircraft [ I am not a livery painter ] except during testing.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: PBR and Antialiasing quality

Postby Senchay » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:27 pm

Non PBR liveries need no reboot, as you can see in the CS757 screenshots. AA changes will reflect after clicking OK button. Its the PBR liveries that dont show effect
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests