Page 1 of 2

[RESOLVED] VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:56 pm
by cyrex1984
After the release of 4.3 its not possible to use ATC in VR mode. in 4.2 you could use it on the monitor for quick commands. But in 4.3 you have to exit VR mode to use ATC. And i see the same on the 3thparty plugins no longer the menu comes up in VR mode like it did with 4.2. Please release a hotfix on this as of now its not posible to use atc in VR.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 8:48 pm
by MartinM
Same here

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:01 pm
by RossG
+1 on this

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:02 pm
by Kayla Kinzel
Hello,

Are you using native VR or an addon for VR?

Regards,
Kayla

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:05 pm
by truthknown
Seems that anything with popup menus are also unusable. For instance, opening the GSX control menu or the SODE control menu for jetbridges. We have to exit VR mode to access the menus.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:37 pm
by cyrex1984
Hello,

Are you using native VR or an addon for VR?

Regards,
Kayla
Im using native vr mode. Never used flyinside or steam.

No ATC windows at all in VR

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:46 am
by jef32
Hi from France !

With the 4.2 I hadn't ATC windows in Oculus but I had on my monitor. It wasn't the best for flying but when I needed to use ATC I lifted my Oculus from my eyes to see my monitor, thinking that the problem would be fixed with the next version of P3D

Yesterday, full of hope about that, I've done the update to 4.3.2925520 (just client and content, no sceneries) and, big disappointment, I havn't ATC windows at all, neither in my Oculus, nor on my monitor. If I want to see ATC windows, I'm forced to switch on a no VR mode.

This fact makes P3D totally unusuable for me for now .

So ok, I've noticed a good improvement in VR for fluidity and picture quality with this new version but if I can't use it, It's not go.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:40 am
by Hippo
I can't help with your problem, but I can offer an alternative. You may want to investigate VoxATC, which is far superior to the built-in ATC. As of 4.3 its panels are visible in VR.

http://voxatc.com/

It's not perfect (I don't any product of this type ever will be). However, I've used it for years through several versions, and have always been very happy with it.

If you do consider it, I would wait until it's clear that it is fully compatible with 4.3. From my very limited testing so far it appears to be ok.

PS If I understand you correctly, you are taking you headset off everytime you have to use the ATC menu? If so, you have far more patience than I.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:14 pm
by Kayla Kinzel
Hello all,

Could you try undocking the ATC window before entering VR?

Regards,
Kayla

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:33 pm
by jef32
PS If I understand you correctly, you are taking you headset off everytime you have to use the ATC menu? If so, you have far more patience than I.
Top
Yes, it wasnt the best way but now it's worst. For VOXATC, I don't want to switch my windows in english mode.
Nowadays, I would think quite normal to have ATC in VR. Other flight simulators that I use, have it. P3D isn't the simulator I use the more since this problem. Now I prefer flying on a more military simulator, over Caucasus, Nevada or Detroit of Hormuz if you see what I mean, but it's clear that graphism of P3d are missing me. Yesterday , I've made a flight from Milford Sound to Queenstown with NZ ORBX sceneries and it's absolutly amazing and fabulous, especially in VR but with no ATC, all of that becomes absolutly unrealistic. I can't understand how a company like LM could have a technical problem with the displaying of the ATC windows in VR mode.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:37 pm
by guit32
For me the probleme is with GSX, I was using it with voiceattack it is now impossible...

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:36 pm
by Hippo
I don't want to switch my windows in english mode
Well, if it's necessary to make significant changes to your OS, then I've got to say that I'm very surprised. I would have thought that just the addition of the English speech recogniser would do it. An extra step and hassle? Worth it?

There are many wonderful things to do in the Caucausus, etc. However, I find the ATC there to be extremely simplistic.

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:44 pm
by Kayla Kinzel
PS If I understand you correctly, you are taking you headset off everytime you have to use the ATC menu? If so, you have far more patience than I.
Top
Yes, it wasnt the best way but now it's worst. For VOXATC, I don't want to switch my windows in english mode.
Nowadays, I would think quite normal to have ATC in VR. Other flight simulators that I use, have it. P3D isn't the simulator I use the more since this problem. Now I prefer flying on a more military simulator, over Caucasus, Nevada or Detroit of Hormuz if you see what I mean, but it's clear that graphism of P3d are missing me. Yesterday , I've made a flight from Milford Sound to Queenstown with NZ ORBX sceneries and it's absolutly amazing and fabulous, especially in VR but with no ATC, all of that becomes absolutly unrealistic. I can't understand how a company like LM could have a technical problem with the displaying of the ATC windows in VR mode.
Hello,

Could you try undocking the ATC before entering VR?

Regards,
Kayla

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:46 pm
by Kayla Kinzel
For me the probleme is with GSX, I was using it with voiceattack it is now impossible...
Hello,

Could you try undocking panels before entering VR?

Regards,
Kayla

Re: VR in 4.3 with ATC????

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:03 pm
by cyrex1984
Ok. I managed to get the ATC window inside my oculus. I did this.
1.Run P3D in none VR mode and open the atc window.
2.Make sure P3D are in windowed mode and not full screen.
3.while in none VR mode with the atc window open, resize your P3D window as small as 4cm by 4cm square on your desktop.
4.Enter VR mode and the ATC window is there inside the goggles.(you have to tweak the size on the window to get all the text to show.

###This works not only for ATC, but for GSX,SODE etc.

If you want i can make a video on how to do it. Would think its a easy fix for LM to fix this anyways.