[RESOLVED] Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
American398
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:37 am

ok so I was looking and I don't believe have have GeForce Experience installed. When I installed 4.4 for the first time it had me install a certain Microsoft c++. Could that have something to do with it?

Martyson
Posts: 5677
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Martyson » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:24 pm

ok so I was looking and I don't believe have have GeForce Experience installed. When I installed 4.4 for the first time it had me install a certain Microsoft c++. Could that have something to do with it?
As far as I know.
GeForce Experience installs by default when you install a new driver.

Unless, e.g., you decline when installing.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

American398
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:49 pm

so i just installed the brand new NVIDIA drivers released yesterday. i chose not to install the GeForce Experience. unfortunately the problem persists. I would try the Registry edit but i really don't know how to do that.

Martyson
Posts: 5677
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Martyson » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:51 pm

so i just installed the brand new NVIDIA drivers released yesterday. i chose not to install the GeForce Experience. unfortunately the problem persists. I would try the Registry edit but i really don't know how to do that.
I had to uninstall GeForce Experience using the Windows Control Panel / Programs and Features.

If you go to Windows Control Panel / Programs and Features do you still have NV GeForce Experience installed?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

American398
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:41 pm

GeForce Experience was not found on the Add/Remove programs list.

Martyson
Posts: 5677
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby Martyson » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:52 pm

GeForce Experience was not found on the Add/Remove programs list.
"i chose not to install the GeForce Experience."

Me too.

But, it still got installed on my last Nvidia update.

It may be listed as a different name in your Add/Remove programs list:

Like
NV GeForce Experience
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

American398
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:37 am

Image

American398
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Streamin/Menu Freeze with 4.4

Postby American398 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:50 pm

Well I am happy to report that we can say this is SOLVED. I was able to have another person help me with the post from Beau Hollis regarding the registry entry.

1. Type in "regedit" in the windows search bar and click the regedit option that appears

2. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Avalon.Graphics\DisableHWAcceleration

3. right click the right hand side area and select "new"

4. a menu will appear, navigate to where it says "DWORD (32-bit value"

5. in the new value type "DisableHWAcceleration"

6. right click on the new entry and select "modify"

7. in the dialog box that appears enter the number "1" in the "Value data:" box and hit OK.

thats it!! it seemed to fix the issue.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests